We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treasurer's House

Treasurer's House
Minster Yard, York YO1 7JL, England
44-1904-624247
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 116 Attractions in York
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step through 2,000 years of history with one visit to this house of dreams, where rooms are set up and furnished to mirror the grand styles from medieval times to the early 1900's.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our afternoon in the Treasurer's House. The staff all the way round were incredibly helpful and able to answer all our questions. Wish we had more time to do the cellar and attic tours but will have to return another time for those. Had afternoon tea in the tea room which was again lovely!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    226
    37
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Interesting, informative guides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We visited here as we are members of the National Trust, and as we were in York, we thought it would be rude not to!
The property is quite deceptive, it doesn't look very big from the outside, but there are lots of rooms and things to see. The guides in each room are informative, and full of facts about the property and its previous owner Frank Green. The decor is quite dark, some of the rooms can seem a little dingy, but it was all very interesting none the less.
My only criticism - the cellar tour. It was an extra £2.24 each, and it consisted of a walk down a very small (if you're claustrophobic, maybe have a re-think) tunnel, into a small room in which the guide proceeded to tell us about Roman ghosts. I don't think it was worth the extra money.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Go for the cellar tour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I really enjoyed a few hours at the Treasurer's House. We paid extra for the cellar ghost tour which was made really enjoyable by the great oratory skills of the National Trust tour guide. Try the delicious scones in the downstairs tea room - delicious!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My sister & I spent the an hour or so looking around.The guides in the rooms were knowledgeable ,friendly& easy to talk to.
The cafe down stairs was lovely,the scones were to die for!Also polite,friendly staff & great service.
We went on the Ghost cellar tour,very interesting,I'll say no more in case I spoil it,but I kept my eyes firmly on the wall!!
My only niggle was,why not just do both tours for one all in price(also an attic tour,didn't do this so can't comment on what its like)
Thoroughly enjoy house.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“interesting worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

really interesting, did the cellar tour well worth it. good cafe on site.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treasurer's House also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Treasurer's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasurer's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.