We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least one whole day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Railway Museum

National Railway Museum
Leeman Road, York YO26 4XJ, England
08448 153139
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 116 Attractions in York
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a fantastic FREE* day out for the whole family in York, visit the award winning National Railway Museum.Get up close to over 300 years of fascinating history in York’s only National Museum. Explore our giant halls full of trains and railway legends including the majestic Duchess of Hamilton, step on to the futuristic, Japanese Bullet Train or marvel at the stunning opulence of the Royal Trains.Get on board awe inspiring locomotives, watch our engineers at work in The Workshop, uncover hidden treasures in The Warehouse and make tracks to the outdoor area.The children can let off steam with our outdoor play area, miniature railway rides and loads of interactive exhibits. Every weekend and throughout the school holidays, the kids can enjoy a lively programme of events, including science shows, story telling, steam rides, craft activities and special events too so check the website to plan your visit. FREE ENTRY.*Please note there may be a small charge for special events and activities
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“At least one whole day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It is criminal that they do not charge for this extremely important museum.

Any young boy (or anyone who was a young boy) could spend all day here. Don't do what I did and allocate four hours - you'll be champing at the bit to get back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,895
    1,275
    237
    38
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saltash
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Trains galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A real trip down memory lane. Beautifully preserved steam trains. Spend an hour or two here, it cost's nothing unless you wish to make a voluntary donation. If you like trains then this is the place for you.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good train lovers experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited the museum with a wheelchair user and enjoyed our visit. The entry is free and as a blue badge holder we could also get free parking in the car park opposite. The museum is disabled friendly in all areas and disabled toilets and some of the attractions can be entered in a wheelchair. We found all of the exhibits well looked after and well documented.
Well worth a visit for both train lovers and also for a good way to spend a few hours.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

For an insight into history the N R M gives it all,a great 1/2 day out for a donation with nice loos and a good choice at the Railway cafe
We are not real enthusiasts but all enjoyed the information given and the great sense on seeing a piece of history.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Trip To Railway Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Excellent day out and all for free.They should charge its well worth the visit. We where there for my wifes birthday and what a great day out. The japanese bullet train was excellent and the left side of the halls with all the royal coaches was tremendous

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Railway Museum also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to National Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Railway Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.