We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definately recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ashberry B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Ashberry B&B to your Saves list
The Ashberry B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   103 The Mount | York, York YO24 1AX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Prices book direct
Ranked #17 of 216 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will definately recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at The Ashberry for 1 night with a friend. What a fantastic B & B. Steve and Sara were so accomodating and welcoming. Room was lovely and a fair sized bathroom compared to other places I have stayed at. Both bedroom and bathroom was spotless and decorated to a very high standard. Breakfast was all you could want and more. Would highly recommend and will hopefully be returning when I visit York in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    27
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
111
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights after visiting my father in Halifax. We found the house to be very tastefully appointed, and impeccably clean. Steve & Sara were welcoming but not intrusive, and our room, on the second floor, although not as vivid in design as the hall and lower floors, was again very clean and somehow, as it wasn't big, managed to accommodate a king-size bed!

The en-suite toilet & shower room was a good size, the shower unfortunately a little weak, but that may be due to the level the room is on. Towels were plentiful and also the assortment of shampoos and shower gels very generous.
We did hear the traffic noise as mentioned by others, but this didn't bother us, and we found, by closing the bathroom door, it was considerably reduced.The bedroom window, unlike the bathroom one, doesn't face the road.

The breakfast room was the prettiest of all, very refreshing in it's yellow theme, and the assortment of cereals, jams, fruit, juices etc. was very impressive. Breakfast, as others have described, was faultless and we tried different options during our stay. I noticed fried bread wasn't on the menu, but Sara insisted Steve would make it for me, he did, nothing too much trouble it seems.

The only thing to be aware of is the parking, this is free, as they offer day tickets, but finding a space opposite is a bit of a lottery. We had no problem on the first day, but after our trip out to the 'York designer shopping outlet', (recommended), we had to travel up & down the road for a while until, luckily, a space appeared. I'm sure if we asked Sara & Steve, there must be other roads we could have tried?

All in all, a lovely house & hosts, and only a few minutes walk from the centre of town, and at £35.00 per person per night when we stayed, amazing value.
We will have no hesitation on returning if we visit the area again.

Thanks,

Richard & Rita.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, do check on booking which floor, there are three levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We visited The Ashberry after reading reviews on here. They were spot on!
It is an Excellent Place to stay at, Excellent Hosts, Excellent Breakfast and im not a big lover of a Big Breakfast. The room was nice and cosy and an extra touch we were staying for our anniversary There was a box of maltesers on the side for us. Car parking wasnt a problem either parked around the corner in the unstricted area. i highly recommend staying here if you are in York

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We found a little gem here on visiting York recently. I am notoriously difficult to please but could find absolutely nothing wrong with the service, food, cleanliness, facilities and ambience.
One minor point is that it's on a main road, but they even supply ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. That said, I slept solidly for 7 hours.
An excellent B&B which I am happy to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in October in a twin room. Steve and Sara were really welcoming, the rooms are lovely and clean, and the cooked breakfast is great (plus fresh cafetiere coffee, fruit and juices). They accommodated for a gluten-free diet at very short notice too, which was just brilliant. It's really handily located, very close to the centre of town. All in all fab, would definitely recommend (and return if in York again!).

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We need 2 twin rooms and The Ashbury was able to provide. Spot on from first call and easy confirmaiton email from Steve. I can recommend with no hesitation well located, well priced and very clean. Another big plus is the proper full English breakfast, plus fruit juice cereals and all the extras.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at the Ashberry for 2 nights as part of a 15-night trip to the UK. Everything was lovely. The room was very clean, bathroom was great. Hosts were quite helpful with information about what to do in York, but not intrusive. It is a short walk into the city center and the beginning of the Roman wall that circles the city. We enjoyed everything about our stay and would highly recommend the Ashberry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ashberry B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashberry B&B

Address: 103 The Mount | York, York YO24 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ashberry B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashberry is a charming 4 star bed and breakfast accommodation in a Victorian townhouse close to York city centre, the racecourse and 10-15 mins walk from the railway station. Hosts Steve and Sara will give you a warm and friendly welcome to their home which is perfectly located within easy reach of all Yorks attractions. The Ashberry has 5 comfortable en-suite bedrooms all with flat screen freeview tv,s & free wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Ashberry B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashberry Bed And Breakfast
The Ashberry Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ashberry B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.