We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Churchill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Churchill Hotel to your Saves list
The Churchill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Car Parking
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in York
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel, bar, restaurant and staff were good but it was overall let down by its ageing decor in the rooms. Just silly things that should be kept nice considering the boutique nature of the hotel, paintwork chipped and stained, grout on bathroom floor crumbling and loose, bathroom sink hanging off the wall, which I reported but wasn't fixed or made safe. Also the electrical goods in the room, tv, iron etc all came from tesco which doesn't really shout luxury. The breakfast and breakfast staff were very good, and the location of the hotel was perfect for our stay which were a big plus for the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    268
    124
    68
    39
See reviews for
93
606
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Churchill Hotel September 8, 9, and 10. We had made the reservations and paid for them beforehand IN JUNE. But did this get a a good room? Well the 1st night a wedding party was booked with a dj and hundreds of crazy drunks right below our room. We are an older couple, we go to bed early! We were tired from walking around. The party was on when we got back to the hotel at 8 pm and when I called at 9:30 to hear when the party would be over I was told at midnight. The walls were pulsing, literally. No sympathy from the management. It was a weekend and leaving the hotel was not an option. And they knew it. They made no apology, no free dinner, no adjustment of our bill. They didn't even try to satisfy us. Do not book this hotel! They stink.

Room Tip: don't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My Wife and I stayed at the Churchill over a long weekend in June.

Even though we arrived at the hotel too early for check in we were allowewd to park our car at the hotel whilst we wandered around the minster.

The hotel were busy with a wedding party on the day we arrived but even though this was a large event with lots of guests the staff were still exhaustive in their efforts to please all hotel guests.

Excellent staff, superb restaurant, brilliant location in easy walking distance of all major attractions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Allocated a room in extension of hotel which was decorated in a modern style, comfortable and adequate for a one night stay. The room was quite small but this was expected from looking at other reviews and I did select the cheapest rooms on offer. Good location being only a 5-10 minute walk to Minster and city centre. But the best part of the stay was the hotel restaurant. £30 per head was great value for the stunning food in the restaurant and would highly recommend booking into the restaurant if staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed recently and really pleased with our choice.
£68 for the 2 of us.
Didn't have any meals so couldn't comment.
Rooms were nicely decorated, but very small. Only a double bed which wasn't great!
Good location and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hard to fault. Warm welcome by all staff, and receptionist allowed us to check in to our room and park before midday.
Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast very good and hot food cooked to order. Ate one night in the restaurant and it was well worth it's 2 rosettes.
Short, flat walk to the centre.
Will definitely recommend, very good value for money.
Stayed nights of 25th and 26th Sept 2012

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We first visited this hotel for dinner over 20 years ago and it was nice to see there had been a new extension but it did not change the stunning frontage of the building. We were staying for 3 nights and had opted for an executive room, we were given a room in the original part and although it was rather small the high ceilings and huge window meant it was airy.
Good choice for breakfast and it was obvious that the produce used was of a high standard.
We dined in the restaurant on our last night and the food was well deserving of the 2 rosettes. Service of all staff was excellent, friendly and helpful.
It is a good 10/15 minute walk to the centre of York and maybe too far for anyone with mobility problems. Although we discovered a good selection of independant shops and restaurants in the Gilly Gate - only 5 mins away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Churchill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering 32 stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining Piano Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Churchill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.