We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value,Great Hotel with a Very Good Location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alhambra Court Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alhambra Court Hotel
Save
You added Alhambra Court Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 St Mary's, Bootham, York YO30 7DD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in York
Lake District,Cumbria
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Good Value,Great Hotel with a Very Good Location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Just stayed for the 1 night at the Alhambra last night.We stayed in Room 16 on the second floor.A few flights of stairs but don't worry they have a small lift (6 persons max).The room itself was very clean and tidy.A small window with a Velux roof window also.The bed looked like a large double when we went into the room but on futher examination found it to be 2 single beds joined together by small metal brackets.The T.V. was not digital and it only had 5 channels with no remote control either.The bathroom looked like it could do with an overhaul with black marks on the ceiling and cracks around the bath panel.The bathroom was not very big. St.Mary's is a very quite street so you should get a good night's sleep if you stay there.I could not fault the breakfast this morning.A choice of cereals & fruit with the usual selection of fruit juices.Full english breakfasts or a choice of various things on toast.I recommend the full english breakfast.
The Hotel also has it's own car park behind the rear garden but try to park away from the large trees at the back or your car will be covered in tree sap,leaves,twigs and bird mess ....!!!
All in all a good value for money hotel that's very close to Petergate and only 10 minutes away from York Minster.We will be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    101
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
37
120
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Close to the city centre and large car park, these were the only good points about this hotel.
Our room was small, dark and basic. The t.v was very small and quite high up which made it quite awkward to watch. The glasses in the bathroom were dirty.
The worst part of our stay was the breakfast, it was over cooked (sausage burnt and tomato hard) and very greasy. When asked if we hadnt liked our breakfast by a member of staff we mentioned that we hadnt been able to cut the tomato, this staff member apologised and walked towards the kitchen, when another staff member rudely shouted across the room to him (infront of us and other guests) in an agressive manner "have those two just complained about ......" We didn't go to breakfast the next morning due to both the poor food quality and the rude staff. We later found out that we weren't the only ones to not bother going for breakfast!
I would not return to this hotel, there are much nicer hotels in York for the same cost.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

As a very picky couple who are hard to please we found the Alhambra very pleasant and we will definately be staying there again. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room (16) was small but cute. The bed was very clean and the pillows a dream. We nearly took them home. No niggles really. No Tv remote, but I survived. The bathroom had a liitle mould on the ceilings but nothing to moan about. York is gorgeous and the walk from the hotel is short and relaxing. Breakfast very good and ample free parking. In all, yes, the rooms may need updating, what it lacks in perfect decor it makes up for in service and warmth. Stay here, enjoy York and a great night sleep.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

Booked at short notice for the weekend and travelled with my daughter (11) and a friend with two daughters. Arrived at 7.30pm, The hotel is in a quiet, mostly residential, street just outside the city walls. I parked in the large car park at the rear. The receptionist was lovely and showed us to our twin room which was clean and roomy enough for two. Pleanty of hanging space in the wardrobe (loads of hangers) and plenty of drawer space. TV and hot drinks tray provided. Bathroom was small - but adequate with shower over bath and clean with fluffy towels. The restaurant closed at 8pm - but my friend arrived at 8.10 and the recetionist found us and asked if we would like to dine in the restaurant as they were willing to keep it open for us (how nice). The food was tasty with plenty of choice. As other reviewers have said, the food was rich with creamy sauces - but - they offered to cook anything simpler for the children i.e. a plain salmon fillet, no sauce. Special mention to Hazel the waitress who looked after us spledidly, nothing was too much trouble, despite her being heavily pregnant!
Saturday morning, the breakfast was really good, freshly cooked breakfast or cereal and toast. A short (5min) walk to the city walls (Petergate) and the shops.
Sunday morning, we wanted to hit the shops again and the receptionist was happy for our cars to remain in the car park until we were ready to depart. When we came back to our car there was a note on my window asking me to go back to reception. The cleaner had found a necklace that I had left by mistake. I stay in hotels on a regular basis on business and I can't list the things I've forgotten - but rarely does this property ever get to lost property. Hats off to the Alhambra Court for honesty and friendly staff who go that extra distance to make your stay wonderful!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

Just returned from a two day shopping break in York having stayed at the Alhambra. First thing to mention is that we booked on line via the hotel website, which lets you choose your room..or so we thought! We had chosen a 1st floor double room (room 14)....we ended up with a ground floor twin (pushed together to make a double). The room was large enough but 'tired' and had a musty smell..indeed the windows were wide open on arrival, which was strange given that the outside temperature was so cold! The room remained at that temparature for much of our stay as the heating was either off or not working.

The only saving grace was the breakfast, which was lovely and served very quickly.

The location is great but the hotel is very tired.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Stayed here for a week with two friends. Couldn't be beat. Walking distance to all York attractions. Breakfast was great. Dinner menu looked good but we didn't eat here. Would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

My friend and I have stayed in this hotel for past few years now and would not stay anywhere else in York.Peaceful setting.Lovely friendly atmosphere,with very helpful staff.
Rose and Helen,from North East.I

Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alhambra Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court Hotel

Address: 31 St Mary's, Bootham, York YO30 7DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Alhambra Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alhambra Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.