We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dark!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Churchill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Churchill Hotel to your Saves list
The Churchill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Very dark!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have recently returned from a one night stay at The Churchill. We had booked a superior room to have a little extra space.

We were escorted to our room which was in the newer extended part of the building. The size of the room was not unacceptable but was by no means spacious. When entering the room there were no lights at all and the bed was to the left where the room opened up. As a result of the lack of lighting we did not benefit at all from booking a larger room as the extra space was pitch black! We were offered another room but this was very cold so we stayed in our original room.

The room we stayed in had rips in the carpet and there were lots if marks on the walls. The bathroom was generally ok but the shower head in particular was not clean at all. There was no space to store toiletries and the ' fluffy bath sheets' described on the website were nowhere to be seen. Instead there was 1 bath sheet and 1 hand towel in the bathroom ( we later found one extra towel in a storage bag in the wardrobe). There were also tissues in the toilet.

The room overall was very dark even with all of the lights on and the pillows did not fit the ' superior' description of the room.

Overall- very overpriced for a distinctly average and very dark room. Very disappointing for such a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    287
    145
    75
    44
See reviews for
99
659
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
potters bar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was treated to this hotel for a romantic Valentines weekend away.
Great location for exploring York - everything was about 5-10 walk away so that was fab!
Upon arrival, I looked at the grandiose front and anticipated something special.

The decor is traditional with a touch of contemporaryin the main hotel areas and the dining area was spacious and in keeping with the style of the main house.

We had a superior room but I think in reality that just meant it sort of had a four poster bedroom thing going on (not proper 4 poster - more static posts with no character next to bed!). The room for the price was pretty small and I think we were in the extension part of the house. The size of the room meant it undermined the idea of luxury.

I would stay again - but only if it was a deal/offer which made it better value. Breakfast superb; service good generally.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for my 40th birthday and we have stayed for 2 nights , we stayed in room 118 which is extremely small for a couple , this should be a single room , the shower was amazing and was the best part of this room otherwise i would of asked to be moved as the walls were covered in black scuff marks and the carpet had a thick line of dust along the skirting boards so this was not to my standard as iam a head housekeeper , however when the cleaners came in they cleaned and buffed the room but left the dust line , im wondering if they clean to a time limit ? a deep clean is badly needed in this room , the rest of the hotel looked spotless and i had no complaints , breakfast was wonderful with a variety of fresh fruits and yogurts as well as hot and continental , pure delight.. I would like to mention the waitress whom serves you in a morning she is a credit to your hotel and a joy to watch her help people old and young . The hotel is a short walk from an abundance of shops and allyways that look like they are straight from a scene of a Harry Potter film. We will return but only to have a much bigger room .

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

great friendly hotel ,free parking,great location,only 5 min walk into town close to the Minster.room was small,the double bed was only a 4ft,the breakfast was superb,we had the early bird option for the evening meal which was very good,£20 for 3 courses,we would stay here again but would ask for another room

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend break away (thur/fri/sat night) and it was absolutely lovely and surprised to the quality of the room with our large sash window having a view of York Minster. Didn't expect such a high quality, luxurious room for the price paid! Staff were incredibly accommodating (even though we barely needed them). Location was perfect - literally a 5 minute walk to the town.

The only tiny complaint was the fact that we had a flickering spotlight in the ceiling but told the staff on checkout as it didn't effect us really.

I would 100% recommend this to others. More for a couples break rather than a partying weekend away.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the Minster which was wonderful (to the right when facing the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

my boyfriend booked this hotel for a surprise for my birthday, when we arrived we were made feel very welcome and helped to the room with our bags. We we allocated the blenhime suite and it was fantastic we would definateley stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lovely Hotel. Very unusual room. Didint have window - skylight in ceiling. Bed and pillows were not that comfy.(although manageable) lovely decor everywhere. Very nice attentive staff. free car parking Very central to everything. Lovely pub if you turn left out of the hotel and carry straight down the road towards york centre and its on the left - called the Exhibition. Real Ales superb there. Didint have the breakfast as we got a deal for the room at £68.50 (it should have been £114.00) that was without breakky. Separately, the breakfast was £9.95 pp. Would'nt have paid £114.00 for this room. although it was very nice and contempory i felt like we had been shoved in the "last" room and thats why it was cheaper.

Room Tip: dont book room 123 if you can help it....its a bit dark and you feel like its an extra room that has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Churchill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering 32 stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining Piano Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, T4B and Agoda so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Churchill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.