We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend in york at the Marriott Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott York Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in York
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A weekend in york at the Marriott Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent a pleasant weekend in York with friends and stayed in the Marriott Hotel. It was a striking hotel set in its own grounds overlooking the vast York Racecourse.
It was about 2-3 miles form the centre of York, but easily walkable, though it was served by frequent bus services.
The hotel staff from the start were all very helpful and friendly and the room large, but probably could do with an upgrade to its decor.
The only problem we had was with a very officious barman on duty on the Saturday afternoon we arrived, the 28th September. He seemed not to comprehend the pronunciation of 'latte', but I think he was trying to be smart. He also did not produce a very good latte, with hardly a taste of coffee in it and was not happy when we asked for another one. Otherwise the rest of the staff made up for his ignorance.

Room Tip: Try and get a room a room overlooking the racecourse as rooms at the front get a certain amount of n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    400
    216
    90
    35
See reviews for
231
463
18
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Marriott was the venue for a 3 day Internal Audit Course.

After an evening spent with friends my experience of the Marriott began in earnest.

Breakfast - no complaints - what one would expect from a 4* establishment - good well-warmed buffet food.

Conference Facilities - again no complaints - perfectly acceptable with regular snacks provided - very definitely not for one watching their weight.

Lunch & Dinner - A bit disappointing that the cheese which was available at breakfast (after a full English fry-up there is only so much cholesterol which one's body can take) was not available at lunch or dinner, but perfectly adequate salads. Fish for evening meal day 1 was dry despite the sauce however on day 2 fish was spot on.
The Parkin with toffee sauce brought back memories of "Bommy-night" from 35 years ago - far too many calories but who cares.

Room - No issues in this department - the curse of the Holiday Inn bed very definitely not in evidence - 3 good nights sleep.

Sports Facilities - the pool was a bit of a disappointment - having seen the pictures on the website & being a regular strong swimmer I was expecting more than a leisure pool - for a serious swimmer the reality was a major disappointment.
Thankfully the gym is adequately equipped, although with only one Concept II rowing machine, be prepared to wait to use if this is your thing.

Location - adjoining the racecourse the hotel is a reasonable walk or short taxi ride into York. Great views across to the finish line if you are prepared to upgrade - can't fault the situation.

Summary:
Excellent location & the curse of the 3 or 4 decision beckons once again. Compared to the Broadway (see other reviews) the Marriott is ahead but still not good enough for a very good rating (£100 per night) a 3 & 3/4 out of 5 but not quite enough to hit 4 out of 5.
Notwithstanding this perhaps harsh verdict, the Marriott is a perfectly adequate hotel & location - would visit again outside of a corporate function.

Room Tip: If the budget stretches to it - ask for a room overlooking the racecourse on the 3rd floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed with a friend at the Marriott for 2 nights to have some "me time", unwind, go shopping, see York, eat, drink and catch up on badly needed sleep! We managed to accomplish all of the above and found the hotel very welcoming, particuarly the staff on reception. There were a few minor problems such as a missing shower curtain which was eventually replaced after two reminders, two of the staff having a heated discussion (or rather a slanging match with suitably anglo saxon language) in the corridor, oblivious to guests walking past, plus an overstretched breakfast team on Sunday morning. However these points aside we had a very comfortable stay and were able to walk into the city with no problem. The grounds were beautiful, looked out towards the race course and breakfast was hot, plentiful and tasty. I used the pool, steam room, sauna etc after a heavy day of walking round York and it was clean and not busy at all. Free parking was also a draw as some of the other hotels we looked at either had very small or rather pricey carparks. We would definitely think about coming back, this time with our kids who are all keen to visit Jorvik.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend break in a race course view room.
We really enjoyed our stay and will deffo return to this hotel when planning a visit back to York.
The whole staff were very polite. Lovely bar and eating area onto well kept outside space. The breakfast was very enjoyable. Good quality ingredients, well cooked and as much as you like.
It is well worth upgrading the room, nice big bathroom, great views, massive bed and great night sleep.
Like every review on here, I wonder what some people expect but it's every ones own ideas of a value for money stay I suppose.
Thank you for a fab weekend stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Staff were great, facilities, pool, spa, restaurant and bar all very nice. The location is a little far to walk to town and there are certainly more impressive buildings in York. The room was fine but for ��230 we expected something nicer.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed at the York Marriott on a short weekend break and the hotel was really nice. The rooms were lovely and so was the leisure club and the staff. It was also not to far from the City Centre. Bus and taxis were easy to take, to and from the Hotel and were reasonable priced.
However, there was a hue let down for me and that was the cost of food in the restaraunt. my sister and I went down to the bar to have some snacks and were shocked at the cost of food. we had a nachos and o side of chicken wings and two soft drinks and it came to £25. We then went for breakfast the next morning and again to have a cooked breakfast was £15.50 (not including any drinks) I ended up having eggs and she had to tiny waffles and it came to £18.50 without anything to drink. And to make matters worse the food was not worthy of the cost.
So my advice would be to stay in the hotel but get a food allowance or come prepared to eat out or spend a fortune!

Room Tip: Book rooms with food allowance and if you have a problems with mobility menion this as our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Ordinarily, we tend to ensure that anywhere we stay has been researched enough to ensure we'll have no issues. On this occasion we hadn't done our homework and it came back to bite us.
I should add also that I believe I'm a fair reviewer with far more positive reviews than negatives - in fact I've only ever felt it necessary to award a rating as low as this once before (out of 100+ reviews).
First the positives. These mostly relate to the staff as almost all who we came across were pleasant and seemed to be trying their best. The location (in terms of the racecourse views at least) is also very nice. We also particularly enjoyed the marmalade mojitos which were prepared and served by one of the more enthusiastic bar staff members.
Now for the not so good. Generally, in my opinion, this place lacks the overall quality and maintenance you might expect from a four star hotel. We had rooms 003 and 019, which were accessed via a corridor which had a very unusual and rather unpleasant odour. Room 003 is next to a flight of stairs - I'm rarely disturbed and find it very easy to nod off but the seemingly paper thin walls meant that whenever the stairs were used you heard them. We only stayed one night but there's no doubt I'd have either checked out or asked to be moved if staying for more than one night. Room 003 was ok size-wise but quite different to the other room which was occupied by our daughter. The standard lamp in her room also had the luxury of a lightshade, which ours didn't - just the soft glow of an exposed low-energy light bulb! Cleanliness on the whole in the rooms was ok but in those slightly hidden places, which most decent hotels manage to keep clean (such as behind the curtains), this was less than ok. As I recall, I think it's also the only 4 star hotel I've ever stayed at where there were no bathrobes or slippers and nothing whatsoever in the in-room minibar. Breakfast was a case of quantity rather than quality, with possibly the worst 'fresh' coffee I've ever tasted.
A web search reveals that Marriott describe this as a '4 Star Luxury City Centre Hotel' - I'm afraid I'd have to dispute the luxury claim, it felt anything but.
There is absolutely no doubt that we'll be back to visit York again at some point but I have to say that there really must be better places to stay for this sort of money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott York Hotel

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace.The York Marriott's recent accolades include retaining the BDRC Best Conference Venue in Yorkshire Award for 3 years in succession, as well as winning the highly coveted York Tourism Bureau Award for Hotel of the Year 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.