We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Verdict in Favor of Judges Lodgings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Judges Lodging

Save Saved
You added The Judges Lodging to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Judges Lodging
9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 45 hotels in York
Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Verdict in Favor of Judges Lodgings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This B&B is in a great location - within walking distance to the train station and very close to York Minster, a museum, a shopping district, and Betty's Tea Room. We booked one of the large upper rooms which faces in the direction of the Minster. The receptionist was not overly informative when we first arrived but answered our questions later. There's a beautiful staircase to the upper floor and it could be challenging if your suitcase is heavy. The high ceilings and ornamentation give a sense of grandeur. Our room was very spacious with a good bed and it had a wonderfully modern bathroom which had a Jacuzzi tub and a good shower. Breakfast was very good with a hot breakfast that could be ordered and/or a buffet of cereals and rolls. A cozy pub is in the basement but they were out of the beers we requested. My only suggestion would be to add to the décor with a few more pictures, etc. in the guest rooms and provide more comfortable and attractive tables and chairs in the breakfast area. Overall we judged these lodgings as historic, comfortable and conveniently located.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and loved the old building that we have! We will be updating the rooms as part of our refurbishment in Jan 14 as well as adding eight extra rooms- the breakfast room is also going to be refurnished. I will pass on your kind feedback to the team and we hope to see you again if you are ever in York in the future.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    100
    36
    17
    17
See reviews for
42
182
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just arrived back from a 4 day stay here.
The room we had,number 5,was a bit too warm on some occasions due to heating hid under the flooring but was a really clean and lovely room.
An excellent place to stay for a York visit but not if you have a car,no parking !
If you enjoy a hearty breakfast then this place is not for you,neither if you use the Cellar Bar for a steak,well I say steak more of a slither of hard overcooked meat!
The best place for an evening meal was Cafe Rouge nearby.
We would stay here agin travelling by train as we have learnt that you need to eat shortly after breakfast :-)
The Manager was a lovely Geordie guy who knows the area very well but the other staff seem to be just there to earn there wage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review of your stay with us recently. I am disappointed to read that you didn’t enjoy your steak – we would happily have cooked a fresh one for you if it wasn’t cooked as you like it if you had let us know. We do offer unlimited continental selections for breakfast as well as a cooked selection so I’m not sure how you didn’t feel that you were offered enough to eat? I will certainly pass on your feedback to the team and I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying at the Judge's Lodgings. We stayed in the old part of the building, in 2 rooms: room 1 is a 'character room' - exactly as described, large enough to be comfortable, with a refurbished bathroom and furnished well to give a sense of the age and significance of the building; room 8 at the top of the house had a great view of the minster and the walls, also a refurbished bathroom and lovely old furniture. All clean and neat but with a lovely sense of faded grandeur. The location couldn't be better. Right in the heart of York and ten minutes walk from the station. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast very nice. I understand they are doing a major refurbish in the new year - go before then if you like genuine shabby chic!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review and it’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were well looked after by the team. Most guests like the contrast between the modern bathroom and classic furnished bedrooms which really are in keeping with the original style of the house. We do have major refurbishment plans for the cellar bar and 8 new bedrooms starting in Jan 14 so please watch our website for more details and we hope to see you back with us soon!

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night Bed and Breakfast at The Judges Lodgings in York during early October 2013, as a mini-treat. The hotel is located in the center of the City, so our only 'down side' when booking was the uncertainty of where to park and finding our way around the inner ring road/bridge closures - However, parking didn't cause a problem to us in the end, and the hotel staff were helpful in offering car park location advice and discounted parking passes.

On arrival we found the entrance and welcome from the staff really lovely, the decor was tasteful and the facilities clean, the receptionist was friendly and chatty whilst efficiently checking us in. I liked the high ceilings and original fixtures/fittings which were grand but understated. The traditional winding staircase to the bedrooms is lovely, but may be an issue for those requiring wheelchair/push chair access - best to double check!

The room we were initially shown to had a problem with the lighting tripping out, as such we were hastily offered an alternative, which appeared to be an upgrade, including a jacuzzi bath and giant super-king-sized bed. The room was comfortable and well equipped. Nice soft linen and large towels, which I always look out for when 'paying for staying' anywhere.

The only minor issues with the second room was that there appeared to be a broken floor tile near the bathroom entrance and as the shower door was a little ill-fitting I ended up mopping up the flood it caused; it's probably the leaky shower that's causing the tiles to come loose!

