We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value overall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Judges Lodging

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Judges Lodging to your Saves list
The Judges Lodging
9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in York
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very well located for exploring the city, the hotel itself is a handsome Georgian townhouse with some very fine period features inside. There were some downsides: the bedroom, right at the top and at the side of the building, overlooked a car park. This wasn't really a problem visually because it was so high up, plus there was also a great view of the Minster (it wasn't billed as a Minster view room either). However, because the night of the stay it happened to be hot, I had to open the window (no air con) and noise from early morning delivery vans was a bit irksome. The bedroom itself (a "classic double") had little in the way of period features, but it had character simply because it was an attic room (there were 3 or 4 stairs inside the room leading from the door up to the rest of the room, which added interest). Quite a few of the bathroom floor tiles were loose, and there was one bit right next to the toilet which had been stuck down, the offending black duct tape hidden by a shower mat. Also, the bathroom mirror light came on automatically when it sensed someone was in the bedroom, let alone the bathroom, which could be a bit annoying. In fact it was so sensitive that even when you were turning in bed it would come on (which, in the middle of the night, led me to wonder whether one of the judges had come back on a visit). But shutting the bathroom door solved the problem. There were one or two other bits around the hotel which suggested it could do with a bit of TLC - the carpet throughout the hotel suffered from stains here and there - but this didn't really detract from the beauty of the interior (the staircase is magnificent). Good breakfast. Friendly staff too. All in all, an enjoyable stay and ideal for a mini-break. Just a few minor maintenance issues which could do with ironing out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased you found the location perfect for your stay and the team warm and friendly. The room that you stayed in is quite a quirky room and we are planning to replace the cracked tiles imminently. We have had a really warm summer this year and we have definitely learnt that this grand old building absorbs all of the heat throughout the day and makes the rooms on the top floor warm through the night. We have bought fans for the rooms and we are looking to buy something more effective for next summer (fingers crossed it is as good as this one!). We hope to see you again and Im pleased you enjoyed your mini break in York.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    138
    55
    21
    20
See reviews for
56
243
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We walked past this place on the way back to our hotel after having a pizza that was inedible at an italian restaurant in York,the outside was packed with people eating their meals it all looked very nice so we decided to go the next evening. We arrived at 9pm and could see it had been very busy,we found a table and ordered the lamb for my husband and steak and ale pie for myself, the waitress service was excellent. We were both a bit dubious after the meal the night before, no need, WHAT A LITTLE GEM this place is.Credit to the chef , the lamb was mouthwatering and my husband who only eats lamb said it was the best he had ever tasted and the pie was done to perfection.We decided to have a dessert platter to share,once again it didn't disappoint.We will definately go back when we next visit York.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Many thanks for your glowing review of your visit with us! I have already passed on your kind words to the team – especially the kitchen team and I am delighted that you found our food so enjoyable. We have had a very busy summer and the outside area has been really popular with passers by. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in York - if you need somewhere to stay we have some great rooms at competitive rates too!

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a review of the bar and not the lodgings.

Extensive range on the menu with prices in line with what you come to expect from York. Food was more gastro orientated.

Food served very quickly by polite waitress and was hot.

Bar staff very friendly.

Excellent location, you can sit and watch the world go by! from courtyard.

The only downer was the chips. Home made food should be accompanied by home made chips and not those match sticks McDonalds also serve.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of our cellar bar and outside area and I am delighted to read you were well looked after by our team and enjoyed our menu,service and location! The skinny fries we serve have been really popular over the summer but I recognise that many guests also like “proper” chips too so I will pass onto our chefs to help them with their autumn menu planning.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

