We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday night special offer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott York Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in York
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sunday night special offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Really excellent hotel, well located with lovely view of the racecourse.
Great staff and lovely roomy bedrooms.
Great value on the Sunday special,didn't eat there as we were dining in York.
Will certainly use on future visits to York, great bus service right outside the hotel otherwise a nice 20 minute stroll to the city centre

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    399
    216
    90
    35
See reviews for
230
463
18
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Recent corporately sponsored stay was comfortable. Beautiful situation, with open views over fine gardens to York Racecourse.
Staff almost universally exceedingly pleasant, apart from a receptionist (Polish, perhaps, so it may have been cultural) when phoned beforehand to ask whether any preferential rates available if we decided to extend our stay by a night. The curt answer was just No! - suggest this is neither effective customer relations nor good business practice.
Breakfast very adequate and pleasant; good coffee a treat. Minor niggle: no tomato juice.
All in all pretty good, apart from the lack of value for money pricing, that extends to wifi access - why can Premier Inns charge nothing for first half hour then just three pounds for the next 24 hours and Marriott charge £15 with nothing free to start with. Like hotel phones once were, just another way of relieving guests of their money via outrageously expensive charges, but, wifi now possible with 3G and 4G mobile phone signals, so hotels thankfully no longer have a captive cash cow in this regard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a Grand Stand room with a view of York Racecourse which was just amazing. The room was very big, with a massive, comfortable bed, a large, very private balcony and a lovely bathroom with separate double shower.
Every single member of staff (and there was a lot), were extremely polite and accommodating, making the stay even more enjoyable.
The grounds are stunning and there's plenty of beautiful comfy garden seating for you to relax in the gardens. We went a walk around after breakfast one morning and was even asked if we would like a drink bringing into the garden by the restaurant manager!
There is everything you could possibly need for breakfast but it does get busy around the serving areas e.g. whilst you wait for your toast to cook and for fruit etc . The food area is maybe a tad too small for the size of the hotel.
The food in the restaurant is expensive in the evening. It is of good restaurant standard, but we have had much nicer- dessert was very disappointing, but starter was brilliant! So hit and miss with food, but that said, it wouldn't put us off going to the hotel again. We went into York for our other night. We got a taxi which was reasonable. It would be too far to walk. We are walkers, but the 15 minute quote by one other guest is, I think generous! Probably more like half an hours walk.
The pool area is immaculately clean, with plenty of lockers for your use.
Will definitely be booking to stay here again. Nothing too much trouble for the staff, making it a wonderful, friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: Grand Stand rooms worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This Marriott was very nice, friendly staff, a little expensive, the view from our room was very nice. We overlooked York racecourse, the room was very big, massive bed, big shower and a bath. We didn't eat dinner here but it looked tasty. The hotel is only 5min walk to the racecourse and only 15min walk from city centre. I will be stopping here again when we come to the races.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed over early May Bank Holiday weekend. Nice hotel although a little dated in areas. The staff were under pressure due to the pressure of wedding parties over two of the three nights we stayed and seemed a little out of their depths at times.

The only criticism is the banging room doors. Get some soft close stays.

Overall an nice relaxing hotel with young but lovely staff

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent a night in a really comfortable room. Mine was facing the parking lot, but it didn't matter. It was rather tricky getting to the room though. Mine was on level 1, which required me to take the lift one flood down, as the lobby had a walkway that led to level 2.

A room near mine had a good view of a garden-like area (next to the parking lot) and a racecourse in the background. There were rabbits to be seen there. The view from the dining area was also great, a beautiful garden below that was unfortunately a bit too cold for us to have breakfast in.

The breakfast food was great, but we had some trouble with the chef making omelettes, who told us that he won't serve tourists from outside England.

Room Tip: The one facing the garden/racecourse. It's a executive room I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked this short break for my family online and got great value for money. The setting is lovely, the bank holiday weather helped, and has a lovely garden overlooking the racecourse where we sat in the afternoon sun with a drink.

the leisure centre is a bonus for a hotel near the city centre and it is a pleasant walk (about 1 1/2 miles) to the attractions of York.

Staff were courteous and helpful, there was a good buffet breakfast with plenty of choice. We had an enormous room with a double bed and sofa bed for our daughter, both of which were very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott York Hotel

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace.The York Marriott's recent accolades include retaining the BDRC Best Conference Venue in Yorkshire Award for 3 years in succession, as well as winning the highly coveted York Tourism Bureau Award for Hotel of the Year 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.