We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude/Unfriendly landlord” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Guest House
Save
You added Abbey Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   13/14 Earlsborough Terrace | Marygate, York YO30 7BQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 215 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rude/Unfriendly landlord”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were supposed to stay here but the owner was such a rude control freak. I agree with Des T. that this is not a welcoming B&B at all. We were greeted witha barage of what not to do with their dog and were asked if we were going out right away! You see they rent out their parking spaces in the day at a cut rate to shoppers/visitors so they don't like you to arrive too early! They are into making money and not caring for their guests.So unwelcoming. Never ever have we been asked to fill in a load of paper work to register at a B&B

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill088, Owner at Abbey Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Goodness - how surprising that Mary T fails to mention that they did not stay with us because WE asked THEM to leave and refused to have them to stay with us.

They are only the second lot of guests we asked to leave our establishment in 7 years of owning it.

On arriving in the car park - at their chosen time for arrival (we reserve a space for guests when they tell us they will be here - from 9am in the morning if they want) - the husband of Mary T was physically and verbally abusive to Alec threatening to hit him and swearing at him without any cause - his behaviour was extreme and uncalled for and not acceptable from anyone we would wish to stay in our guest house, which is also our home. On coming into the house and meeting Gill to see if a resolution could be had the husband said he had nothing to apologise for (despite having physically lashed out at Alec and tried to assault him) and so it seemed best for us to ask them to leave our premises and not stay for the 3 nights that they had planned.

We can't believe that they have had the cheek to complete a review like this when they were asked to leave our guest house because of the husband's poor behaviour - just shows what some people are like.

Yes, we tell people that our lovely Loofah dog is diabetic - if someone fed him something then it could kill him.

And yes, we do ask for a simple registration form to be completed, (one A5 sheet) it is actually the law in the UK to do this - can't think why this was such a problem for them.

They were asked if they were going out 'right away' for dinner as it was early Saturday evening or whether they wanted a cup of tea or coffee - they asked for a drink so we made them one - how rude of us to ask if they would like a drink................

So, yet again, draw your own conclusions - we lost 3 nights business from this and we were not worried by the loss of money - we would rather not have such people in our house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    38
    6
    3
    11
See reviews for
28
182
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here on the night of Thursday 26th April 2012.The owner, Alec, sent us e-mails just prior to our arrival detailing directions for finding Abbey House and where to park.This was much appreciated as our GPS did have trouble finding it and Alec's directions were very clear.
The house is in a wonderful location, on the banks of the River Ouse and we found that we could leave our car and just walk to wherever we wanted to go in York.
The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and I would certainly recommend Abbey House to any visitor to York.
P.S. If you come from Adelaide you might want to give Alec some Haighs chocolates and he'll be forever grateful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Yet another perfect stay at Abbey. We've become regulars because we always get a very warm welcome from Alec and Gill, the two lovely owners (ignore negative comments, clearly written by lunatics). The rooms are of a very high standard and always spotless, the location is perfect on the River Ouze and less than a 5 minute walk to the city centre, either along the river or through a park with buildings of historical interest scattered throughout. Free parking is included in the package, making a saving of at least 20 pounds for a weekend stay. The breakfasts are excellent...did I say the hosts are very friendly too? All in all the best of the lot, and we've stayed in a few York guest houses over the years. Great value for money. You'd be daft to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Comfortable, centrally-located B&B with helpful, friendly owners and delicious (gluten-free) breakfasts. Upon checking in (and being greeted at the door by the owners' friendly terrier), Gill offered me a cup of tea and showed me where we were on the map and how to get to various attractions in town. The room was comfortable and clean. The full English breakfast included gluten-free toast. This was my second trip to York and my second time staying here. I hope to take a third trip to York and have a third stay at the Abbey Guest House!

Room Tip: Front-facing rooms have a good view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford united kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Disregard the negative comment!!We are going again to celebrate my boyfriends birthday tomorrow. We love everything about it. The position and the rooms and of course the breakfast are fab. The welcome from Gill and Alec is very personal and gets your stay off to a good start. Fran and Brian x Bradford.

Room Tip: 4 poster bed over looking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have just read the dreadful review of DesT_13 and cannot understand how he can possibly have stayed at the Abbey Guest House.
We stayed there last year and were more than satisfied, so much so in fact that we will be back again in a few weeks.
The walk from the station is definitely only 10 mins and the walk into York is fantastic - 10-15 mins along the riverside - why would you want to rush?
The guest house itself is clean and comfortable and the hosts friendly and helpful.
DesT_13 are you sure you stayed here?

Room Tip: Choose the front rooms with the views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I couldn't believe what a previous person had written and felt that it had to have been written by someone who has a grudge. We have just returned after spending 3 nights at the Abbey Guest House and we were delighted by the service, the rooms and the hosts.
We never used our car at all while we stayed here preferring to venture into the centre with a short stroll along the footpath or through the museum gardens. Once into the centre we had access to all sorts of delights that York offered. We were two couples and had use of the 2 front bedrooms rooms 1 & 2 they were immaculately clean and the bedding was so impressive I have been out already and purchased similar to have at home. One of our party was ill for the first day and nothing was too much trouble for the hosts Alec and Gill, this was greatly appreciated.
We visited for a birthday treat and were not disappointed. Local to the Train Museum as well as a bonus.
We were so pleased we are planning on returning later in the year. A huge thank you to Alec and Gill who were sincere. Also the welcome from Loofah. X

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Address: 13/14 Earlsborough Terrace | Marygate, York YO30 7BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 215 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, friendly Guest House, located on the banks of the river Ouse, only five minutes walk from the city centre, York Minster, the Yorkshire Museum and gardens and the National Railway Museum. A short walk from both rail and bus stations and all of York's other main attractions. En-suite rooms overlooking the river with four poster beds. All rooms with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Quiet location with private car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Guest House Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.