We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Denys Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added St Denys Hotel to your Saves list
St Denys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   51 St Denys Road, York YO1 9QD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hotel Website = Best Rate
Ranked #12 of 216 York B&B and Inns
Hampshire U.K
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pure Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed on 30/04 and this is one of the best hotels ever.
The little touches offered are amazing, fabulous quality bed linen, toiletries and selection of teas and coffees. There is a fridge in the hallway to help yourself to fresh milk and chilled water. The breakfast was lovely with a great selection of extras like fresh fruit, nuts, yogurt etc.The location is fantastic, very near to all the restaurants and shops but in a nice quiet street.
The owners are lovely and really care about their business. The dining area is lovely and light, bright and cheery. There are even umbrellas to use should it be raining. I wish I owned this hotel but I couldn't run it nearly as well. My only feedback would be to change the bread used as it was quite dry for toast. But this is the only thing I would change. Fabulous job ladies, keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Room 8 was lovely, king size bed and nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
85
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked the deluxe king room and was throughly disappointed on arrival. Certainly more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. When being shown to my room, a large fridge on the main landing was pointed out to me. It was explained that if guests wanted to store their own milk, juice or any perishable items they would have to do so here. On entering my room I found there to be no bottled water - only tap water available from the sink in the bathroom! There was no telephone in the room to call down for assistance so had to resort to drinking from the tap. Not the best service for £149 per night!!
The bathroom was beyond substandard for the price of the room. The sink and basin was the smallest thing I'd ever seen and, being six foot tall, I had to almost crouch down to wash my face.
Felt very self conscious creeping out of the room in my pyjamas late at night to the communal fridge on the landing to get my own shop brought milk. Really odd set up.
Felt more like a hostel than a hotel.
Would at least expect adequate bathing facilities, complimentary slippers, dressing gown, bottled water, a mini fridge in the room and a telephone to communicate with staff on the front desk.
All in all would not recommend and will certainly not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at St Denys Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us, although we were so very sorry to read about your disappointment with your room and your stay in general.

We’re afraid we don’t recognise the name you have used for your Tripadvisor account and so sorry we can’t address your issues personally but we do try very hard to make sure people are aware of what they will be getting before they stay so that they can make an informed choice and we’re very sorry that this was not the case for you. We do provide many photos and descriptions (including listing the facilities) on our own website as well as as much information and description as we are allowed on the third party sites who sell our rooms (though these descriptions are generally written by their own editors). We do understand it is not always easy to translate photos and descriptions into a feeling of what the space and facilities would be and if people give us a call or ask us questions by email prior to staying, we always advise them to the best of our abilities, recommending particular rooms and even recommending other establishments if we think these will suit them better. We are so sorry that we didn't meet your expectations as the last thing we want is for people to be disappointed with their stay.

Being in the centre of York and in a historical building there are limits on the room sizes but we have been told on several occasions that the Deluxe King rooms compare favourably in size with those on offer at the York Hilton (as well as in price and individual character). We are a small and quirky hotel, rather than a big branded chain and we try to create a friendly atmosphere and a personally tailored service where people feel happy to ask for what they would like and we always try our best to provide it.

We were so sorry that you did not feel able to let us know about your disappointment at the time as there are many things we could have done to try and mitigate it if we had had the chance, from offering you a choice of the available Deluxe King rooms (they all have a different character) to providing many of the things you felt were missing.

We do try to be as environmentally friendly as possible and so don’t provide bottled water as standard in the rooms and, as you say, there is drinkable tap water from the basin in every room. We’re so sorry that we did not know that you would have preferred some bottled water as we would have been more than happy to have provided it for you. As an alternative to bottled water and tap water we also have filtered water in the fridge on the landing that it is chilled and available for everyone to help themselves to. We’re sorry too that you felt it necessary to buy your own milk rather than use the small bottles of fresh milk we provided in the fridge or the long life milk provided in the rooms. One of the advantages of being a small hotel is we can respond to special requests by guests, and if we had known you would have preferred a particular sort of milk we would have been more than happy to accommodate this. We were very sorry to read that you felt uncomfortable having to come onto the landing in order to use the fridge. Perhaps one of the gel cooling packs that we provide for chilling wine bottles might have kept your milk cool enough in your room overnight, or perhaps our Grand room with its own mini fridge in the room might have suited you better.

We’re very sorry that you did not feel you had good value for your money, we do regularly check our prices and amenities against other accommodation in the city centre to make sure we offer good value in comparison. We’re glad to be able to say that many of our guests do feel we offer excellent value for money but we’re so sorry that was not the case for you. We do take your comments seriously and use all the feedback that we receive to consider how we can improve in the future.

