We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Main Street, York YO10 4PJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in York
Louth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Lovely Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we were in the area visiting family. Our first impressions of the exterior was very good, the hotel has some very well kept gardens and it the hotel was very easy to find.
Upon check in, the receptionist was very welcoming and helpful and we were able to get into our room an hour earlier then the normal check in time. We had been given the Scarborough room and it was a good size and quite nicely decorated. It was reasonably clean, however, there were a couple of cleanliness issues such as an empty syringe near the bedside cabinate and dead insects on the windowsill.....but I am a Head Housekeeper so i can be over crytical. The bathroom was immaculately clean.
The breakfast in the morning was lovely, could'nt fault it at all.
Overall this is an attractive hotel with professional, friendly staff and we really enjoyed our stay here. We would definately stay again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    245
    95
    47
    22
See reviews for
121
366
19
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a find! This hotel was very good value for money and provided an excellent service. With high quality matress, bed linen, toiletries and an excellent restaurant this was a great place for a quiet stay.

Room Tip: Our room had a window that opened onto the pretty courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night with my partner and it was lovely. The room was spacious and clean and had lovely views of the court yard. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The bar is well attended and it was enjoyable to sit and relax outside in the warm weather. The cooked breakfast is a little sparse however the continental breakfast is lovely and there is plenty to choose from. The hotel is located a little out of town however it is a nice walk into the centre of York. Overall a great stay and would return

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel and first impressions where very good but as soon as we got to our £140.00 room we were very dissapointed. The room was small, wallpaper was peeling and the walls were so thin we could here our friends next door having a conversation and at one point tried to answer a phone we thought was in our room to find it was next doors! The waiting and bar staff were fantastic but our group all agreed that certain senior management were very rude and unproffesional. The breakfast for a number of our group was terrible. We had Sausage that was pink in the middle and over cooked eggs, half a piece of black pudding and with mine 3 hairs! Not worth the money by a very long shot we came away very disappointed and much lighter in the pocket. Will not be staying there again and would encourage others to shop around before booking.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My partner and I were full of hope when we entered this beautiful old building. We had great expectations when we saw the Michelin Guide sticker on the window, and booked a table for dinner. I'm sad to say we were extremely disappointed. The "queen scallops" promised on the menu, were infact miniature (probably from a bag in the freezer) scallops and completely lost in greasy cheese. The fillet steak requested to be cooked medium-rare, came out well-done and looking much like a beef burger. The rest of the plate; tarte tartin (why?) and dauphinoise potatoes were bland and nothing to write home about. Roasted mediterranean vegetables in this case translates as soggy microwaveable vegetables. Most definitely NOT worthy of being in the Michelin Guide, or the £24.95 paid.

The hotel room was reasonable but way too hot, and being on the ground floor with a window opening out onto the bar patio, we didn't feel able to keep it open whilst we were out. Perhaps if there was an extractor in the bathroom, the paint on the ceiling might not be peeling, and the temperature in there could drop below 40 degrees.. We appreciate that being a hotel room in an old building, there's sure to be fleeting creaks and groans, but we certainly did not expect to hear absolutely every movement, murmur, moan, groan and snore of our upstairs neighbours. We called the reception at 2am three times, to no avail, and were not about to go wandering around in our pyjamas searching for staff to find us a new room.

Upon complaining, the staff were unsympathetic and quite rude, making us feel we were in the wrong for having expectations of a peaceful rest, and offered a mediocre 10% discount. All in all it was an extremely stressful and disappointing stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borders
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is located on the outskirts of York. It has a good car park. The check in was brisk and I was in a room at the back over looking a small courtyard.
Nice enough room and bathroom. Had dinner in the restaurant and it was good with unfussy service. Breakfast was a good buffet. All in all nothing outstanding to report just good old fashioned value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We first visited York Pavilion Hotel when we were invited to a wedding there. We decided to go back and base ourselves in the hotel for a city break in York. It didn't work quite as well for this as it was a little too far out of the centre. That was our slip up really as we should have looked at the map. The park and ride bus stops are right outside the hotel but there the service stops in the early evening. We didn't particularly want to drive and park in York, so chose to eat in the hotel taking advantage of their early bird meal. The choice was limited but the food was good and very good value.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and the hotel room was tastefully decorated as were the public rooms. Our bathroom might need some updating in the near future.

We would stay here again if we needed a base to explore the area further away from the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street, York YO10 4PJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.