We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where did DesT_13 stay?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Guest House
Save
You added Abbey Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   14 Earlsborough Terrace, York YO30 7BQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Homemade cake
Ranked #52 of 213 York B&B and Inns
Martinborough, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Where did DesT_13 stay?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have just read the dreadful review of DesT_13 and cannot understand how he can possibly have stayed at the Abbey Guest House.
We stayed there last year and were more than satisfied, so much so in fact that we will be back again in a few weeks.
The walk from the station is definitely only 10 mins and the walk into York is fantastic - 10-15 mins along the riverside - why would you want to rush?
The guest house itself is clean and comfortable and the hosts friendly and helpful.
DesT_13 are you sure you stayed here?

Room Tip: Choose the front rooms with the views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    38
    6
    3
    10
See reviews for
26
179
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I couldn't believe what a previous person had written and felt that it had to have been written by someone who has a grudge. We have just returned after spending 3 nights at the Abbey Guest House and we were delighted by the service, the rooms and the hosts.
We never used our car at all while we stayed here preferring to venture into the centre with a short stroll along the footpath or through the museum gardens. Once into the centre we had access to all sorts of delights that York offered. We were two couples and had use of the 2 front bedrooms rooms 1 & 2 they were immaculately clean and the bedding was so impressive I have been out already and purchased similar to have at home. One of our party was ill for the first day and nothing was too much trouble for the hosts Alec and Gill, this was greatly appreciated.
We visited for a birthday treat and were not disappointed. Local to the Train Museum as well as a bonus.
We were so pleased we are planning on returning later in the year. A huge thank you to Alec and Gill who were sincere. Also the welcome from Loofah. X

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Owners Gill and Alec are excellent hosts. They are hugely welcoming and come across as being genuinely interested in the people who stay in their home, and it does feel like you are in someone's home. The room we stayed in was well decorated, had a modern bathroom and a bed which was both large and comfortable. Breakfast was terrific, with a large choice and it was really well cooked which set us up well for a day touring York. For us, York is a place we want to keep going back to, and there is nowhere else we would be looking to stay - it is as simple as that. We got home today, and this week's job is to convince our parents they really want to have the grandchildren to stay again soon so we can go back to York, and to Abbey Guest House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

After just reading the last review I thought I'd better give a real review , The hospitality was absolutely fantastic Gill was very welcoming greeting us with coffee and a warm chocolate brownie , we had a room over looking the river it was immaculately clean and decorated beautifully , modern and contemporary. Breakfast was lovely lots of choice and beautifully laid out dining room. The location was ideal for walking into the city centre and for getting to the train station. We had a really lovely Easter stay and couldn't fault our hosts and have booked again to stay in November.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a tacky, downtrodden 'Guest House' in the Magnificent city of York. A stay over Easter was really not worth the money. Alex was the most annoying 'Ive been everywhere' kind of knowall...if you've been somewhere, he's been there too, all delivered with a voice that really grates on your nerves, apparently, he was a bus driver and Gill was a housewife, so having 60 years in hospitality is a joke. Where these people get their experience is beyond me. I have travelled literally all over the world, including York, and the touches the couple put together for your arrival were patronizing as was their demeanour. Honestly, the alledged 10 minute walk from the station is around 20 according to the taxi driver and the walk into town is not for the faint hearted, if you have any kind of disability dont attempt it, use a taxi. The rooms were fusty, in need of some updating and although they look out onto the River, which is nice, the windows are disgusting and un-clean. I would not recommend this backward Guest house, there are far better in York for a more reasonable price and overall comfort standard. Give this b&b a miss, even though the other reportees eyes have been 'glazed over' by the owners, it is not worth your hard earned money.

Room Tip: Dont Stay Here, There are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill088, Owner at Abbey Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are utterly confounded by this review – or rather what seems a very personal attack on us – as it contains several factual inaccuracies and also is so out of balance with the other reviews that we have received.

Nowhere do we claim to have been in the hospitality business for 60 years – on the second page of our website we say that between us we have 60 years experience in customer service, which is entirely true – Alec owned a shop and then moved to being a coach driver for 15 years (so yes, he has a fair experience of travelling in Yorkshire, the UK and Europe when driving tours) and was then a bus driver. Gill has never been a housewife (really don’t know where that remark has come from) as she was a Solicitor for 20 years before buying the guest house.

