We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Denys Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added St Denys Hotel to your Saves list
St Denys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   51 St Denys Road, York YO1 9QD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hotel Website = Best Rate
Ranked #8 of 216 York B&B and Inns
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
“Outstanding B&B!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My experience at the St Denys Hotel was brilliant. I have only praise for Sophie and Marie who both went out of their way to make my stay pleasant. Due to an accident, I remained at the hotel for over a week, and Sophie and Marie were cheerful and accommodating every day. My room was spotlessly clean; the breakfasts were tasty; the nights were quiet; and the location is conveniently within walking distance to York's wonderful sights. I even found a wine glass set out for me when I had left a bottle in my room for some solitary evening cheer. Lovely touches like chocolates and tasty tea treats made my day, but above all, the two young women who run the hotel were always gracious and helpful. I hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Recent renovations mean that all the rooms are clean and tastefully equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at St Denys Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Wanda H, we're so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write such kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you and we very much hope to see you again if you are ever in this part of the world. All best wishes, Maria and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
84
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

A very warm welcome, extremely comfortable beds and an excellent breakfast menu, this is a wonderful hotel and very reasonably priced.

Everything ran like clockwork during our stay and there was nothing that was too much trouble for the owners Maria and Sophie, who went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

York is a beautiful place to visit and this is a great hotel from which to explore the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at St Denys Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Alain D, it was lovely to read your review, thank you so much for taking the time. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in York and we hope we might see you again if you are ever up this way in the future. All best wishes, Sophie and Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stopped here for new year.Must say it is a lovely hotel.The hosts were lovely and couldnt do enough. Would certainly recommend lovely building spotless clean and very quiet. Breakfast lovely and close to everthing in york 2 min walk to shambles

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at St Denys Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear billytiger0109, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're glad you had a great new year's celebration and hope to see you again soon. All very best, Maria and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Thank you Maria and Sophie for making our stay very enjoyable at St Denys Hotel. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was lovely. We will definitely return and look at the refurbishments that are planned.
Wish you all the success with your joint venture.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at St Denys Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear happytripper41, thank you so much for your review and kind wishes. We're so glad you had a relaxing stay. We've been busy carrying on with the renovations since then and would love to see you again/show you around if you were ever up this way in the future. All best wishes, Sophie and Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

we had a very pleasant 3 night stay at St Denys Hotel , we were made to feel very welcome by our hostesses Sophie and Maria,our room was very clean and cosy ,bed very comfy , lovely generous breakfast to set you up for the day . York city easy walking distance , nice choice of pubs and restaurants close by . We stayed there as its close to the Barbican centre where the UK snooker championships were being held again easy walking distance .would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at St Denys Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear 56Eddy56, thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay - it was lovely to meet you both! We're glad you found the location ideal - lots of people find us handy for events and concerts at the Barbican. Hope to see you again if you're ever up this way. All best wishes, Maria and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

just come back from from a night in St Denys, two sister run the hotel , very friendly,, , , good choice for breakfast great fresh coffee , the beds were comfy bed , 5 minutes from the shops i,would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at St Denys Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear hutchyUk, thank you so much for your kind words. It's great to hear you had a lovely stay and we hope to see you again soon. All best wishes, Sophie and Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a very friendly welcome off the 2 young sisters Maria and Sophie that run this hotel ,they were both very pleasant girls and they really go out of their way to help you, nothing is to much trouble for them , our party were all very happy with the rooms , they are so comfortable and clean. The breakfast was very good and plentiful , and the location could not have been any better , lots to do in the area and it is a nice 5 minute stroll to the town centre, when in York we would certainly stay here again , and we wish the Maria and Sophie all the luck in the future with what they have planned .xx

Room Tip: Room 5 , very cosy and the bed is massive .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at St Denys Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Winters598, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would love to see you all again if you are ever over this way in the future! Very best wishes, Maria and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Denys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Denys Hotel

Address: 51 St Denys Road, York YO1 9QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St Denys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Denys Hotel York is a stylish and friendly boutique hotel housed in a converted Victorian rectory with bags of character providing bed and breakfast in the centre of the historic walled city of York Ideally situated close to all York's many and varied attractions, in an area renowned for its thriving independent food and drink scene, the hotel provides a perfect base from which to explore the city. All bedrooms have luxurious beds with crisp white linen, a modern en suite bath or shower room with organic toiletries, flatscreen television with freeview, iPod dock, Nespresso machine and a great range of teas, coffees and a kettle. Some rooms have views of the ancient St Denys Church and others of hidden cityscapes. Go Deluxe King or Grand for bigger beds or four posters with more luxurious touches. Book direct for a locally sourced cooked breakfast and free wifi included in the room rate. Rates booked with the hotel include free parking off site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St Denys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Denys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.