We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of York Castle Museum

York Castle Museum
Eye of York-, York YO1 9RY, England
01904 687687
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$57*
and up
The York Pass
Ranked #3 of 116 Attractions in York
Type: Castles, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You'll wonder, "how did they manage to survive?" when visiting this living-history museum, which features everyday life during Victorian and Edwardian England in fine detail.
Pattingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The museum has two sides, North and South, The North side is mainly "through the ages" and the South is mainly military and the prison. The prison is very well done with motion activated video projectors that show the person who would have "lived" in the cell talking about their experiences.
Well worth a visit

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,844
    731
    175
    47
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Worth the trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have fond memories of the Castle Museum from my childhood, and some of that I recognised on the return visit - particularly the Victorian street, which is done very well and still developing. The first half of the museum was much as I remembered, a traditional museum and maybe a tad dated - but still interesting. However there seems to have been much more development in the second half which I thought worked really well. The 1960s street was great, and a good contrast to the Victorian earlier, but the best bit for me was the jail. This has now really come with prisoners 'in situ' and telling their story as you go round.
All in all, worth the trip and a pleasant way to spend a couple of hours in York.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

I took my four grandchildren here for a day out, their review is they loved it and can't wait to go back. Adult tickets are valid for a year children are free so very good value for money. A lot of very interesting exhibits well presented and maintained. One of dozens of ways in York to occupy yoursel but well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Again what can I say just a great place for anyone who loves history, I would return any time any year every year if I could

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good childhood fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I love this museum and have been coming here since I was a child but this was my first visit in over 10 years. One of my favourite things is the terrible machines that you put 20p in and they play out a little scene using mini dolls and a variety of other stuff. While other museums try hard to update and get more trendy computer based activities, the Castle Museum remains true to form and provides a much more exciting visit. Do not miss the recreation of the street that is similar to the Shambles, makes you feel like you are in Diagon Alley. My advice miss out some of the other attractions and go to the Castle Museum.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed York Castle Museum also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Castle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage York Castle Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.