We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Walnut Tree

The Walnut Tree
73 Heworth Village, York YO31 1AN, England
01904 438 922
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 671 restaurants in York
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another fabulous meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A really lovely meal again. Great atmosphere, lovely staff and great home cooked food. And for those like me who need a gluten free diet you can eat here with confidence.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    44
    14
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I visit York regularly and was introduced to The Walnut Tree by friends who live nearby.
I can safely say I would happily drive really three and a half hours from home to eat here.
It has a friendly atmosphere with staff who genuinely make you welcome.
The theme nights are a great idea such as pie night and fish n chips night!
The food is some if the best I have ever tasted and I'm seriously considering kidnapping the chef!
The vegetarian choices are fantastic, my personal favourite being the mushroom and chestnut pie.
The portions are very generous, you don't wait long for your food and the staff will assist you with any request.
What's lovely is the owners and chef take time to come out and speak to the customers and seem to really care!
Can't rate this place high enough, everyone should try it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“COELIAC FRIENDLY GLUTEN FREE FOOD :-) Yipeeeeeeeee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

What an absolute find - eating out as a coeliac is not always easy, cross contamination is always a worry even if there are things I can eat on menu ............OMG not in the walnut tree everything on the menu (which has really good choice)is marked with GF and Sue the Chef could not go more out of her way to make sure the food is spot on, and to top it off the food is served on nice hot plates and there's plenty of it. finished of with a tasty Glass of Merlot.
what a nice friendly atmosphere .. hats of to Richard & Emma This is what a good old Yorkshire pub should be like - WE will be back :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Having used to live a 10 min walk from this pub, and now staying at my boyfriends who lives 5 mins away, this has always been a local for me. We have never eaten in here before but have gone for a few drinks either as a couple or with friends. We have played the quiz a couple of times, and lost ! But it was good fun.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, good value and delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Close to centre of town, excellent outdoor and play area for children. Delicious food and really friendly owners and staff. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Walnut Tree also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Walnut Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Walnut Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.