All best wishes, Sophie and Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a weekend break in October and were so glad we did.
Owners Sophie and Maria were lovely and couldn't do more to make you feel welcome. The room was comfortable and well equipped with lovely touches such as a Nespresso machine, iPod/iPhone dock and organic toiletries.
Light and airy breakfast room with a choice of local produce - we enjoyed their excellent cooked breakfast. Small free car park on site and a very short stroll into the centre along a street lined with a good choice of restaurants and independent shops.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A really nice place to stay, I can't recommend it highly enough.
The hotel has been recently refurbished to a very high standard, with modern yet homely decor. The room was comfortable and extremely well appointed, with a huge bathroom! Lots of thoughtful little touches, from fresh milk to make-up remover, were all much appreciated.
Maria was so welcoming and helpful and really made us feel at home. Breakfast was superb with fresh, high-quality ingredients.
Its central location is excellent for exploring York's historic centre, yet it's in a quiet and peaceful spot. The free parking was just a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I cannot imagine a better place to stay in York. I spent ages researching and reading reviews before choosing the St. Denys, and it turned out to be more enjoyable than I had even hoped. The owners, Sophie and Maria, plus their staff (especially Marina while we were there!) looked after us so well and seemed to care deeply about making our stay as lovely as possible. Let me say first off that that shower was excellent. That is a huge concern for us, and I always look for reviews that mention shower pressure. So, there is that info in case any of you out there are as fussy about that as we are! All the plumbing has been updated so it's great. Really nice, organic/natural soaps/shampoos are provided. We had one of the larger King rooms, and it had plenty of space for us. The bedding was soft and comfortable. The entire place was super clean, and breakfast was terrificl. Full English breakfast, plus other choices..... free range eggs, organic put-it-together-yourself granola fixings, (with homemade raspberry compote - superb!), local sausages, etc. There is a big fridge/freezer in the hallway that all the rooms can share for whatever they like, plus there is filtered water (although the tap water is great) and small milk bottles for everyone's tea. The location is great for easy walking right into the center, but being on a quite street itself. It's across the street from the lovely St. Denys church so please remember to check that out! Lots of restaurants nearby (we enjoyed Mason's and Mumbai Lounge). We were pleasantly surprised by the thoughtful extra bits that kept popping up, like a pile of mini umbrellas on our one rainy day and a bowl of chocolates on the desk when we came in at night. Things like that make one feel very welcomed! Oh, and the wifi worked well, and the car parking was right there which made things very easy for us. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly, wished we had had more time there, and would definitely stay there again if we get lucky enough to travel again to York!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful weekend at St Denys Hotel staying 2 nights so that we could enjoy sightseeing and shopping in and around York. Sophia and Maria were so welcoming, nothing was too much trouble then the room itself was perfect; clean, comfortable, restful with little finishing touches like the milk in the fridge on the landing for tea/coffee. The breakfasts were terrific with locally sourced ingredients and the whole ambiance of the hotel is an oasis of calm after a busy day. Surrounded by wonderful eating places within minutes walking distance, what more could we ask for? Oh yes, free secure car parking too. Bliss!

Room Tip: the hotel is situated in a quiet street so the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a sweet place to stay in York! We have really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is recently refurbished and very clean. Staff is friendly and helpful, and breakfasts were delicious. Appreciate the locally-sourced and organic offerings. Nice touches include the art spread throughout the inn (artist is the hotel keepers' father!) and the local, organic skin products. An easy walk from major tourist destinations in town as well as lots of restaurants and places to eat. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Denys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Denys Hotel

Address: 51 St Denys Road, York YO1 9QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St Denys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Denys Hotel York is a stylish and friendly boutique hotel housed in a converted Victorian rectory with bags of character providing bed and breakfast in the centre of the historic walled city of York Ideally situated close to all York's many and varied attractions, in an area renowned for its thriving independent food and drink scene, the hotel provides a perfect base from which to explore the city. All bedrooms have luxurious beds with crisp white linen, a modern en suite bath or shower room with organic toiletries, flatscreen television with freeview, iPod dock, Nespresso machine and a great range of teas, coffees and a kettle. Some rooms have views of the ancient St Denys Church and others of hidden cityscapes. Go Deluxe King or Grand for bigger beds or four posters with more luxurious touches. Book direct for a locally sourced cooked breakfast and free wifi included in the room rate. Rates booked with the hotel include free parking off site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St Denys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Denys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.