We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely look at the history of York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yorkshire Museum

Yorkshire Museum
Museum St | Museum Gardens, York YO1 7FR, England
01904 687687
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$57*
and up
The York Pass
Ranked #50 of 116 Attractions in York
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to some of the richest archaeological finds in Europe, this museum chronicles more than 1,000 years of Yorkshire's heritage from elegant Roman jewelry and mosaics to Viking treasures and Anglo-Saxon silver.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A lovely look at the history of York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The original gaolers cells and the presentations from various in mates give an insight into how the city used to operate. The 'street' then shows how York developed and was seen from Victorian times through to the late decades of the 20th Century. Kids today won't start to appreciate what they have until they see what their predecessors had (or didn't!)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    90
    63
    24
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nicely presented, modern displays, a bit too child-oriented for my liking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good Roman artefacts, well-displayed.

the habit of not fully describing cabinet contents is irritating. instead you have to pick up a lever-arch file, thumb through it until you find a description of the items in the relevant case - much better to have each case of objects individually labelled.

as usual there were crowds of squawking kids running around - I must learn to phone in advance to avoid such clashes.

too many displays are designed to appeal to kids. as I have said before, I do not believe that children enjoy museums and their pleasure often spoils mine - keep the dressing up in togas and sword play for other places, is my view.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Airy, instructive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

You walk into the Museum through the evocative gardens including Roman and medieval ruins. The whole place has been renovated with much thought and grace. The individual artefacts are displayed tastefully in a series of cleanly decorated and labelled galleries. The current Richard III exhibition, including the monarch's reconstructed head, is not to be missed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a waste”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Went here last year a thought it was very good. This year they have decided to cater for children only with a very dumbed down approach. Even the children were all bored and running about the place playing catch!! Don't bother much better places to go in York.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Visited this morning and staff were really considerate as we were carrying heavy bags so they stored them for us while we looked around. Everything was set out very well in a clean and pleasant environment. Perhaps Richard the third could have had a bigger display and more information but still enjoyed what was on offer. The gardens surrounding the museum are lovely (and free) and we spent quite a bit of time strolling and photographing St Mary's Abbey. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We bought the combined ticket which included entrance to York Castle Museum for £10 and cosidered it a bargain especially as we are now entitled to visit as often as we want for the next 12 months.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yorkshire Museum also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Yorkshire Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yorkshire Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.