We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Newington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Newington Hotel to your Saves list
The Newington Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Mount Vale, York YO24 1DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 45 Hotels in York
derbyshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Four night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here previously 2011 large room 106 on the front. We enjoyed our recent stay another large room on front 110, no problem with road noise. Reception friendly and efficient. Adequate parking, bus stop immediately outside hotel, only 15mins walk into York. Good choice breakfast and three course dinner excellent

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    88
    85
    53
    61
See reviews for
25
164
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were going to York to see a show but since my partner suffer an accident and she hasnt left the house for a few weeks, we decided to stop over and have a couple of days in York. We looked at The Newington Hotel and because of its location, price (£65 for a double room) and it general look we booked with them. On arrival they were very nice and polite and gave us a room on the first floor as my partner has difficulties walking around because of her insury. The room was basic and it didnt have double glazing and the free internet was no where to be found. We did not have a good sleep as it was noisy because our room was opposite the main road, it was cold because of the lack of double glazing and the walls were so thin that we could hear people talking in other rooms. In the morning we got up to find out that there was no electricity in our room. Therefore my partner and I could not have a shower as there was no light in the bathroom nor window to let light come in ( specially now when my partner has a movility problem). The shower was behind the door so even if you left the door open it was still quite dark. Because of the lack of electricity the breakfast menu was reduced to bacon and eggs, which were also overcooked, and you had to seat on a dark breakfast room. Upon checking out we asked for a discount due to the problems that we had encountered, the "lady" at the desk was not impress and claimed that we were being unreasonable and that the power cut wasnt there fault, but it wasnt our fault either and not even mentioning all the other faults and problem that we came across. After being really rude to us, the lady contacted the manager who was also quite rude but in the end he gave us the "grand total" of £5 off for having spoiled our weekend getaway. Not in a million year I would go back there, I can assure you that the Premier Inn is way better value for money than this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Found hotel to be very nice and comfortable. Staff very helpful and polite. Breakfast very good, English choice. Main meals good three choices. Desserts good. Hotel location 10 minute walk to town centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Thought we would come away for a nice weekend as I've been ill and haven't been out for ages!
Turned up room was cold and very very basic! Couldn't sleep as there was no double glazing and were at the front of the Hotel, also walls paper thin so could hear everything in next room and corridors.
In the morning work up to a power cut, went to reception to ask they said its just in the part where we are staying.
For breakfast we could only have bacon and eggs!!!
Went to check out and asked for discount as I couldn't have a shower as I couldn't have it in the dark especially with my knee injury, it was cold, very loud, NO BREAKFAST, power cut!!!!
They replied no as it wasn't there fault. We discussed it with the manager and he was rude too. After a lot of discussion we could only have a £5 discount.
Absolutely discussing!!!!! Will not be stopping here again and would advise no one else too either!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Just spent the weekend here had fantastic time clean hotel good food only 15 min walk from city centre very friendly staff big thanks to you looking forward to staying again soon . Don't forget to take your swimwear we did and regreted it pool looked really nice .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stay here this weekend we had a great time thanks to the staff as they were do friendly and very helpful nothing was too much trouble to which we are very thankful we will be going again we went this time last year we stayed in a room on the top floor but this time we we on the ground floor the food was lovely

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just come back from a fantastic weekend in York. The staff are very friendly the evening meal was gorgeous and worth the money and the breakfast filled you up for the day, everything you could want and more / extra toast if you needed it.
The decor of the rooms is a little dated but very spacious
The city centre is about a 15 minute walk or a 5 minute bus ride
Highly recommended

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel so didn't hear any traffic but the hotel is next to a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Newington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newington Hotel

Address: 147 Mount Vale, York YO24 1DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Newington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Newington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newington Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Newington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.