We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 45 hotels in York
Hong Kong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Lovely quaint hotel in the centre of York. Easy walking access to all the main sights. On the banks of the river. Our room was on the street level but it wasn't noisy. We stayed on a very hot day in Summer but there was no air conditioning and the window couldn't be open wide. It got a bit warm during the day but at night wasn't a problem. The breakfast was fantastic! Excellent choice of hot food which was always kept fresh. Parking needs to be booked in advance. They don't have many spaces and spare parking with the gym so they do run out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    36
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
53
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
beijing
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have just spent three nights here. LAMH is a wonderful place. We got an upgrade to a deluxe triple, ( thanks Caroline) which was a lovely size and perfectly comfortable. Clean and bright, lovely big, bright bathroom.
The main building is beautiful and the grounds are lovely. The car park was busy but had no impact on us.
The gym was always busy and yes as mentioned in an earlier review, the pool is small but me and our little one were always able to get in. It was perfect for us.
The staff are lovely, thanks Maria for a smooth speedy check in.
Thanks also to Steve and Megan for looking after us so well at dinner which we ate in the restaurant on all three nights. They were marvellous.
The food was excellent always.
If I could be a tiny bit picky I would suggest that the chef expand the menu slightly as it was a tad difficult to choose anything by the last night.
Breakfast is lovely,hot and fresh, and all dishes are replenished regularly.
The hotel is beautiful, the grounds are lovely and it is perfectly placed for city access although it doesn't feel as though it's in the middle of the city at all.
We would definitely stay here again and most definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Deluxe are good, in an annexe but definitely good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel does look great and is in a fantastic central position. BUT our stay in the old house was poor. The rooms are very small with small showers and thin pillows. We stayed when it was a warm day but at night the room, number 6 was very cool and kept me awake. Parking is a nightmare as the car park is used by the gym, so if you arrive around 6pm you might have to fight for a space with the Ferrari in the disabled spot. Breakfast is so so, nothing special but the area it is served in is OK. I expected more as the hotel looks great from the outside, but I was disappointed overall

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked a last minute, didn't really know what to expect apart from bing close to the city. Lovely friendly staff, lovely breakfast and small but lovely clean well equipped. Room, what more could you want

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went to york for two nights and were made so welcome by the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Close to the centre but in a quiet location. Good food and a wonderful breakfast. We will be back. Penny and Marino Saksida

Room Tip: Tell them your requirements and they will be happy to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at the Lady Anne Middleton hotel to watch the Tour de France in Yorkshire. We did leave booking a hotel a little late, and were left with not many options. Looking around, we weren't really too fussed on the accommodation as all we needed was a dry bed.
When we arrived, we were extremely surprised. What an absolutely lovely hotel. We were one of the first to check in, and not many people had arrived yet, so we were taken around and told of the history of the hotel. It was wonderful and I found it so interesting.
The staff were absolutely lovely and always very helpful.
The rooms were clean, and the beds were really comfortable, especially after a long day sitting on the hill waiting for the Peloton.
Location wise, it is perfect, with only a very short walk to the main city centre, where all the restaurants and pubs are. However away enough to be very quiet for sleeping.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have recently been renovated, and they are half way through, so ask when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent 4 lovely days in LA Middleton Hotel. Everything was great. We stayed in a nice room renovated recently with new furniture. The place was quiet and staff was gentle and discreet. Perfectly suitable for getting some rest. Besides there were optional programs organized by the Hotel for all days/evenings. No time to be bored. Even the weather was beautiful!
Thank you LA Middelton! :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel

Address: Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Anne Middletons York
Hotel Lady Anne Middletons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.