We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott York Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in York
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel very well placed to visit York centre, with a view of the racecourse from the patio. Rooms very comfy, with modernised bathrooms. Had a lovely pool with spa area and the staff are really helpful. Only issue we had was no cocktails!!! And on a girlie trip you need cocktails.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    399
    216
    90
    35
See reviews for
230
463
18
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night break to celebrate my sister in laws 50th birthday which I booked in February, my only disappointment was that despite checking and double checking before arrival that the booking was for 3 people and requesting a large enough room with a nice view, when we arrived around 2.40 pm they had only reserved a twin room. We were asked to wait while they arranged another bed which we did, however by 3.30 we were getting a bit fed up and there was a constant stream of people arriving to check in so I couldn't really get the attention of the receptionists without being rude. Eventually a bar manager approached us to ask if all was ok, we explained the situation and at that point he offered us a complimentary drink and made enquiries at the reception on our behalf advising that our room was nearly ready. When we did eventually check in the receptionist was apologetic and reduced the cost of our 1st night by £30 and also gave us 3 vouchers for another complimentary drink to use during our stay. I have to say I was very dissappointed that we were only given a twin room with a put up bed after all the phone calls that I had made prior to arrival I was hoping for a larger room, our space within the room was very restricted although the view from the room was lovely overlooking the gardens. On saying all that we could not fault the hotel itself, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the gardens are just lovely and as we had fantastic weather we made the most of them by sitting out in the sun relaxing after spending the earlier parts of the day taking in all that the beautiful city of York has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borders
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Booked one night special rate for a Sunday during half term. Adjoining rooms provided after calling the hotel direct. Check in was good. Straight into the pool area where it was clear that others were taking advantage of the special offer. A few families annoying the odd business person who had arrived on Sunday evening!! Good pool with a shallow non swimmers bit and a hot tub.
We went out for dinner in York. Breakfast is a buffet and well worth the £10 per head. You can basically load up on the full monty, non stop coffee and toast etc etc. This is a good Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We (me, husband, 2 kids aged 5 and 6) travelled to York to visit friends for the weekend and had already made a flexible booking at a lost cost no-frills budget chain hotel. Travelling in on the A64 we passed the hotel we should have been staying in and made a decision that if we could find an alternative then we would - based on the distance to the city centre (not made very clear), the fact it was on the wrong side of the crash barriered A64 and being so close to the dual carriageway.

Having come off the A64 into York we passed the Holiday Inn, but knew the Marriott was just a little further along - so pulled in and took a chance. Am so glad we did! I spoke to a wonderful gentleman - the deputy front of house manager I believe, who, when asked if they had a family room available for that night was able to quickly and efficiently find space for us. And by find space, he offered us a family room with double bed and double pull out sofa...he checked the ages of my children and reassured me this would be perfect. We came to a rate including breakfast we were both very happy with and voila! A quick call to the original hotel chain and that room was cancelled - we had upgraded to the Marriott! I asked if the sofa bed could be made up for us for when we returned and was reassured that this would be no problem.

On our return later that evening, we discovered that our room was huge, the bathroom was huge, we had a fabulous view overlooking the racecourse and that as promised the sofa bed had been made up ready for the little ones to sink into. It was very comfortable and they loved it. Everything in the room worked perfectly, the channels on the tv were plentiful and had children's channels to keep the wee ones occupied too. There were ample fresh towels in the bathroom and the temperature of the room was perfect.

We visited the bar area for a quick drink while we waited for our friends to drop some forgotten belongings back to us (my daughters teddy bear) and found this to be busy (there was a wedding party in at the same time) but not crowded and had a good atmosphere. The children were with us and it was an area I was very comfortable with them being in. (Some hotel bars on a Saturday evening are not...) The chairs and sofas were very comfortable and the drinks were perfectly prepared and served.

We all slept brilliantly well... and when the kids woke at 6.30 we got up and went swimming in the hotel pool - we had it to ourselves for over an hour! It's not enormous, but fab to have it exclusively and to have the kids section that they could go in by themselves. The jacuzzi was unavailable that morning as it had been drained due to being dirty and was in the process of being refilled, but the steam room and sauna were both brilliant. Towels were available for use and the whole area was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was a huge buffet as expected - there was plenty of choices and the children loved the opportunity to go and choose. Hot food was being replenished constantly and there was a chef making omelettes and fried eggs. The breakfast room was busy but it was easy to catch the eye of a waiter to request more tea when required.

Check out was quick and efficient...the bill was accurate and made up quickly. The receptionist on duty engaged in conversation with me AND the children which made their day - and then presented them with a complimentary box of fruit pastilles for our journey home. What a lovely parting touch.

In summary, yes this is a large chain hotel, but the staff were wonderful, the service we received was second to none, the hotel was spotlessly clean, the room was perfect for us and the fact we got all this for just a little more than the original no-frills hotel we had booked made it a very special weekend treat. We'll definitely be back next time we visit York.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here for a recent conference and it was OK. It's a typical business hotel, beige and burgundy, with a nice Pool area. The staff I met were great (and the best asset of the hotel) and answered any queries I had.
I was very lucky to have a room with a beautiful view over the racecourse, with a balcony too - this was certainly the highlight.
Breakfast was the usual predictable selection - but very nice.
The problem/benefit of chain hotels like this, is that they all morph into one and you really could be anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The York Marriott is about a 20-minute walk from the historic center, down the Tadcaster Road (the extension of Blossom Street near the rail station). Easy enough to walk into town, this location is away from the area more busy with tourists and weekend bar-hopping. The service at the hotel is very pleasant, the rooms are quiet (unless young children are jumping up and down in the room above). The bar serves light fare, which can be a nice alternative to full dinners. On the edge of the race course and of Hob Moor, there are plenty of ways to escape into nature.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back, near the end; they face the open field leading to the racecourse and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Marriott for 1 night, as we were attending some friends' wedding, which was taking place in the hotel.
The wedding was starting at 3, so I had called the Marriott numerous times before-hand in order to make sure we could check-in early (as check-in is usually at 3): every time I called, they asked me to call back to confirm this was possible (including on the day of the wedding, when we were travelling up from London). Needless to say, when we got there, we could not check in early and we had to wait for over an hour. When we finally managed to check in, we went off to have a shower and realised the towels in our room were filthy. We asked for them to be replaced and it took over half an hour for someone to bring us new towels. Also, the mini-fridge in our room wasn't working. Drinks at the bar were ridiculously expensive and the hotel has a very impersonal feel to it (but I guess that comes from being a chain).
The only redeeming feature was the view from the bar, which is of York's race course.
Overall, I would not stay there again nor at any other Marriott hotel, as it was overpriced and the service was lacking

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook York's race course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott York Hotel

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace.The York Marriott's recent accolades include retaining the BDRC Best Conference Venue in Yorkshire Award for 3 years in succession, as well as winning the highly coveted York Tourism Bureau Award for Hotel of the Year 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.