We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of All Bar One York

All Bar One York
13-17 New Street | YO1 8RA, York, England
01904 655868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #319 of 657 Restaurants in York
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: All Bar One York is a stylish city bar where you can catch up with friends, unwind after work or simply find a sophisticated space to indulge in an excellent selection of food.Within easy reach of the Shambles, Coney Street and York Minster, All Bar One York is the perfect place to meet up with friends or unwind with work colleagues. Of all the bars in York, we've got the right blend of food, drink and atmosphere at any time of day.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I called in here earlier in the week for lunch on a cold snowy day. It was very welcoming and warm inside, the waiter took us straight to a table. The service was great, very attentive. We ordered a steak sandwich and a fish finger wrap and we shared half each. Could not fault the food at all. We finished off with a coffee (which came with a little glass of smarties which was a nice touch) and a homemade cookie, which although was a little burnt, was yummy. The only little grumble we have was that it is a little pricey! However we would definitely come here again when we return to York.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    68
    26
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Best Ham & Eggs in the Country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

You can always count on ALL BAR ONE, the staff are fantastic and its the best ham & eggs you will get " all bar none " my wife had the thai red curry and it really did taste as good as it smelled. On a cold Saturday night there can be no better place to go for fantastic food, atmosphere and drinks keep up the good work.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice food + comfortable surroundings = Good time all round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have visited a number of All Bar One venues over the years and have always found them reliable in their delivery.
On a short break to York, we visited on a cold, midweek afternoon and found this venue to be warm, comfortable and relaxing. We had only popped in for a drink whilst we considered what we would do about eating that evening. With it being a bitterly cold day outside, we soon warmed up over a drink and decided that, as we were quite comfortable where we were, and we could both see things we liked on the menu, we would stay put!
I had Pad Thai chicken and my wife had the Thai Chicken Red Curry. Both dishes were very good - okay, possibly not authentic, but we enjoyed them. An interesting option on the menu was a cheese board, which we had to finish off the meal. A nice change to having a sweet option.
The barman was extremely efficient, friendly and helpful and a credit to the establishment.
If you want a simple meal and want something a bit more laid back than a full-blown restaurant, you will not go far wrong with All Bar One York. Oh - and the choice of beers and wines is very good!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“all bar yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We called here for some tapas and wine. Really nice place,good atmosphere and comfortable to chill out and relax.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice tapas for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a tapas lunch, bottle of wine, cocktails and alcoholic hot chocolate here. The service was excellent and the food really tasty.
The restaurant is also a bar and was very busy which made it a little noisy but also shows how good the food and atmosphere is.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed All Bar One York also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to All Bar One York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage All Bar One York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.