We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Displays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yorkshire Museum

Yorkshire Museum
Museum St., York YO1 7FR, England
44-1904-551800
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 132 attractions in York
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Home to some of the richest archaeological finds in Europe, this museum chronicles more than 1,000 years of Yorkshire's heritage from elegant Roman jewelry and mosaics to Viking treasures and Anglo-Saxon silver.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Displays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

In my opinion, the better of the two major museums in the city, purely because it is smaller and lighter and set in the most beautiful grounds, a treat in their own right on a good day. The museum covers the history of the city, with informative placards and even files showing what is in each of the glass display cases. There are "video diaries" of characters from the displays and a film of the history of york in a wonderful lecture theatre. Displays are well labelled and there are interactive areas for children (and adults!) to dress up in costume, make a mosaic etc. Your ticket enables you to return free for a 12 month period, if you plan to visit again, and you can purchase a joint ticket to the Castle Museum at the same time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    69
    50
    23
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“£20 Deal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Take advantage of this 2 Adult Deal and return as many times as you like to both The Yorkshire and The Castle museums. Valid for a year costing £20 its an absolute bargain plus the kids go free.
We particularly enjoyed the Timeline of York in a surprisingly large cinema, a totally unexpected welcome break before cracking on with many incredible finds.Some of the exhibits are unique, the whole experience is well worth the money.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Family-friendly history museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Beautiful location within the museum gardens with some atmospheric ruins around the Yorkshire Museum is a family-friendly history museum with a rich collection about the history of York. The museum concept / timeline is not always easy to follow but there are some fun activities for children and some interesting exhibits from the rich history of York and its surroundings throughout the ages. The section about the natural world seems less successful and not as relevant, a bit more focus and a clearer concept would be helpful. Some of the activities like dressing up in historic costume or building a roman mosaic are fun for the family though. Very friendly staff.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Recommended - a most interesting and child friendly museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having lived on York's doorstep for many years, I am ashamed to say that despite many visits to York, I had never visited the Yorkshire Museum, but I am very glad that I eventually did today - it was so very interesting and even though we did not have any children with us, it was a pleasure to see others really enjoying a hands on experience.

The brief video of York through the last 800 years was a good taster of what York has to offer in the way of history - obviously we know about the Romans and the Vikings but it doesn't begin or end there!. The exhibits were very well presented and documented and the museum is quite compact and also disabled friendly with a lift and ramps.

We shall certainly return - with our grandchildren next time, as I am sure they will enjoy the interaction with the many exhibits.

Good value at £10 is the ticket which includes the Castle Museum as well as the Yorkshire Museum - it can be used for a full year with as many visits as you would like to make to both museums, and children are free. Extremely good value for money!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Another must see museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Built around the ruins of the old monastery with exibits from york and the surrounding area a very interesting place in which the staff were so helpful with any questions that were asked even if they didn't know the answer they found out

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yorkshire Museum also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Yorkshire Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yorkshire Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yorkshire Museum to your Saves list