We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely 2 days in York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Feversham Lodge Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Feversham Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Feversham Lodge Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Feversham Crescent, York YO31 8HQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 216 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely 2 days in York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Arrived earlier than planned but was greeted by David the owner who kindly let us park up so we could make the most of our weekend in York.Once parked we were shown to the African room which was like the whole house warm and cosy.We felt right at home because we were made to feel as if we were by David and his lovely wife Elaine.Breakfast was very nice and set us up for the day.Lovely house with lovely hosts I would easy recommend to anyone Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: Ours was lovely but I am sure they all are
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
132
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We came on our honeymoon to England from Canada and while we were in York we were able to stay at Feversham Lodge. From the start, David and Elaine made us feel at home. We found Feversham Lodge to be conveniently located within walking distance to the historic centre of York. The train station is a bit further away; we took a cab from/to our train. Our train trip from York to London was made easier by a box of chocolates that David and Elaine were kind enough to give us as a parting gift!

Breakfast was uniformly excellent; both Elaine's cooking and David's tales of the area, great eateries in York and his experiences in South Africa. Elaine's home made granola was a particular highlight. David was always very interested about our previous day's activities and what we were up to after breakfast with many great suggestions...especially helpful for a couple of Canucks who don't know much about Yorkshire!

Our room was wonderful and clean with a roof window that opened up for a bit of fresh air if needed. Coffee and tea and a small fridge were provided in the room with a en suite washroom as well.

We loved York and loved staying at Feversham Lodge; we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here 3 nights last week with my wife. The B&B is about a 5 minute easy strole to the minister. Had slight problem with heating one day and left a note and it was sorted by the time we got back to the room after our trip out. David has loads of fab stories to tell and lots of useful information, breakfast were fab and we will return again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The most charming guest house I have ever stayed in. A very warm welcome, comfortable themed rooms, and a breakfast that is sure to keep you going until lunch. The fluffiest pancakes I have ever tasted! My wife and I love staying in York and we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else now but Feversham Lodge x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for three nights at Feversham in September and had a wonderful stay. From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed and at home and our hosts David and Elaine were warm and welcoming.

David told us of a couple of good places to eat which we tried and agreed were lovely. Our breakfast was fantastic and Elaine's home made maple syrup pancakes were awesome and really should be tried by everyone!

We found our room to be lovely and bright, and spotlessley clean, and im fussy!

All in all a really lovely stay, with many helpful tips from David about where to eat, how to get around (bus stop into town just opposite).

I would not hesitate to stay again if I visit York in the future and would recommend to anyone for a lovely stay.

Thank you David and Elaine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We enjoyed an excellent stay at the Feversham Lodge in York. From booking to checking out Elaine and David made the whole process very easy and enjoyable. When we arrived we were able to check in early - the room was not only ready but lovely and welcoming (like the rest of the accomodation!) David and Elaine offered lots of advice and recommendations as to where to go in York and were just really helpful. The room had everything we needed and more and was very comfortable. Breakfasts at the Feversham Lodge are something else! The huge variety of quality, tasty food is superb and the service was second to none. You will certainly not go hungry! We were thrilled to get a copy of their tasty homemade musli recipe too - it's the personal touches like these (and the chocolates!) that make the Feversham Lodge stand out. Elaine and David really do take a genuine interest in all of their guests, they go the extra mile and nothing is too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in York - it's a great city and our trip was made extra special by our stay with Elaine and David. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Feversham Lodge and look forward to making return visits!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I must confess that I picked the Hotel principally for it's nearness to York Hospital ( it is literally next door!) as I had an annual check up but thought that I would combine this with some R & R. David and Elaine are superb hosts,friendly and caring. The rooms are delightful(I stayed in the Victorian Room) The bed was extremely comfortable. There were nice fluffy white towels and lovely toiletries. Parking is available which is unusual for York where parking is at a premium and mostly controlled by permit. However the Hotel is also within easy walking distance of York city centre and also has a bus which stops immediately outside. Elaine's breakfasts are superb and most produce is locally sourced. All in all a thoroughly pleasant place to stay. I intend to go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Feversham Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Lodge Guest House

Address: 1 Feversham Crescent, York YO31 8HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feversham Lodge is a typical Victorian house situated just a short walk from the historic city wall, York Minster, other tourist attractions and the city centre. There are five comfortable double, king or twin en-suite bedrooms offering exceptional value for money. Bookings can be made direct keeping our prices very competitive with no add on charges. Feversham Lodge is rated 4-star silver by visitEngland. We offer a full English or continental breakfast and speciality breakfast dishes. Free WIFI. On site parking for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Feversham Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feversham Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.