We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and extremely helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Newington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Newington Hotel to your Saves list
The Newington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Mount Vale, York YO24 1DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in York
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and extremely helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I chose this hotel for a short break, despite some of the bad reviews. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and the facilities on offer. The hotel itself is a fine example of Victorian architecture and retains many original features. There is a swimming pool built into an extension at the rear of the hotel, which I would have used if I had remembered to take a swimming costume. The meals were excellent and very filling. The staff were friendly and very helpful; one of the waiters made some honey and lemon tea when I developed a cold during my stay and he even offered me some of his Paracetamol. There are several comfortable guest lounges with a bar and television and the hotel itself is just far enough out of the city centre but enjoys two bus stops directly outside of the hotel with a wealth of regular bus services. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms are over four floors so choose one near to the ground floor if you are not good with stairs, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    104
    96
    56
    65
See reviews for
29
189
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My partner and I booked this hotel as a last minute break, most places were booked up due to the Races so was a little unsure what to expect..................... we need not have worried, this hotel is absolutly fabulous. The decor is inline with the period of the building, it is warm friendly and extreamly clean. Our four poster room was amazing, spacious, light, warm and very private. The service was outstanding, staff most friendly and helpful, even late into the night and early morning the night staff were wide awake and not dreary as can be the case given the time. The breakfast menu had a good variety for all tastes.
Transport via bus or taxi is available to the centre of York right from the Hotel door, and takes only a few minutes ride.
An excellent Hotel one of which we most definatly would visit again, Jayne & Marty (England)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilkley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here for one night in order to attend a function at the racecourse.The room[438] was dark and dank and felt damp.The shower di d not provide hot water.At the price this was extremely bad value and was the worst experience I have ever had in staying in hotelsHowever the worst part of this experience was the response of the manager who was not present on the day but to whom I sent an e-mail.He was not prepared to accept any of my complaints in his aggressive reply,suggesting that I did not know how to operate a shower.In short this is a very tired and shabby hotel which is run by a manager who could't care less.

Room Tip: avoid coach rooms-particularly 438
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed for one night and chose it because it was close to the Racecourse where we were attending a wedding. The hotel was well worn and needed to have a complete refurbishment. We stayed in a room in the annexe and could hear people coming and going to the rooms upstairs. The bedroom was clean. However, the toilet and shower were in a very small 'en-suite' and the basin was actually in the bedroom. The breakfast wasn't great; the fruit salad was out of a tin and the sausages were cheap and tasteless. At a cost of over £100 per night we expected much better accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed here for one night as we had a functon at the Race Course. we were in room 219.It was a nice size and clean but a bit tired and shabby in parts.
The bed(4poster) was very comfy.
The bathroom looked like it was in a time warp.Grey suite with corner jacuzzi bath which burnt your bum when you switched it on.There was a notice saying hot water but I thought it meant out of the taps but the water shot through holes in the bottom of the bath!
We have one at home but obviously a modern version with jets and works off the water already in the bath.
There was a shower over the bath but no shower curtain or screen so you had to be a contortionist to not get water all over!
Breakfast was ok and the staff were nice.
It took us a good 10mins to walk to the Race Course although that was in high heels and it was blowing a gale and raining hard at the time we set off.
Next time I would opt for a taxi.
Thought it was a bit pricey for what it was but it was very handy for where we were going and about the only hotel near there that took 1 night bookings.But it could certainly do with a lick of paint and sprucing up.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

only booked in for 1 night 27/08/11 we where given room number 439 annexe off the hotel.Plenty of space clean and tidy.found the staff very helpfull and polite.Small swimming pool but ideal for those wishing to take a short dip.hotel is ideally situated for York racecourse (next door)and a very short work to all that York as to offer.If walking is a problem there is a bus stop outside the hotel cost £1.70 pp to city centre.Full english breakfast included as far as we where concerned the breakfast was more than filling with cereals and fruit juices also available so to those who have described the breakfast as not enough I do not no what these people normally eat for breakfast.My wife and I would have no problem in recommending this hotel.maybe we where lucky in the room we received so we cannot comment on other rooms.as most hotels some are better than others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Only stayed the one night, wasn't at the hotel much but found it nice and pleasent. Room was large, comfortable and clean. Staff members were all friendly and helpful. Wasn't expecting much from breakfast after reading other reviews. but me an my wife thought it was excellant with a good menu with plenty of choice. The 15 mins walk into town is estimated about right but there is a bus stop right outside which we didn't use. For the price we paid it was wwell worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Newington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newington Hotel

Address: 147 Mount Vale, York YO24 1DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Newington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Newington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newington Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Newington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.