We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is proof you get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis York Centre to your Saves list
Ibis York Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 the Mount, York YO24 1BN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in York
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This is proof you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just stopped at the Ibis for the weekend with my daughter. Staff are very friendly and helpful. When you arrive first impression is all looks okay, then you start walking in the corridors and realise how badly in need of a refurb the corridors are. When we entered our room the first thing that hit us was how cold it was, bathroom really tiny, towels very thin (Take your own) Shower was good. The room itself was a decant size, beds quite comfy only a few channels on TV and 6 steps into room or upto bathroom. The floorboards are very creaky and it was awkward getting up to bathroom in middle of night as floorboards that noisy i woke my daughter up.
There is no heat in the room and after first night we asked for another quilt and a heater which they did straight away and 2nd night was a lot better. As i said in my title you get what you pay for. Breakfast is worth paying for as it was nice both days.
±We did find as our bedroom door was opposite the main corridor door that guests coming in late at night were to say the least ignorant to anyone who may have been in bed talking and shouting up the corridor to each other but obviously the hotel cant be blamed for ignorant guests.
Would i stay again no a hotel with no heating in November in England is not for me

Room Tip: Dont have room 136 too near main corridor door and floorboards awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I have taken on board your comments about the heating and noise. We had a slight issue with the temperature in some of the rooms, which we have now had rectified and we are working on sound insullation in the corridor where you stayed.

I would like to welcome you back in the future for what I'm sure will be a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    426
    296
    119
    102
See reviews for
119
565
61
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

hi stayed at the ibis from the 19th october with a group of friends
easy to get to parking at the rear
not far from center about 10 mins easy walking// past lots of restaurants and bars
the market is well worth a visit lots of food stalls etc// with a street act on at the start of it
went the city bus tour worth it but pretty cold was in a open top bus
the hotel itself the staff were very friendly and helpful
if the pre book the breakfast it was 5 pounds each well worth the money plenty of choice
from buffet self service
the rooms were good size and clean
only down side was the price of drinks was pretty dear
all in all was a good weekend away and would recommend the ibis and york to anyone
went to walk around the city walls half way round to find it was being locked up for the night
which made us feel pretty foolish but the wives who were in the pub had a good laugh at our expense

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for making me laugh with you tale about the bar walls being closed, if its any consilation you aren't the 1st and you won't be the last to be caught out by the gates being locked on an evening.

I am happy that you enjoyed York and the hotel and would like to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had very low expectations, as I don't normally stay in this kind of hotel, however we were in York for the races and as a result all the room rates were much higher than usual. It's in great location for both York Centre and the racecourse. The entrance is much nicer than you'd think, however as you leave the reception to go to the rooms, it gets a bit shabbier. The rooms are basic but clean. There's no ironing facilities in the room, however there was an ironing room. Not ideal, but better than nothing. The walls were pretty thin meaning we could hear people coming back in the early hours. I was impressed with the spread on offer for breakfast, again, much better than I thought. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel for the price as long as you're not intending to spend much time in your room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I'm glad that you thought our hotel 'good for what it is'. we are a basis hotel, but we still want to provide a 5* service for all guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for the horse racing meetings in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Found this hotel on a price comparison website but got a better deal booking direct on their own website as it gave us free breakfast.

The hotel is set just outside the city walls. 5mins walk from the train station, 10mins from the old town and 15mins from the Minster. We found walking along the city walls was the best way to get to and from the main sites as it gave a great view as well as keeping us away from the traffic.

On arival we we're checked in by a very friendly member of staff and directed to our room which was a the rear. As we walked there we felt the corridor was very dated with worn carpets so started to worry what the room was like. We found our room was much more modern with a very large comfy bed. Bathroom was clean with a very large shower but no bath. We tried turning on the TV but couldn't get a picture so rang reception. 2 staff came up and fixed it within 5 mins and were very friendly and apologetic.

Breakfast was excellent, buffet style with a great selection of hot and cold food, We went down 15mins before it was due to finish and it was fully stocked and they were still bringing out more hot food. They also didnt remove anything or chase us out when it was supposed to have finished.

There is a comfy lounge and bar which we didn't use.
Wifi in the room was strong signal but cost extra.

On checkout, staff were really friendly and helpful in keeping our bags until our late train home.

In all a good stay. Great staff and breakfast. Good location for the station, maybe a litle far from the main sites for some people bu we found it fine.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

I am pleased to hear that you found my staff friendly and efficient.

We are constantly trying to improve our breakfast selection, which I'm happy to hear you also enjoyed.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotel was average, for the price. the bedrooms were quite cold, they did have a heater but this stunk. the bed itself was clean and comfortable. the breakfast was good. The only thing i wanted to order on the menu at night was not available. The nicest memeber of staff at the hotel was the housekeeper who was lovely, who really made an effort with us and made us feel really welcome, and made our stay special, much more so than all the other staff who hardly spoke to us at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I will feedback your kind comments to the housekeeping team.

I am sorry that you found the room cold, but I'm not sure what you mean regarding the heater 'stinking', please feel free to contact me regarding this.

Please accepts my apologies for not having all the options avalible on the evening menu. We are launching our nrw menu next week, which I'm sure you will enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

this was my 4th stay at this hotel the location is brilliant for exploring york. micklegate and the train station only being a 5 min walk away. i have allways found the staff to be polite and helpfull allways willing to help. some reviewers seem to forget this is a budget hotel i paid £120 for friday and saturday night with free parking . not the £400 some of the others charge.keep up the good work ibis york see you again soon.ps the new bed in my room was much better than the old ones.are they in every room ?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind words in your review.

As a hotel we always try to go the extra mile for every guest and I thank you for seeing the hard work that my staff do.

As you mentioned we are a budget hotel and I'm pleased to hear that you found us good value for money.

Thank you for noting that our new beds are 'much better' that the older ones. We have had these new beds installed in every Ibis worldwide, not just in York. So whichever Ibis you stay in you should have a restful night sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great location about 10 mins walk to one of the gateways into York, rooms were slightly larger than usual Ibis rooms, TV a bit dissapointing only 5-6 channels. Good bathroom and shower
Small car park for about 20 cars, we arrived mid morning and there were plenty of spaces and there always seemed to be a couple of spaces during the day.
Good bar and typical breakfast, nothing great but value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I'm happy to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us in York.

I will feedback your kind words to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Address: 77 the Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis York Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.