We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bennett's Cafe & Bistro

Bennett's Cafe & Bistro
30-32 High Petergate, York YO1 7EH, England
+44 1904 655344
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 735 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Bennett's Cafe and Bistro is located right in the heart of York with incredible views of York Minster. Serving wonderful homemade cakes and scones daily, and delicious locally sourced evening meals from 5.30Pm Tuesday-Saturday, Bennett's has something to suit everyones tastes.
hannah90
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Are here on a busy Sunday lunch time. Small snacks and refreshments were available and the cakes looked amazing! Service was fast and efficient and food was served quickly and tasted excellent. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    82
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire,
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best view in York when taking refreshment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

What a find! Just popped in here to have a coffee and wait for friends to join us early on a wet Saturday - we quickly decided on a second breakfast (so not needed, but too tempting) and the restaurant staff accommodated our growing party when they arrived. The view of the Minster was perfect and we watched many cyclists arriving on the Way of the Roses Coast 2 Coast. Our plan was to take tea and scones at another York establishment in the afternoon but after seeing the prices and queues (and no view) we returned to Bennett's to receive a warm welcome and delicious scones/jam/cream, Tiffin, carrot cake and an array of exotic teas. The husbands arrived on bikes around 5.15pm and the staff would have stayed open for a while but the men were in search of beer as their reward!
Highly recommend this tea room for view, customer service and delicious fare.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great tea, fantastic scones and very friendly staff. Can recommend Bennetts after weekend in York supporting our husbands and friends cycling the coast2coast. Had to return for tea and scones after sampling the fare earlier for morning coffee!
Carrot cake looked good too!
Great view of the Minster as a bonus.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A Lovely Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This central cafe offers fresh produce and friendly service. The prices are very reasonable, especially given that the cafe is so very central. We really enjoyed our morning coffee and scones here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

After walking round York on a bright,sunny but very cold day, we ended up at York Minster and then saw this cafe. We needed to have some hot drinks and snacks to get warm.
I had a really nice toasted teacake and grand cup of Yorkshire Tea. The others in our party had cappucino's, espresso's and bacon sandwich.The service was good and we had a nice view of the Minster. The toilets were clean and smelt fresh. Hand cream was provided as well as hand wash (I really like extra touches like this).
We were a large family group with visitors from Switzerland and Italy. Probably quite noisy in a friendly and excited way but no-one seemed to mind.
When a man(owner?) came over to collect dishes my Italian aunt said 'Grazie' and he replied 'Prego'. I was so chuffed at this as I have been in some cafe's where they have almost bordered on being rude.
I have recommended this cafe to others visiting York. I will definitely come to this cafe again on my next visit to York.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennett's Cafe & Bistro also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bennett's Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bennett's Cafe & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.