We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jorvik Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jorvik Hotel to your Saves list
Jorvik Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 - 52 Marygate, York YO30 7BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in York
Stamford, Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Ok hotel for the price. Our room looked in need of a refresh but as just a place to sleep on a busy shopping weekend was fine. My biggest gripe was that the bathroom was FREEZING. We had a jacuzzi bath but that was no way we could experience it is layers were needed just to pop to the loo! If you just want a place to crash rather than a romantic night away this place is fine as it's in a great central location and is very quiet.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for you recent review. I am sorry to hear that your bathroom was cold during your stay. It sounds like your heated towel rail that would heat the bathroom had been switch off. If this had been mention during your stay we would have been more than happy to rectify this for you as we would not expect you to endure a cold bathroom especially during the winter months!! This however should have been check prior to arrival and i have since discussed this with the staff concerned so that this does not happen again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    138
    79
    49
    37
See reviews for
35
230
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here for my birthday in the middle of May, absolutely amazing hotel, couldn't have asked for more from this lovely hotel. We stayed in a ground floor room which was very quiet and spacious. The breakfast was first class, even catered for my parky appetite. Staff were really friendly, even allowed us to leave our bags there after checkout for the day whilst we went to view more of this fabulous city. Location was central, close to town and the train station once we found the short way to the hotel was brilliant. Top hotel, lovely stay

Room Tip: Central hotel, absolutely amazing rooms with extremely friendly staff. Room on the ground floor at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have just returned from a short stay in York staying at the Jorvik Hotel. I have immediately booked for another stay here when we arrived home.
We visit York many times a year and have stopped at numerous guest houses, this by far is the best we have stayed in.
The staff were fantastic, really pleasant and helpful, the rooms were clean and had all the facilities that made a very pleasant stay including thing that you would only expect to find in a luxury room in an upmarket hotel. The spa bath and power shower was fantastic. The bed linen and towels were quality as were the free toiletries.
The hotel is ideally situated a very short stroll through the fantastic
museum gardens into the town but far enough away to be quiet.
The hotel operates on a room only basis whereby you pay extra for breakfast. This is less than £5. Believe me it is £5 well spent and I would recommend that you go for it as it is be best value fiver I have ever spent.
I would like to visit when the weather picks up as the gardens also appear to be a very pleasant area to sit and relax in on a hot summers day.
Really looking forward to our return visit.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor about mid way down the hotel, very quiet had a great nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here in a twin room with my daughter on a Christmas Shopping trip to York. The hotel is situated an easy walk from the Railway Station over Lendal Bridge and through the park. All the staff we met at the hotel were nice and friendly. The room was fine as was the bathroom. The breakfast at £4.95 was a real bargain, so take it if you stay here. We were able to leave our overnight bags there whilst we went shopping, which was a plus. All in all would we stay here again, that would be a yes from me!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Good Morning

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Jorvik.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location if you're staying in York - Town Centre 10 minute walk away & Hotel ten minutes from Train station. Clean rooms & good service. Breakfast very good & the whole stay was very good value for money. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else if I was going to York.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Good Afternoon
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back here hopefully in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I had a "Superbreak" to York in November. The hotel is in an excellent location, opposite the Museum Park and just up from the riverside walk, 10 minute walk and you are in the city centre. The staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful. At breakfast we had every choice and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms although basic are spacious and clean. The bathroom was adequate and clean. The hotel was quiet and we were surprised to see how many guests were actually staying --it was so quiet.We found it excellent value for money and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Good Afternoon
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Jorvik Hotel and hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Although I didn't stay over at the Jorvik Hotel I did attend a wedding with them on 21st September and wanted to compliment their good service and the quality of the food they provided.

The communal areas of the hotel itself are cosy and nicely decorated. The relaxed homely feel to the venue gave the wedding an intimacy that was lovely, particularly the back garden area. We were welcomed with friendly waiters serving sweet and savoury canapés that were just divine. The wedding itself was held outside on a raised decking area. The wedding breakfast was a traditional roast served carvery style which meant food was served warm and fresh. Very tasty. Drinks weren't overly expensive for hotel standards.

All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Good Afternoon
Thank you for your review. It is lovley to get some feedback from guests who have attended functions here. Valerie and Stuarts wedding was beautiful and we were very honour that they chose to celebrate their special day with us.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jorvik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorvik Hotel

Address: 50 - 52 Marygate, York YO30 7BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jorvik Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jorvik Hotel is situated right in the heart of the historic city of York. The hotel overlooks the gateway to the Museum gardens; the 11th-century church of St Olafs and the remains of St Mary’s Abbey. The main shopping area of York is less than five minutes walk away and the peaceful river Ouse runs majestically by at the end of the street. The Jorvik dates back to the 1750s and has 22 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Jorvik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorvik Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jorvik Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.