We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Main Street, York YO10 4PJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in York
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as a birthday treat back in december 2012.Firstly the staff at reception where very pleasant,polite and helpfull.Staff at breakfast where attentive and pleasant.The breakfast itself was nice and sufficient.Our room was basic but clean.To walk into york centre from the hotel took us about 30 minutes along the river bank.On the whole experience of staying at this hotel it is one of the better hotels we have stayed in in york,just a shame its not closer to the centre but would definately use it again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    277
    102
    49
    23
See reviews for
136
414
21
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

For the price , we got exactly what we thought we would get- easy to find, good parking , friendly staff, room was a bit tired (wall paper peelin) but it was clean , everything worked , hot water , tv etc , breakfast was excellent - bill was prepaid so no waiting around
I would say good value

Room Tip: it is on a main road so poss best to ask for one not on that side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel is such a warm welcoming environment! The staff are all very knowledgable, friendly and warm. The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are cosy and very fitting into the surroundings being York ! Breakfast was fantastic , plenty of choice and all cooked from fresh. Great location, just a short distance from the city centre and on direct transport route! Definatley recommend for a fabulous stay in York

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I recently had a weekend here with my wife, we were joined by some friends too.

The place was great, clean, good service an excellent breakfast and fantastic evening menu.

It is across the road from a bus stop that'll take you into York, or its a brisk 15 minute walk...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had the courtyard room for our dinner, lovely room, clean and well prepared. Food was excellent, 46 people in all and not one complaint. Extra veg provided when asked and even gravy instead of mushroom sauce was requested late but they provided. Staff were very friendly, one a little new but he really did very well.

Room Tip: Did not stay as live in York but for a party we will be back. Did not use the hotel DJ as we use our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

So my partner booked a night away for us, Was so excited when found out we were going to york. Outside looks old & charming and ok i geuss. The room was a standard double and standard it was. Could not swing a cat so to speak The bed was basic with to stains on each side where peoples heads had been sat up i geuss disgusting! Bathroom not very clean at all and dated. The room cost £140 including breakfast which was nothing special cheep meat and the brown sauce was also disgusting. This room isnt worth any more than £80 including breakfast felt sorry for my partner paying it ''I would not of''' We have stayed in hotels for 2 nights for £140 and have been 100 times better! If you have money to throw away by all means book it. I dont mind paying high prices when i get what i pay for this was not the case. Im not in to B&Bs But would book one rather than this im so shocked they get to charge £140 for a standard stained bed double its not even in york its a good 45mins walk! Apart from the outside of this hotel everything else inside was not worth it......Not for that price tag by far!

Room Tip: Dont choose a room pay £30 more and stay inside york or book a bespoke B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene C, Owner at BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear James & Becky

Thank you for your comments during your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read that you did not receive the standard of service that you were expecting during your recent stay with us.

I would like to offer you a complimentary stay with us and as such would be grateful if you could contact Mrs Stevie Hartley or Miss Sarah Robinson on 01904 622099 to book, subject to availability.

Yours sincerely

Mrs Irene Cossins
Propietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel in general is a lovely place, the staff are very helpful and polite, the enterance is well decorated and modern and everywhere is kept clean and tidy. The food was well presented, delicious and the service was great (not so great at breakfast, depending on how posh you look as to where you get seated either the nice dining rooms or stuck in the bar in the back...)

But unfortunately all these things don't out weight the bad points of the hotel... We stayed in room 33, and although the decor was a little out dated it was a charming room, very spacious and had a lovely view, the room was freezing on our arrival and took several hours to heat up. The water supply had been cut off on our arrival due to maitinence which I understand is necessary but we were left with no warning or any way of making a drink or having a wash after our journey. The worst part about our stay and the reason why I would not recommend this hotel to others is how poorely the rooms were sound proofed, because it is such an old building which makes it look like a lovely place to stay you end up compromising on things which you would expect as standard from other hotels. As soon as our neighbours checked in (we could never find out whether they were to the side or below, but we think they were below us) we could hear every single word of their conversation and every step they took on the floor boards, at night we could hear the man snoring so loudly it was impossible to get to sleep resulting in us having to move rooms at 4am, not the relaxing stay we were hoping for. It might not sound too bad and you might think you'd be able to get over it, but i can't tell you how frustrating it is to be trying to relax and not be able to over something as simple as sound proofing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene C, Owner at BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond on Tripadvisor.

I was very disappointed to read that you did not receive the standard of service that you were expecting.

Please be assured that your observations have been investigated and acted upon accordingly and I do hope you will give us another chance to offer our hospitality when you are next in the area.

Yours sincerely

Mrs Irene Cossins
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street, York YO10 4PJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.