only discovered this place recently, have been visiting almost once a week as we really enjoy our visits. we have only eaten once but the food was good. I think if the winter menu is good and has a good choice of dishes it would fit perfectly with the cosy feel of the inside of the building. I know there is a refurb due here later in the year for dinning upstairs which i think has a lot of potential. the staff are pleasant. There is a waitress whom is foreign, dark hair, she is very friendly and outgoing. The beer garden at the front is really nice, shame about things falling from the tree constantly! overall - good food, good service, great location, shouldnt be disappointed if you go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Firstly many thanks for your review and recommendation and secondly it’s great to hear you are visiting us regularly! I think the waitress you have mentioned is Licia so I will pass on your kind words to her- I agree with everything you say and she is a real asset to our team! We are about to start work on our Autumn menu so please watch our website for more updates- in the meantime we hope to see you again enjoying the last few weeks of summer in the front garden.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed for one night to explore the city with my family. This is a difficult place to review for me, as a very strange atmosphere prevails- it felt neither like a hotel nor a b&b. The house itself has great potential; yet it seems as if some money has been injected into furnishing the rooms but not the public spaces. The corridors through to our room (a so-called feature room with separate sitting area) were in dire need of recarpeting and redecorating. We passed through a bar area as well as a lounge area, both with worn out soft furnishings. From other reviewers' photos I can see that if you get a room with high ceilings, your stay will be more pleasant than in eg. our room, 11, which was very dark with low ceilings; it felt like an old storage area and was overlooking the bins. The staff were pleasant and tried hard, but the girl on reception was also serving breakfast....so I'm not sure about the whole concept here. The location however is perfect, right at the entrance to the old city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with high ceilings. Avoid room 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review of your stay with us. I am pleased you found the location perfect for exploring York! We are currently awaiting planning permission to carry out an extensive refurbishment of the building internally which will include all public walkways and public areas. As we are a grade1 listed building this is quite a time consuming process but please be assured that we have all of these jobs in hand.

The room that you stayed in is in the “newer” part of the hotel which is still nearly 200 years old so does not have the period features of some of the rooms in the original house but does have additional space once inside - guests are of course more than welcome to request rooms when they book if they see a room that is more appealing.

We do have quite a “hands on” team here so sometimes we may appear to be carrying out several jobs in order to make sure guests are looked after as best as possible! Going forward after our refurbishment, our concept will be very much a fantastic pub with cosy rooms and great service - please watch our website for more information. We very much hope to fulfil our potential after this has all happened and it would be great to see you again so you can see all of this in action!

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here this week and thought the hotel was lovely. Good value for the price we paid. Location was excellent. Rooms were lovely, tastefully decorated with lots of extras like iPod dock, DVD player, jacuzzi bath was a nice touch too. The bed was HUGE. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room. The hotel had thought of little extras like a book exchange and there were DVDs you could borrow too.

My only gripe (and the reason I didn't give 5 stars) was the lack of staff on the front desk. Don't get me wrong when they were there they couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming but we waited at least 15 minutes to speak to one of them but nobody came, we even rang the number as per the sign on the front desk but still nobody came. Its the first hotel I have been in where there isn't someone on front desk permanently and I don't think it worked.

Other than that I would love to visit this hotel and York again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for writing such a nice review of your room. I am really sorry that the desk was not manned when you were waiting to check in- we do try and get to our guests as soon as they call from the desk so I will look into this with the team as 15 minutes is not acceptable. We look forward to welcoming you again and please follow our refurbishment news on our website to keep up to date with all of our latest developments.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at The Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I can only review the cellar bar as we did not stay in the lodgings.

Walked past this on the way to the York Museum and decided to have lunch on the way back.

Really nice courtyard to sit outside in and watch the world go by. As the weather was good it was very busy but there seemed to be plenty of staff to cope and tables and glasses were cleared quickly.

Ordered food at the bar and this arrived without much waiting. Good quality and one of the best Beef in ale pies I have ever had, very good mash and gravy also. We sat inside due to all the tables being full outside then went outside and sat in the courtyard on the wall and had a few drinks.

Really chilled afternoon and would revisit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Nick James - Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for calling in to see us and thank you for your kind review! The front garden has been extremely busy and is a great place to get out of the hustle and bustle for a while. I have passed on your kind words to the kitchen about your food and also to the rest of the team about the front of house service. We hope to see you again next time you are passing.

Kind regards,
Nick James - Manager and all the team at the Judges Lodgings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in York
#9 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a grade 1 listed Georgian townhouse built in the early 1700's and originally a Doctor's house before becoming a Judges Lodging - from which the bar,hotel and restaurant now takes its name. Extensively refurbished in 2014, the Judge's Lodging has 21 individually styled bedrooms, an original vaulted cellar bar,first floor dining and drinking and also 2 fabulous outside areas- quite unique within the centre of York! With a fabulous location in the shadows of the Minster, we offer a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome to guests from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Judges Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.