We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excerlent in every respect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tassili - CLOSED

Tassili
26 Fishergate | York, York YO10 4AE, England
01904 655 205
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Peel, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excerlent in every respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had the most amazing meal in this moroccan restaurant last week. My husband and our friends were treated to a cascade of north african flavours and smells everything was delicious and cooked and presented with such care. The beautifully decorated restaurant with its sweet smell of incense transported us to an exotic world just for the night. With wonderful service and really friendly staff the chef recounted some of his great knowledge of cooking with african spices and even gave me some of. His own special blend. Wonderful eating experience will definatly be going again when next in york mr and mrs walmsley peel isle of man j

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    16
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pre-concert meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The most delicately flavoured Tagine I have ever tasted...... excellent ! My partner had the lamb I had chicken marinated with lemon and coriander with cous cous.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place looks rubbish on the outside but as soon as you get in it is really nicely decorated.
The decor is all morroccan with incence and nice lottle furniture. The waiter was attentive, friendly and helpfull.
We had a shared starter of bread an olives which was very genorous and tasty.
We both had a tagine which was very substantial and considering the quality and quantity of food was quite reasonable at ��12 per main.
Food came really quickly and was really nice!!

The only bad thing i could say about this place was that it doesnt sell itself from the outside!

Defo worth a trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant, Great Service, Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We visited this lovely little restaurant while on a weekend away.

The smell of incense and the furnishings made it look and feel very authentic.

The waitress was a lovely lady who was very attentive without being obtrusive. Me and my partner both had tangine dishes - the lamb & meatball ones. Both were delicious. The Homemade creme Brulee was possibly the best I have tasted & the honey & mint tea was lovely too.

£15 each for a main meal but worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Moroccan food in York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We visited Tassili on a Saturday in August with parents having heard good things about the food from friends.
We weren't disappointed, the food was excellent and service good. Each of us ordered a different tagine, all were different and tasted great, also portions were huge. We had a couple of starters to share, 4 mains, a bottle of wine and a beer, all for c£100.
The only disappointing thing was that we were almost the only people in the restaurant - such a shame given the great quality.
We will definitely be back soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tassili also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tassili, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.