We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Middletons York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Middletons York to your Saves list
Middletons York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England (Formerly Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in York
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First class experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed for two nights midweek and had booked a double room but on arrival we were told that we had been upgraded to a deluxe room, very nice thank you! The comfortable room, food quality and location of the hotel to the City centre was all great, but above all the pleasantness of all the staff was excellent. Anyone looking for a perfect stay in York, look no further.

I have not marked the leisure facilities as we did not use them but they did look great.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street but as we were high up there really was not a problem with noise. As we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi Les, We are really glad you had a wonderful trip and found our staff so welcoming. We continuously train our staff to ensure they make our guests feel like they are getting a 5* experience. We hope you'll come and stay again in the not too distant future! Best wishes, Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    90
    37
    11
    10
See reviews for
49
147
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and the staff were very welcoming from the start. Rooms were large and nicely decorated and facilities were great, though the car park is very small and down a steep ramp. The restaurant served the best food I've eaten in years, thoroughly impressed and definitely recommend eating there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We hope you return soon! Best wishes, Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel having found a very good rate for bed and breakfast. The room was comfortable, the bar and lounge area nicely appointed and the breakfast very good, both in terms of choice and quality. The hotel has a pool and gym which we didn't use during our brief stay, but add to the overall good value of the accommodation. Location is good and a short walk to the centre of York. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review about our hotel, we always like to hear our guests have had a good stay! See you again in the future, Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I booked this hotel as a birthday surprise for my partner.
The location was perfect , just around the corner from the shopping area and also the same distance to the main attractions of York.
As it was a birthday surprise the hotel offered some extra options to make the stay personal. The hotel arranged and organised for there to be champagne, truffles and birthday balloon upon our arrival.
They had also allocated us to one of the best rooms with roll top bath tub and double shower.
The breakfast in the morning was excellent! At first we thought it was a continental buffet style which was fine; but we were then asked if we would like a full English breakfast as well. The quality was very good!

The only fault to this not being perfect and 5* was that there was maintainence at the hotel which was outside our room. It wasn't noisy but it meant that the hotel exterior looked like a building site with a lot of tradesman around.
This meant you couldn't see the hotels full potential as it is a quirky, pretty building but was covered with scaffolding etc.
The hotel had a cosy, country feel to it and very clean.

Overall a lovely stay and I would defiantly stay here again.:)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Keeli,

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and very happy that you would return.

We can't wait to see you on your next visit.

Best wishes,
Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Fabulous hotel, ideal location. Staff were very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was great plenty of choice. The bathrooms are hugh with bath, shower, and two sinks, all in all a very enjoyable stay



  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Your feedback is greatly appreciated, we're glad you had a pleasant trip and we hope to see you in the future!

Kind regards,
Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel consists of a collection of historic buildings with a courtyard (well, partly a car park) in between. It looks lovely on the website, which is why I booked it for a weekend for my husband and myself, but when we turned up, the oldest and most picturesque building was shrouded in scaffolding and there were skips and containers of gravel and a huge bare patch on the grass where perhaps another skip had been, so it looked nothing like as nice as we were expecting. That the hotel was being renovated should have been indicated on the website, I think. We had an executive room which was very big with a nice big bathroom but also very expensive. Then we had to pay £10 per day in addition for parking. Lots of little things could have been given just that bit more attention - the lock on our door needed the attention of a locksmith, for instance - and the area outside needed a good sweeping. The breakfast was very average. The pool was out of action on the day we arrived and, though it was available again later, we didn't try it, so can't comment. Good points: very friendly staff and a good position, within walking distance of the centre of town and of the city walls. I wouldn't stay there again, though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Wendy,

Unfortunately renovations have to take place from January before peak season. Being a collection of listed buildings, sometimes we cannot put off the work. We have ensured all building work is refined to one area of the hotel, and we have no guests allocated to that building. I apologise that this impacted your stay.

I have passed on all additional comments to management to look into and improve.

We are saddened that you would not choose to stay with us again, but hope the negative stay you had with us will not impact you choosing to visit York again.

Kind regards,
Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We booked a night through a low cost website and think we got a really good deal for what we paid. We booked a deluxe room which was a very good size, enormous bathroom, modern too. The hotel has different buildings which are listed so our room was on a bit of a slant but I didn't mind that! There are refurbishments going on at the moment but as we were out all day they didn't bother us at all. Location was great top. Breakfast was good this morning and the staff were friendly. I can understand people saying it's overpriced though. We paid £68 for the night but there's no way I'd pay any more than that plus it's a bit naughty then charging £10 for parking too. My advice would be book a deluxe room but shop around for the cheapest deal as you may be disappointed if you paid more than we did

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyannes, Guest Relations Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Jenuno,

We would like to thank you for the positive comments regarding your stay with us.

We regularly check our prices against our competitors and ensure that our rates are fair and a good representation of what we offer. Being a central hotel in a very popular tourist city, our prices may seem higher than average based on other cities. However, we can guarantee they are fair prices for York. Our rates also include use of the Health and Fitness center and full English breakfast.

We hope that you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Middletons York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middletons York

Address: Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England (Formerly Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Middletons York 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Middletons York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Anne Middletons York
Hotel Lady Anne Middletons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middletons York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.