We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel conveniently situated for the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Main Street, York YO10 4PJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in York
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Nice hotel conveniently situated for the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Reasonable value hotel in Fulford and there's a bus service every ten minutes into the centre of York so it's conveniently located. We didn't dine here in the evening but went to the excellent Plough just across the road. Our courtyard room was fine and quiet even with a wedding party in full swing. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    276
    100
    49
    23
See reviews for
136
410
21
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

As the title says, the rooms are lovely. The bathroom gorgeous totally modern and spacious as is the room but we didn't book breakfast (my wife booked it so naturally it's my fault!), we thought maybe about £16 for both of us isn't too bad - £28!!!!!!! And it was rubbish, not a buffet like you'd expect for that price they came to your table and took your order - not that they got it right. Twice mine was sent back before they got it right. Overall average service for an expensive price!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have just spent 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. The room was fab, clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Andreas and Nuta. The breakfast was a bargain at £7 pp if ordered the night before, this included a buffet style continental and/ or full English etc. We ate an evening meal which was excellent quality. The hotel is a short distance from York centre, definitely not within walking distance but the number 7 bus leaves every ten minutes from across the road so hassle free travel available. lovely hotel we would definitely recommend to others?

Room Tip: We stayed in the Madame Bollinger room, which has a four poster bed and a shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting York and would happily stay here again. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and there was an excellent choice at breakfast. The only thing I would say is it was more like 2 miles walk into town rather than 1 mile as advertised, but there is a regular bus service if you don 't want to walk.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Our stay in the York Pavilion Hotel was excellent. It was such a homely atmosphere, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food was exceptional, breakfast, so much choice, dinner delicious. We were able to park our car for the whole of our stay and use the public transport into York (there is a bus every 10 minutes into York). We also walked into York along the path next to the River Ouse. This is a delightful walk with so much interest and plenty of people taking advantage of the path. We thoroughly recommend this hotel, certainly one of the best we have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, very clean and although near the road couldn't hear any noise at all. Breakfast was very nice and cooked to order, felt a bit disjointed being in two rooms though. Only point to be aware of is that bus service is every 10 mins to/from city centre but after 8.30 it's every hour

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street, York YO10 4PJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.