We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis York Centre to your Saves list
Ibis York Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 the Mount, York YO24 1BN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in York
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Positive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I was a solo traveller and I found the hotel good value. The staff were very efficient and helpful. It is very close to the local railwway station just a 8 minutes walk. I can appreciate that the hotel was flood damage recently but the service I received was good, Two very good breakfasts but had a very poor dinner in the hotel on the night of the 11th October and I was pleased by the action of the duty manager on my complaint. I would recommend this hotel for a visit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.

I will pass on your comments to the Food & Beverage team.

I again apologise for the problems you experience during your evening meal and I thank you for your understanding while speaking to me after your meal.

Please be assured that the repairs will be starting very shortly in the restaurant area and I'm sure your next visit to us will be a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    426
    296
    119
    102
See reviews for
119
565
61
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is around a 15 minute work from the city center so is in a decent location. The staff are very friendly and let us check in around 2pm. The bar is lovely and there are plenty of bars around the hotel.

The only down side to this hotel is the side of the rooms. They are very small and the decor seems to be very outdated. The carpets need chnaged, the bathrooms need a new lick of paint and the floors creak like crazy! I would recommend this hotel for a couple of nights stay at best but is not suitable to stay for a long period of time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for leaving your review.

I'm happy that you enjoyed the location of the hotel.

I will bring up the points you raised regarding your room to the relivent departments.

If you choose to stay with us in the future please feel free to contact me directly, because we do have family sized rooms which are larger than a standard double/twin room which may suit you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I had a recent busines trip and needed a hotel for 1 night. Attempting to book via hotel.com was difficult due to a technical issue and so, at 10pm the night before leving home ,I phoned the Ibis to check out availability. I got through to a night porter by the name of Michael....IBIS...he is a star!!! He could not have been more helpful and polite, understanding that I could not book it as I neded to go through hotel world...he offered to save a room and went out of his way to ensure I would not have a wasted journey! There is work to be done at this hotel, the lobby and lounge areas are smart and welcoming (poor people were flooded out recently and so work is still in progress)...I must admit the room I was in definately needs a complete revamp...but they know this and are working at it. Food is good, location is great and, most importantly of all, it is the staff that are the shining stars: I will return here as York is beautiful and we fancy a weekend break before Christmas...and our repeat custom will be down to the staff: well done Ibis York!

Room Tip: If possible, as k for a newer room, though mine was fine, just a little tired!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Your kind words will be an encouragement to all my team especially Michael, whom it sounds went above and beyond.

I do remember speaking to you on departure from the hotel and passed on your thanks to Michael.

Thank you for your understanding regarding the recent leak we had in the restaurant area and we are working along side our insurance company to have the restaurant area up and running as soon as possible.

Sould you wish to book for a break before christmas can I advise you that you will always find the cheapest rates on the Accor website or by contacting the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, South Wales
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A short 15 minute walk from the station this hotel is a series of oddities

The staff on arrival are friendly and efficient and the reception is modern looking
Step out of the lift on the 3rd floor and you seem to go back a decade in terms of decor.
Step in to your room and you seem to have mixture of styles as if they have done a refurb and had a particular budget in mind
The bathroom is modem and well appointed but the bedroom is dated. The artexed ceilings and walls are a throw back to an earlier time!

If you sleep on the road side be prepared for traffic noise that seems to go on for most of the night and starts early in the morning

On the plus side it is good value and is about 20 minutes from the city centre

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for you review of Ibis York.

I'm pleased to hear that your needs were met with the location of the hotel.

I will take onboard your comments regarding the rooms and corridors for when our next refurbishment is due.

I would like to take this oppertunity to welcome you back to Ibis York in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1,223 helpful votes 1,223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from two nights at the York Ibis, our second stay there. It is in a great location for seeing the sights, Micklegzte Bar less than 5 minutes walk.
Very quick and pleasant check-in, reception staff always cheery as you walk past.
Room and en-suite spotless, plenty of hot water, towels pristine and soft.
Vey comfy bed.
Great breakfast choice, cooked items replenished constantly, no items left to dry up on the hot plate. I have stayed in one of York's most prestigious hotels, in my opinion the breakfast at the Ibis is superior in quality.
Wonderful advantage of free off road parking.
We will definatly return when we visit York again.


Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay.

I will pass your kind words onto my team who I'm sure will be as pleased to hear as much as I was that you enjoyed your recent stay.

I am happy to hear that you found the location of the hotel suited your needs.

I'm also very pleased to hear you feedback regarding the rooms, breakfast and reception team.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay at Ibis York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very dog friendly. Free parking. The staff are wonderfully helpfull, polite, and pleasent ( a major credit to Ibis) . The room was lovely and large (all be a little dated in colour scheme) and very clean. The shower was fantastic. Food great. We were made very welcome. They did have a small section of the dinning area closed due to the flooding, but this did not interfere with the stay at all. Will definatly be staying here again in the future!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and i will pass on your kind words to my team.

Please let me take this oppertunity to welcome you back to Ibis York in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was discusting!
I stayed here in october for my birthday as i love york but would never stay here again!
Carpark - Stupidly small, tried to squeeze in to many places! Ended up scratching car!
Reception - Dont let the cleanliness & moderness fool you. Two young dipsy and sarcastic blondes holding reception. Really rude to be honest.
Room - oldy worldy, wasnt hoovered, hard bed, carpet had no lining under, window wouldnt open, tv broke, smelling fusty, teenagers partying in the next room also smoking, complained they did nothing young girl said "well it is friday"!
Bathroom - mucky, could wash your hands, get showered and use the toilet at the same time it was that small! Towels had yellow stains also hard!
When i finally got to sleep, breakfast was rotten! Was hard and taste as though been left a while, mucky fork.

There was more but going into to much im sure this is enough for you not to stay here! Please dont waste your money, soend that bit extra for somewhere actually in York, ibis is that far awY from the town its a 30 min walk down a steep hill which you walk up after!

DONT STAY HERE

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Due to the date of your stay, November 2011, I am unable to investigate with my team the comments that you have stated.

With regrds to the hard beds, I would like to mention that we have listened to guest feedback and as a company we have changed all our beds worldwide to memory foam matresses, for which we are getting very positive feedback.

We have employed a new head housekeeper and Food & Beverage team leader, so both departments have seen vast improvements.

I would like to take this oppertunity to welcome you back to Ibis York in the future to witness for yourself the improvements that we have put in place and also experience our new beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Address: 77 the Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis York Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.