We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Treasurer's House

Treasurer's House
Minster Yard, York YO1 7JL, England
44-1904-624247
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 213 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step through 2,000 years of history with one visit to this house of dreams, where rooms are set up and furnished to mirror the grand styles from medieval times to the early 1900's.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“interesting worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

really interesting, did the cellar tour well worth it. good cafe on site.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    245
    42
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Interesting Period House and Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We are NT members so did not have to pay for entry. We could have done an additional attic or cellar tour, with a ghost but did not have time. Very interesting building the owner showed that you could be rich without being vulgar and make a house a very interesting home. Nice gardens.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic attic tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Lovely National Trust property tucked away at the back of York Minster.
As a member I didn’t notice how much the admission fee was, but I did pay a couple of pounds each for the attic tour, which was a fascinating insight into the "below stairs" aspect of life in the Edwardian period. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and spoke about the house and it's former owner with much enthusiasm and affection. Really added something to see a bit of behind the scenes which you don’t often get at NT places - plus what's not fun about wearing a hard hat and walking on the roof!

Unfortunately we didn't have time to do the cellar tour as well, which I believe is more of a "ghost tour" but if it's as informative as the attic tour I'd try and do that too next time.

The house itself is a fairly small property, so is easily explored in 45 minutes, with the tours lasting 45 minutes and 30 minutes, so in all you'd only need about 2 hours here before seeing the rest of York.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were lucky to arrive on a day when they had a tour of the cellar also. It was fab, the guide told a great story and we were all wondering in the end!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larne
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“quite a find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

found the place very good to go round plenty of very well informed guides in all the different rooms.amazing amount of different furniture collected from many different places.a must see.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treasurer's House also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Treasurer's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasurer's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.