We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Churchill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Churchill Hotel to your Saves list
The Churchill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Car Parking
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in York
North Wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A bit of luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

If you fancy a bit of luxury try the Prince of Wales suite. You can get a good deal if you book between a Sunday and Thursday. Beautiful room, big copper tin bath or walk in shower. Two tv's, original furnishings and nicely decorated. Refurbished since we stayed here 5 years ago. Try the champagne breakfast served in your room. Plenty of parking and only 5 minutes into town. We'll be back again the next time we have a special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    268
    124
    68
    39
See reviews for
93
606
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Double room smart but tight. Reception very helpful. Dining room and food excellent. Bar staff often had to double for other duties, so bar not continuously manned, but that said, when they were free to attend to us they were perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilandlucy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We had a small wedding at The Churchill Hotel last weekend and we had a brilliant time.
The Churchill Hotel caught our eye 3 years ago and we stayed for a weekend in January, so when it came to planning a wedding it was always on our wish list and we are really pleased we had our reception here. The hotel really went above and beyond for us.
The hotel is really elegant and beautiful, it was the perfect back drop for our intimate wedding.
I stayed in a twin room the night before the wedding with my Maid of Honour - the room was really comfortable and big. The bed was also really comfortable - important for beauty sleep the night before.
On the 2nd night I stayed with my husband in the Jenny Suite, which the hotel kindly upgraded us too, the hotel also let us transfer room the twin to the Jenny Suite in the morning (so me and my Maid of Honour) could get ready - again, very kind of them.
The Jenny room was another really comfortable room, the bed was a beautiful 4 poster bed (which provided a great nights sleep).
The breakfast is brilliant, I highly recommend the Eggs Benedict.
The hotel set up the function room for us which was really nice, meaning I was able to nervously get ready without stressing over setting things up.
The food was amazing (it had impressed us 3 years ago and it didn't disappoint this time), I believe they have won a few AA Rosetta awards and you can tell why. Everyone commented on how good the food was and we had several very picky people in the group.
We highly recommend the hotel - for both weddings and visits to York (it is perfectly located for the centre of York).
The Churchill Hotel really went that extra mile for us (dealing with the complicated dining arrangements with ease), making our day extra special and we are very grateful - we are looking forward to celebrating anniversaries at The Churchill Hotel.
I would like to extend particular thanks to Dave and Rachel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We booked a superior room for 1 night which was comfortable and clean. Good value for money and 5 minute walk to York minster.
The young girl on reception was very friendly and helpful she even reconised us in the town and said hello even though she had only seen us for booking in.
The bar was well stocked and not overpriced.
The bookcase was very impressive.
Breakfast was very good.
Would use this hotel again when we visit York.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Just returned from a three night dinner, bed and breakfast stay at this lovely hotel. We always stay at the Churchill for any special occasion and once again we were not disappointed. The staff are lovely and the food superb. The evening meals are a joy to behold and the attention to detail second to none. The hotel is centrally situated only 5 to 10 minutes from the Minster - would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in York.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my family and thought it was good value for money, clean and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed here on a sat night, room was lovely with a fantastic view of the Minster. Girl on Reception was lovely, she directed us in when we got lost. Ate in the restaurant which was stunning, the chef quite clearly loves what he does. The restaurant room was very intimate, it did help that it was snowing but what a view out of the 3 arched windows. Only small complaint was that there was a wedding disco on which was loud in our room but finished at midnight. Would definitely stay again, Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Churchill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering 32 stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining Piano Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Churchill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.