We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The York Dungeon

The York Dungeon
12 Clifford St., York YO1 9RD, England
+44 1904 632599
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$16*
and up
Skip the Line: The York Dungeon
Ranked #17 of 116 Attractions in York
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With a full cast of brilliant actors, 11 shows, rich sets and special effects, we'll take you on a unique 70 minute journey through 2000 years of York's murky past. Come with us and meet York's most infamous villains, rogues and rascals. Now with even funnier scripts and revamped shows, costumes and sets, we're York's must-see attraction in 2013!
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The actors were wonderful and we had a laugh as well as jumping several times! Found out loads about York and its history I didn't know before and the audience participation was great! I do think it is a little overpriced but you can usually always get BOGOF tickets anyways!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    439
    167
    56
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fun, but not for kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a great time at York dungeons, the actors were great and i loved the audience participation. Lots of laughs and a few frights.
I suggest looking for a money off voucher or booking online for a discount as the on-the-door price is a little much, for an hours entertainment.
They advertise as not being suitable for under 10's but there's no way i'd take my 11 yr old, Grown men and women were too scared to 'go first' through doors (me included).
All in all i'd thoroughly recommend this to adults looking for a bit of a giggle while learning about the more gruesome aspects of Yorks history .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Spent a fun 70 mins in York Dungeons. Actors were very good, quite believable and threw in a few surprises. Many laughs and a few scares though were expecting more. Didn't expect to be taking part myself. Didn't like the photos before we entered as there was no choice. Booked a joint ticket online with Yorkboats so made a good saving.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great interaction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Great way to spend some time finding out about the past in york. Performers were great. Really interactive. Pity people are so rude especiaky when trying to go round in wheelchsair. Staff very helpful. Can be very expensive if you don't use vouchers. Plenlty on offer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing, lacking and to old”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Went here as been to blackpool dungeons and loved it. But here actors were rubbish forgeting lines and not getting into caractor. I understand yorks is older and have to work with what theyve got but they could make up for it as they tell the story. They were just talking normally and didnt make me believe. They make u jump a few times by shouting at you but thats it.blackpool is brilliant as the actors are really good at there job and the props are so much better. Yorks needs money spent on props etc to update it to make it less tacky.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YorkDungeon, Marketing Executive at The York Dungeon, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear jillys678,

Many thanks for your comments and feedback from your visit to the York Dungeons.

The lower dungeon was recently refurbished early 2013 and the upstairs and exit/shop areas are to be looked at during 2014/15. Obviously this takes time and each year we hope to make improvements to ensure visitor enjoyment.

I have passed on your comments to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The York Dungeon also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The York Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The York Dungeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.