For our evening meal we chose to dine outside of the hotel as we had a reservation at a different restaurant, but on our return the night staff had arranged for our bottle of bubbly (which we'd only asked to be chilled) to be sent in an ice-bucket to our room along with champagne flutes and complimentary brownie nibbles - I was really pleased with these little touches that helped to make our evening more special.

Breakfast was very tasty and the choices varied. The serving staff were polite, friendly and helpful - they even came around the dining room with a basket of fresh choc au pain so that we could sample them while warm - yummy!

I would definitely recommend The Judges Lodgings to others planning to stay in York. It's ideally located for shopping and is close to the Minster and Train Station too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind and comprehensive review of your stay with us. We like to go the extra mile at any opportunity and I wholeheartedly agree that it's these little touches that really make a stay stand out.

We have 8 new bedrooms being added in Jan 14 and this will mean we do have a range of rooms on ground floor level with easier access if required. Please accept my apologies for the electrical issue in your room and I’m pleased it didn’t impact your stay and that the team did their utmost to rectify the situation. We are having lots of electrical work upgraded as part of the refurbishment so that this sort of thing shouldn’t happen. I will pass on your review to the team- I’m delighted you found everyone warm and friendly- and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed there when Thwaites had just taken it over (infact probably within a couple of days). It was a special occasion for us - but nobody cared to tell us that there would be no cooked breakfast and no beer cellar as advertised. They did put on a buffet breakfast of very poor standard.

The most disappointing thing though - was when we wrote to complain about our stay, nobody even had the decency to reply. We appreciate that times can be difficult from time to time but given the shocking state of the place when we visited, I would of thought they could of at last responded to us.

The staff were polite at the time, the room was Ok but tired.

WE CERTAINLY WOULD NOT BOOK THE PLACE AGAIN

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We took over the Judges in November last year as you point out and I think it’s fair to say there were a few teething issues as we had to close down the bar and restaurant immediately to allow some refurbishment work to take place to allow us to trade properly.

I am disappointed to hear that you were not contacted after writing in and can only apologise as we pride ourselves in responding to all guest feedback in a timely manner. We have some grand refurbishment plans for the Judges starting in Jan 2014 so please be assured that the circumstances you experienced will never happen again. If you would like to get in touch with me privately at the hotel I will happily discuss this with you further. Many thanks again.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This small central hotel is set back from the street, and is accessed through a garden with tables and chairs, and then up a double stair. The rooms are large, some with elaborate moldings. Decor simple. The breakfast room is rather bleak. Bedrooms are reached by different stairs, so if you are booking 2 rooms, they may be some distance apart. Our one, number 2, was most unusual, and not to everyones taste. The large room had a 9 foot partition, beyound which on one side was the bathroom, with parts, except the WC, visable from the bed, and anyone entering the room. On the other side was a small area with a 2 seater sofa and the tea and coffee tray. Really rather misleading for those expecting " en suite". Staff were pleasant and helpful. The associated bar/restaurant was down the stairs and reached though the garden. Altogether an enjoyablde stay, and we would be happy to go again.

Room Tip: Avoid no 2, which was expensive for what was provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay and its great to hear that you would stay with us again! Room 2 is rather unique and some guests prefer a more traditional bathroom set up- I would recommend room 3 which is one of the original bedrooms of the house and has a similar Minster view to room 2. We have grand plans to refurbish the whole building starting early next year and the breakfast room will be a part of this- the room is lovely in the summer with the sun shining through. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in York.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We found the restaurant by chance and we were so impressed that we ate there the two nights we were in York.
We used the fixed menu and were lucky enough to be there on the Wednesday wine evening, which gave us the very good house red, one bottle between two.
The food is simple but very good and the surroundings are fun.
I am returning to York with my wife next month and we shall certainly use it.

Room Tip: We did not use the hotel, only the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and also for dining with us twice! I’m delighted to hear you were well looked after and enjoyed our food- I will certainly pass this onto the chefs. We don’t try and overcomplicate our menu- just simple dishes cooked very well and freshly prepared. The wine deal is proving popular too. We look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in York
#9 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a grade 1 listed Georgian townhouse built in the early 1700's and originally a Doctor's house before becoming a Judges Lodging - from which the bar,hotel and restaurant now takes its name. Extensively refurbished in time for July 2014, the Judges has 21 individually styled bedrooms, an original vaulted cellar bar,first floor dining and drinking and also 2 fabulous outside areas- quite unique within the centre of York.With a fabulous location in the shadows of the Minster, we offer a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome to guests from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Judges Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.