We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Course needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Lakeside Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Lakeside Lodges
Save
You added Paradise Lakeside Lodges to your Saves list
Ballhall Lane | Storwood, York YO42 4TD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 37 Specialty Lodging in York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Customer Service Course needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend in the Wood View VIP.
As a group of 3 professional couples in our 30s and 40s we booked the lodge for a birthday break.
Only 4 of us could travel early enough to check in but on arrival the reception staff were very helpful and chatty. The reception is more a glass window in an angling shop, selling bait etc.
We were offered complimentary chocolates which consisted off a box of After Eights or 3 Walnut Whips or wine which was a bottle of Charlemagne and told that we shouldn't use the hot tub after 11pm.
We went into the lodge and although it's not technically a wooden lodge and more of a large upvc clad mobile home it was very nice, light and airy.
As we weren't allowed to check in until 4pm we weren't in there too long before we left to go into York to a restaurant reservation we had made.
The other couple in our party met us there as they had to work and then travel afterwards.
When we arrived back to the lodge 4 of us thought it would be nice to relax in the hot tub (which isn't on the verandah where you would expect but around the back of the lodge on a muddy piece of grass) we got changed and got in. We were sat in the hot tub chatting and lost track of the time. We soon found out though when we saw someone walking towards us with a torch which was quite unnerving as it is very dark round there with just the lights of the hot tub for lighting. The lady that had earlier checked us in stuck her head over the fence and shouted in her best School Headmistress voice 'Did I not make myself clear when you checked in!' like we were naughty school children and not paying guests. We asked what time it was and she told us it was half past 11 and that she had already been rung with 2 complaints. I'm not sure who would have complained as the nearest lodge was quite far away and when I checued in I hadn't been given any contact number to complain to. The other 2 occupants of our lodge hadn't heard us speaking outside either. So I am assuming that you aren't allowed to sit outside and speak after 11 even if you're not in the hot tub in case you disturb the night fishermens peace.
Her whole manner put a bit of a dampener in the weekend and I would have understood if we had been asked politely first or had been rowdy drunks but we were sat drinking tea!
Our opinion is that this has been a place that has been used to having fishermen sit quietly by the lake and enjoys catering to that clientele. It doesn't want to or like it but is trying to bring in extra cash by installing a hot tub and calling the lodge VIP although there is nothing inside to make it stand out as VIP. No welcome pack, no towels, 2 toilet rolls between 6 of us for 2 nights, a sugar pot with some old damp sugar in and a tea caddy with 2 tea bags don't exactly make it VIP.
I think the staff need to go on a customer Service course as that one sentence has cost them any future business they would have got from us or our families individually. Reading in the comments book at the lodge would seem to back up my thoughts as some other people appear to have been branded yobs and the manager has even rudely replied to some negative comments!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona E, Owner at Paradise Lakeside Lodges, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Mrs Sharman

It is important that facts on trip advisor are helpful and true. The reception doubles up as an office with a sliding glass window and a small area at the side offering information and vacuumed packed fishing supplies. The lodge is clad in a timber know in the lodge industry as cherry wood. The balcony is made of a serviceable modern UPVC material widely used in the holiday industry, and has been well proven over the years against wooden balconies.

The jacuzzi is situated on a paved area surrounded by a lawn with fence panels around for privacy there is also an extra outside light on the lodge to light this area up.

The 11.00 o'clock rule is made for the harmonious coexistence of the human race and our other guests. Due to the noise of the jacuzzi people do not realize how loud they are unfortunately you were loud at a later time stated in the rules.

I do apologize for the manner in which my manageress dealt with the situation a more professional and polite approach would have been far better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked this as a base for a week whilst looking for a quiet week of relaxation and preparing for a family wedding in York ,have to say what a great choice. My sons and I all like to spend time fishing as a family so this seemed ideal for our needs , we weren't disappointed . The site is first class , very rural but not so far away from civilisation to make you feel isolated ,the facilities are excellent and the fishing is fabulous. We had booked a three bedroom lodge which also benefited from having a hot tub, OMG what a treat, it's was fab.
The cabin itself was very well equipped ,tastefully and well decorated and very comfortable, well worth a visit.
There are two good fishing lakes one of which is for residents only and the second can also be used for one for day ticket fishing , both contain some very sizeable fish which provide great sport. The owners have just invested in a new concept of installing fishing accommodation PODS which will go online very shortly,there are ideal for those looking for a long weekend fishing or just a base for other sporting activities.
One point to mention , albeit you may be a resident there is a charge of £20 per person for fishing.
If your looking for a really picturesque and relaxing location , give it a try, it's worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week in August 2013 - it was excellent. On arrival we were greeted by Karen the manager who was very helpful. The site was very peaceful and relaxing, but close enough to York to visit all the main attractions.

Accommodation was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with a well equipped kitchen. Would defiantly recommend to other and will be back again very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We've just returned from our second week in the Lakeside Lodge. As before, very friendly reception, and lovely, quiet site.
The main attraction of this place is that it IS so quiet and tranquil. There aren't too many lodges to fight for places around the lakes, and evenings are lovely and peaceful. It is a little off the beaten track, but again, this adds to the appeal.
The worrying development is that there were a number of 'pods' waiting to be put into place, which resulted in a little building work/digging whilst we were there. Luckily, this was minimal, but I feel sorry for folk who had their summer idyll interrupted with building noise. The main worry is that this will lead to too many people being on site - yes, it will increase income, but at what expense?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

just got back from another stay here ,it just gets better each time we visit.the fishing is improving all the time {perhaps that is me getting better at it}the grounds are looking brilliant and now they are adding some glamping pods around one of the lakes for next season i might try one out next year.i will be back as soon as i can.

Room Tip: all the lodges look out onto the lake so you cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

8 of us stayed here for a friends birthday in June and what a brilliant weekend we had! We stayed in Kinfisher house which had 5 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, all of which were very modern with one having a steam shower and one having a jacuzzi bath. The kitchen was well equipped with oven, toaster and microwave and a bbq outside. There was also plenty for us to do as the house had several games and a games room with snooker table and cinema projection screen with various DVDs! There was a huge garden to the rear and with the lovely weather we took advantage of playing outside! I couldnt recomend this lodge enough!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in Kingfisher house which sleeps 10. House was very spacious with 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and a good living space, including a games and cinema room (which was very popular with all ages) - bring your favourite DVDs and watch them on the big screen. The kitchen was well equipped and the house has lots of books and games. Remember to bring bath towels and hand towels as well as toiletries, kitchen stuff (inc bin liners and dishwasher tabs). A lovely house, not too far from York. Only thing is that curtains in some rooms are very thin and it was hard to get kids to sleep in light rooms (and they woke up early). Otherwise, Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Lakeside Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Lakeside Lodges

Address: Ballhall Lane | Storwood, York YO42 4TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Specialty Lodging in York
Number of rooms: 21

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Lakeside Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.