We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very busy, average food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lowther

The Lowther
8 Cumberland Street, York YO1 9SW, England
01904 622 987
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #471 of 712 Restaurants in York
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Dessert, International, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Very busy, average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went to York on a lovely sunny day. Decided to eat outside near the river and chose the Lowther, as it was in a perfect position. Had a little wait for a table, but being a lovely day wasn't a problem. The staff were attentive, but not enough staff for so many tables. Drinks and food ordered and served quickly. Good service, average food but at a good price, but the location was fantastic, right next to the river.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    39
    24
    18
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Be prepared to wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Lovely location by the river, we were quickly shown to a table and drinks order taken. We ordered our food when the drinks arrived and it took an hour for our main courses to be served. We ordered King Prawns with sweet chilli drip which were served with salad and very nice, pie of the day, chicken and bacon, which was covered with puff pastry (very dry-needed sauce), carrots, peas, and really greasy chips which were soggy, looked like they had been waiting to be served for ages and covered in gravy. I would not eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Would love to spend a day training the staff!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I think my title says it all, as does previous reviews. This place is in a great location by the river but the team just let it down. Simple tasks like making sure everyone has cutlery or bringing the food out at the same time, clearing the tables,are not getting done. Food was as expected it to be from the vast menu, microwaveable but edible.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lunch in the sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Beautiful setting overlooking the river and bathed in sunshine. Food reasonably priced and good service - no tables left when we arrived but we were found one quickly. Food not a la carte but good basic pub grub and enjoyable none the less

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Its a little on the high side for drinks price wise staff seem to be a little fed up but this didnt stop me going back the views when sitting outside are lovely and very relaxing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lowther also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Lowther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lowther, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.