We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mowbray House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mowbray House
Save
You added Mowbray House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Haxby Road, York YO31 8JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 213 York B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were lucky enough to be fitted in at Mowbray House.

It was a lovely room, great attention to detail, the perfect place to chill between sight seeing.
A lovely breakfast served in the morning!
Spotlessly clean.

I would stay again without hesitation!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at Mowbray House for the New Year and I cannot praise Carol & Phil enough.
They are so helpful and friendly. nothing is a bother to them. I would recommend this B&B to anybody visitng York, you will not get better.

The rooms are spotless, the breakfast is fantastic, and the location of this B&B is very close to the city centre and all ammenties.

I would not consider staying at any other B&B when I visit York

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wairarapa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Another delightful stay at Mowbray House thanks to the friendly and helpful owners Carol and Phil. We extended our stay by two nights because of illness and it was truly a home away from home. Nothing was too much trouble for the delightful owners. The room was well sized for the three of us (all adults) and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were amazing. Mowbray House will always be our first choice for accomodation in York.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This delightful B&B was recommended to us by the Tourist Information Board. It was the first time we had searched for a place to stay through them as it was very last minute and we were not disappointed with their recommendation.
The location was the first great thing that we noticed about the place and it just got better and better! Free off street parking was provided and the room was very spacious and sparkling clean.
Carol was a wonderful host, she made you feel part of the family!
The other guests staying there were also very nice and friendly and that made our stay extra special.
We hope to return to York in the near future and will certainly be checking the availability of Mowbray House before trying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Just a 5 minute walk into the centre of York, this is a great place to be based. We stopped off for two nights on the way back South from a week in Scotland. The owners couldn't have been more helpful - recommending sights, places to eat, etc. Myself and my partner are both vegetarian, and they did us a lovely veggie breakfast on both mornings. The room we stayed in was lovely - really comfortable, really nicely decorated - an all round good experience. Really made us feel at ease in the B&B. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We found Carol and Phil to be very welcoming they could not have done more to help us . As it was race weekend we could not fined a place to stay in York .The imformation centre booked us into this B/B and we loved it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Thank you, once again, Carol, Phil and family for making our Easter week-end so special. We keep going back every year and the family always makes us so welcome!!
The rooms have been redecorated yet again and kept spotlessly clean. The variety for breakfast is fantastic and plentiful. We are a 3 generation family who never tire of the sites in and around York and will continue to visit Mowbray House next year

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mowbray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowbray House

Address: 34 Haxby Road, York YO31 8JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mowbray House 3*
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mowbray House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.