We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, horrible nights sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Main Street, York YO10 4PJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in York
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, horrible nights sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Booked to stay at the York pavilion for a weekend away with my other half. Very pleased upon arrival. Lovely hotel with plenty of on site parking. Friendly greeting at reception and a brief tour was given to show us where everything was. Room was reasonable, everything you need and clean enough. Toiletries provided were also of good quality. Breakfast each morning was lovely. Plenty of choice and the cooked breakfast arrived hot and tasty. Quite a walk into the city centre. Took us about half an hour but was pleasant enough.
The major complaint I have about this hotel is the noise! We were in a ground floor room so obviously had rooms above us. I am not normally one to complain but we could hear every word the couple above us said. The lack of quiet led to a terrible nights sleep with us only ale to fall asleep at gone 3 am. This happened again the second night and resulted us feeling very tired for the whole weekend. I am sorry to have to report this fault as it would otherwise been a perfect getaway location.

Just a little positive note to finish off. Adam who I believe was the head waiter was exceptional. He gave brilliant service throughout our stay and provided us with restaurant and attraction recommendations. I cannot fault his efforts and I believe he provided us with the best hotel service we have ever had. That guy deserves some serious praise!

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room otherwise you won't get a moments sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    247
    95
    47
    22
See reviews for
121
368
19
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Needed somewhere to stay overnight for an event in York. i know York well and I wanted somewhere a little further out of the Centre (where I could still walk into York from) and with free parking. This seemed as good as any. Only basically wanted a bed for the night. On arrival there was a wedding party so the car park was almost full! Just about squeezed into a space. On booking in only given cursory direction to the room and no one offered to take the bags for us. we had to fight our way through a busy bar full of wedding reception guests. However they were the only two bad experiences. A lovely hotel with friendly staff. A Nice room with plenty of space and well appointed. Asked for a late night snack and got a HUGE plate of sandwiches. Painless check in and check out. No noise disturbance despite the wedding and i think this is because of the layout of the hotel and the location of our room. The hotel did its job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Booked this hotel for a couple of days (along with other hotels) as part of our 35th Wedding anniversary celebrations.Contacted hotel to ask for a four poster bed and permission to have interflora deliver some gifts for my wife.On arrival greeted by a friendly,bubbly receptionist,who told us of breakfast times and where the restaurant was etc. Given the key to room 48,trekked upstairs and was disappointed to find no four poster.A nice view of the garden through french doors though, and the roses and chocolates were on the desk.After a long day walking around York,we were pleased to find the king sized bed to be very comfortable. This was tempered somewhat by the road traffic noise from the busy main road,which could be heard through the single glazed slightly ill fitting french doors.Friendly female bar staff very attentive and accomodating when ordering delicious late night sandwiches.At breakfast next day we were ushered into the bar area and seated at a (too)small table.The cooked meal was lovely,fresh, hot and tasty, best out of all the hotels we stayed at in york,although I missed the baked beans which apparently have recently been removed from the menu.Was told that there was a wedding at the hotel that day and assumed that was why no four poster bed had been forthcoming.What was disappointing for us though,was to find out that our room was directly above the wedding function room.As the evening went on the music got increasingly louder which is only to be expected at a wedding....What disappointed us was that not one of the management thought to inform us of the wedding when we booked, or indeed subsequently,especially when its obvious to them we were going to hear all of the celebrations, although not invited.Surely not too much of a task to have somebody in the wedding party assigned our room and us put somewhere less noisy,or an explanation at the very least?You might expect it on a weekend,but less so in midweek. Lack of forethought had left us disappointed and when we came down for breakfast to be shunted out to the bar area ....again(initially on our own) although spaces were available in the restaurant....left a bad taste...Dont expect to be told of anything by the management and recommend that you do your homework regarding rooms and weddings if you want to guarantee a peaceful stay here.

Room Tip: Dont pick Room 48 if there is a wedding on you are not attending!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we were in the area visiting family. Our first impressions of the exterior was very good, the hotel has some very well kept gardens and it the hotel was very easy to find.
Upon check in, the receptionist was very welcoming and helpful and we were able to get into our room an hour earlier then the normal check in time. We had been given the Scarborough room and it was a good size and quite nicely decorated. It was reasonably clean, however, there were a couple of cleanliness issues such as an empty syringe near the bedside cabinate and dead insects on the windowsill.....but I am a Head Housekeeper so i can be over crytical. The bathroom was immaculately clean.
The breakfast in the morning was lovely, could'nt fault it at all.
Overall this is an attractive hotel with professional, friendly staff and we really enjoyed our stay here. We would definately stay again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a find! This hotel was very good value for money and provided an excellent service. With high quality matress, bed linen, toiletries and an excellent restaurant this was a great place for a quiet stay.

Room Tip: Our room had a window that opened onto the pretty courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night with my partner and it was lovely. The room was spacious and clean and had lovely views of the court yard. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The bar is well attended and it was enjoyable to sit and relax outside in the warm weather. The cooked breakfast is a little sparse however the continental breakfast is lovely and there is plenty to choose from. The hotel is located a little out of town however it is a nice walk into the centre of York. Overall a great stay and would return

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel and first impressions where very good but as soon as we got to our £140.00 room we were very dissapointed. The room was small, wallpaper was peeling and the walls were so thin we could here our friends next door having a conversation and at one point tried to answer a phone we thought was in our room to find it was next doors! The waiting and bar staff were fantastic but our group all agreed that certain senior management were very rude and unproffesional. The breakfast for a number of our group was terrible. We had Sausage that was pink in the middle and over cooked eggs, half a piece of black pudding and with mine 3 hairs! Not worth the money by a very long shot we came away very disappointed and much lighter in the pocket. Will not be staying there again and would encourage others to shop around before booking.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street, York YO10 4PJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.