We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quirky hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in York
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice quirky hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A small quirky hotel about 10 mins walk from the centre of York, or the station. As York is fairly compact, we decided to leave the car at home and take the train from London. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and adequate, but perhaps a little tired. Although we had planned to eat out each evening, it was far too convenient to eat in the Hotel’s basement restaurant. The food was very good, as was breakfast in the morning. We had a good few days in York.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    141
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
38
178
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Didn't actually stay at the Kilima as the whole city was fully booked due to the race meeting.
However Chris the receptionist was so kind and managed to find us a room at another hotel over at Weatherby. He really didn't need to do that and I wanted to say thanks for his trouble.
The hotel looked lovely and if all the staff are as good then I'm sure it would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I travelled with my sister and three teenager's .The room was immaculately clean , lots of room and the decor was really modern. The staff were really friendly especially the man on reception .We will definitely returning back in the near future thank you for a wonderful stay. Also I nearly forgot the breakfast was also fantastic the teenager's were most impressed .

Room Tip: We had a family room with adjoining door for children room 27 we had a four poster bed in our room l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed in "terrific" York for the weekend just gone!.....What a great place to visit, not enough time to do all we wanted too as the weather was so great we somehow just found all the pubs and great restaurants were more to our taste this weekend!!!!......As for the Hotel, the room we stayed in was quite dated, needed updating and for the price we paid I feel it could be a bit more "Upmarket?"....Most reviews say its a 10-15 minute walk to city, however we found that was only to the city wall at Micklegate, to get to the centre add another 5-10 minutes!!.....And in the heat we experienced not a problem getting there but did need a taxi back each night!!! As most reviews have said the reception was hardly ever manned, but when we wanted something it was only seconds waiting for assisstance!!!......The Staff we encountered were all really friendly, cannot fault the "English Breakfast", always piping hot, and plenty of it, along with whatever else you required, 1st class nosh!!!.....We ventured to the pool only once over the weekend and found this to be very clean, well maintained and a nice refreshing way to cool off after walking back late afternoon!! All said and done a nice little hotel, if expectations are not too high, very clean, and added benefit of free parking!!!!! we were also allowed to leave our car in the carpark after checking out, so we could enjoy a full day back in York, without the hassle of parking charges in York, which Im told are quite expensive.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the new extension, as these might be more updated than the older one we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have literally just got back from our first weekend in York together having been on many weekend breaks together around the uk & europe.

On arriving at the hotel there was no one to be found at reception, on ringing the bell several times 'finally' somebody appeared, i'd like to add with no apology about our wait in reception. The young male I would like to add was friendly & attentive, showed us where our room was & advised where other facilities were in the hotel.

In entering the room it was clean but we noticed that the bed was incredibly small considering both me & my partner are of slim build but we thought nothing of it & continued for a very good evening in York. The hotel itself is a good 15 minutes brisk from the centre but this did not bother us as we were aware & are of relatively good shape.

In entering the room on our return the room was very stuffy & this was where we had our first night of complete lack of sleep due to the bed size.

In the morning we were still trying to remain positive & headed down for breakfast. My partner straight away headed towards the cereals & juice area & was advised that this would be brought to us?? We found this very strange as the majority of hotels nowadays allow you to get you to get those accompliments yourself? But again we left it be & ordered our cereals & hot foods. Unfortunately we never received these & my apparent poached egg was a hard boiled & my partners food was cold, we perhaps should have said something but by that time the sleep deprivation & the cock up already just put us off to be honest.

We headed for a swim & the pool was nice but the steam room seat was broken & by looking at other reviews its been that way for a long time which shouts out a lack of attention to detail.

I didnt want to go for breakfast the next day & would rather had gone somewhere else but my partner was still optimistic, again unfortunately it wasn't to standard, again when we checked out this morning nobody was to be found hence having to leave this review rather than bringing this to their attention.

Unfortunately the hotel needs to raise its game to compete with the chain of hotels that are far cheaper & offer better quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-sea
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This charming hotel (originally the rectory for the local church which has been extended) is ideal for visiting the city of York. It has plenty of car parking and there is a frequent bus service (nos 1 and 10) into the City Centre with bus stops right outside the hotel (senior citizen bus passes are accepted). For younger legs, walking into the City Centre, railway station and the National Railway Museum are all within a 15-20 minute walk. The staff were all very friendly, professional and offered advice and assistance. Chris and Samantha in particular make guests feel very welcome with nothing too much trouble for any of their staff. We can highly recommend the food in the downstairs restaurant where food is cooked to order. It is of an excellent standard but note that portions are very generous - we never managed more than 2 courses! There is a good choice of breakfast dishes and the local Whitby kippers are recommended. Daily specials augment the menu for those staying more than a couple of nights. The swimming pool is clean and offers a welcome dip after long days visiting the sights. Our suite was large with a separate lounge, a four poster bed in the bedroom, and both bath and shower in the small bathroom. Thankfully the hotel provided a room fan which did help to move the air around during the uncommon heat wave! We would certainly recommend this hotel if visiting York.

Room Tip: Room 20 is a spacious quiet suite with separate lounge and a corner bath and shower in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

First visit to this hotel. What a pleasant surprise. Staff are all very friendly and professional - any issues sorted promptly and without question. Room very clean and spacious although during this heatwave no air conditioning made it a little uncomfortable despite the best efforts of our room fan. Had breakfast and dinner at the hotel, both of which were delicious - be aware however that the portions are enormous so make sure you are hungry! The hotel is a bit of a walk from the city centre and/or train station but only a few minutes by taxi. I would highly recommend the Kilima.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel

Address: 129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BESTWESTERN Kilima hotel is a privately run family feel hotel with 26 bedrooms. Located on the west side of the historic city of York we are a 10-15 minute walk to the bar walls and a further 5-10 to the city centre. We are on two bus routes and busses go every 10-15 minutes. Taxis are around £5.00. We have our own car park as well as an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room. All rooms are en-suite and all have flat screen TV and free coffee and tea making facilities. We pride ourselves on our friendly relaxed approach as well as our drive to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.