Having said that, you don’t need ‘experience’ to run a B&B, many people go into it as a second career with a desire to provide a homely and welcoming environment for people visiting their local area – exactly what we hope we have done quite successfully for the last 7 years, and as our legions of repeat visitors prove.

We are astonished that our welcome of tea/coffee and homemade cake together with some genuine and tailored advice about what to do and see in York and where to eat is considered ‘patronizing’. How can homemade cake and tea be ‘patronizing’?? Visit Britain have always rated us very highly on our welcome to their incognito “Hotel Inspectors”, and we offer much more than many guest houses and hotels in the city offer by way of welcome – some places don’t even give their guests a map let alone homemade cake!

As to our location – from the train station by road it might take you 20 minutes to walk to us, but we provide walking directions down a footpath from the station which takes only 10 minutes and it is definitely only a 10 minute easy walk into the city centre – have a look on Google Maps to see where we are. We are one of the closest B&B’s to both the station and the centre and York is a very flat city, you can walk everywhere easily. These assertions about distances and difficulties are simply incorrect.

We are inspected yearly by Visit Britain and consistently for the last 5 years we have achieved a Four Star rating with a Silver Award for the quality of provision of our fixtures and fittings, cleanliness and general presentation. Our rooms are re-decorated from top to toe every 3 years and bedding and towels renewed yearly – this is much more frequently than many guest houses and hotels manage and we have always done this to try to maintain a high standard for our guests.

How we can ‘glaze over’ other people who have provided lovely reviews for us we don’t know – we are happy for people to put fair reviews on about us, but this one feels like a particularly spiteful and personal attack, rather than a fair review.

Have a look at our other reviews and make your own minds up about us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at the Abbey Guest House for 3 nights over Easter, it's on the banks of the river Ouse which runs through York. Situated in the perfect position just 10 minutes walk from York station and around 15 minutes from York town. The b&b is probably the best one we have ever stayed at, the bedroom we had (room 5) was spacious and very modern with tea and coffee making facilities central heating and comfortable beds with a decent quilt which we appreciated as it was very cold at night. The bathroom was modern and of a good size with a decent size shower enclosure.
The dining room was fairly small which meant we had to choose a time to come down for breakfast but was no problem. Breakfast was amazing with a choice of cereals and fruit juice or yoghurt and a good choice of cooked breakfast expertly cooked. This is the only place to stay in York and next time I'm in York I will definitely stay at The Abbey Guest House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eglinton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Abbey b&b is a beautiful guesthouse situated on the banks of the river Ouse which runs through York. On your arrival you will be greeted by Gill and Alex, who are the perfect hosts, you will be offered a refreshment and a little something to eat which, if you've had a long journey, will be most welcome. Speaking of "most welcome", did I say that you will be very happy with the Yorkshire welcome you will receive or in Alex's case Lancashire, (that's a private joke).
This guesthouse is extremely well run, so much so that it keeps my wife and myself returning year after year, simply because it makes our stay in the beautiful city of York a memorable one.

The guesthouse is right in it, and just far enough out of it that you will enjoy the peace and quiet. It's a treat to wake in the morning to the sight and sound of small boats cruising on the river, people cycling as they make their way to work and the banter of the folk who own the canal boats. After a full English breakfast which I cannot fault at all, you can walk out the front along the river walk for about 100 yards and you're at the gate to the Museum Gardens which I strongly recommend you visit on you're way into the city.

All in all if I were asked to score this b&b from 1-100, I'd have no problem giving Abbey guesthouse the full 100. Well done Gill and Alex on running a beautiful clean welcoming guesthouse, and thank you so much for making our stay with you a very happy one.

By the way just before I leave you, do try to book as early as you can, because others know exactly what I'm telling you and they like me don't want to miss out. I do hope you find this helpful and if you do, please take time to tick the wee box. Take good care and have a happy holiday in York.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are best, fantastic view over river Ouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Address: 14 Earlsborough Terrace, York YO30 7BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, friendly Guest House, located on the banks of the river Ouse, only five minutes walk from the city centre, York Minster, the Yorkshire Museum and gardens and the National Railway Museum. A short walk from both rail and bus stations and all of York's other main attractions. En-suite rooms overlooking the river with four poster beds. All rooms with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Quiet location with private car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Guest House Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.