We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for York!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn York North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn York North to your Saves list
Premier Inn York North
Clifton Park Ave, Shipton Rd, York Y030 5PA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £71
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in York
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great base for York!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I'd booked this hotel for my husband and I to have a weekend away child free for a Christmas present for him. The hotel was clean, really comfortable and in a great location. Although next to the main road we never heard it and we were pleased that we could go into town and then stay just outside where it was quieter (After witnessing night time "entertainment" in York I'm so glad I chose this hotel and not one in the city centre!!)

There was a couple of concerns I had about some scratches on the tables, a rather odd looking stain on the carpet and the shower could have done with a better clean but it wasn't anything that impacted on our stay. The beds were amazing and I slept like a log!!

A special mention must go to Sam who was so welcoming on reception even after we arrived at 1am after a 5 hour drive from London and were a little grouchy!! He was so friendly and gave great advise on where to visit in York in the day and at night and he was even happy to chat to us on Saturday night after we'd had a feww sherberts lol

All in all we had a great stay here and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    190
    52
    9
    6
See reviews for
172
256
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Only stayed the one night whilst in York to see a concert. I'd booked a few months in advance so only payed a very good value price of £29 which as York is generally both busy and pricey every weekend of the year was good value, although breakfast was £8.50 pp extra. The distance from the city centre is about 1.5 miles and there is a park and ride bus stop outside the entrance so you can get an all day bus ticket for £3.70 and be in the centre in 15 minutes ( watch out for poor time keeping by the bus company though !)
Overall if you are on a budget this makes an attractive alternative to the £60 B&B's and you know what you are getting from Premier Inn

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked this as part of Premier Inn £29 deals and enjoyed a very comfortable stay here when visiting York. The staff were very welcoming and the room was the normal good standard you would expect from Premier Inn. The bed was very comfortable. It is well positioned for visiting York city centre. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night in march and were very pleased. I rang the day before to check if I could leave my car in the car park before check in time while we went into york and it was not a problem at all. The hotel is around a half hour walk from York city centre but we didn't find it too taxing on a nice day. If you don't want to walk, there's a bus stop just on the main road that takes you into York. Despite the hotel being near a main road we heard no traffic noise at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they even booked us a table in the Dormouse pub next door for dinner that night. The room was very clean and lovely and warm. The beds were comfortable as always with premier inn. Although there was only a shower instead of a bath, the shower was a good size with plenty of room. Breakfast was served in a room next to reception which was again very clean. The breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of choice. We were seated for breakfast immediately despite the breafast area being busy. We couldn't fault the place or the staff and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

only stopped one night but was very surprised as never stayed in a premier inn before and it was very good bed was very comfortable as they advertise had the best sleep that i have had for a long time. my husband was a bit dissappointed that there was no bath and on the tv advert they mention baths and as he had done quite a bit of walking he kept saying he was looking forward to a soak in the bath which he didn't get. hotel is next to a vitage inn the Dormouse which we had a couple of drinks in but didn't eat there as we had eaen earlier but it looked and smelled really good. Nice to be able to have a couple of drinks in walking distance from hotel. staff were very friendly and helpful. didn't have breakfast as we were up a bit late and we were going to Betty's for lunch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cradley Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked a family room for 2 nights and paid £29 per night. If we had paid the full room rate then I would have made a complaint. We have stayed at many Premier Inns and this has to be the smallest room we have stayed in. Plenty big enough for 2 people but if you need also need 2 single beds then check room size before booking. Added to that the adjoining door to the next room meant that we heard a lot of noise from the children in the next room. Being woken at 6am on a Saturday isn't my idea of fun!
Location is very good with easy access into York by bus. The bus stop is opposite the hotel.
The pipework at the back of the shower was black and probably had millions of bacteria growing. I would have asked for it to be cleaned but then thought it was better left untouched.

Room Tip: Make sure it doesn't have an adjoining door as the noise carries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Birthday stay in York, very good, have stayed here a number of times and would not think of staying anywhere else in York unless money was no object.

Reliable, clean and friendly - know exactly what you will get and better than allot of similar priced places of the likes of laterooms or lastminute.com where you get allot of dirty B&B's offered up at 40 / 50 £ a night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn York North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North

Address: Clifton Park Ave, Shipton Rd, York Y030 5PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in York
#3 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York North is a small Premier Inn set on the outskirts of York, just 1.5 miles from York Minster. With brilliant Park and Ride facilities and a bus stop opposite which takes you straight into the heart of York City Centre. Adjacent to us is The Dormouse Vintage Inn Pub/Restaurant serving food and drink daily. My team and I are proud of the great feedback we receive. Please contact Premier Inn for any other details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn York North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn York North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.