We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, some distance to the centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in York
Norway
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Very nice, some distance to the centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is located a 15 minute walk from the old town and the rail station. Use a bus or a taxi if you arrive with lots of luggage.

Staff was very friendly. For our family of five we got a room with two bedrooms and a four poster bed in the master bedroom. Bathroom was somewhat small, but the pool in the basement made up for it.

Breakfast was nice and plentiful.

Did not try the hotel restaurant, as we found it somewhat costly. There's no other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    141
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
38
178
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
bracknell
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have just returned from best western kilima after going to York races,we were made to feel really welcome and Chris who first greeted us is so friendly and welcoming,as is all of the staff.
The food is good and the bar down stairs is just what you need after a cracking day ou.Would
recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in York.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western Kilima between 18-28 June 2013. My ten-day business stay was fantastic and the staff were very friendly, helpful and went the extra mile for me making me feel very comfortable during my ten days away from home. I would HIGHLY recommend the hotel to any type of visitor (tourist and business alike) as it is situated in a qiuet residential location and close to the city centre and only a 10-minute walk to the train station. The hotel, apart from its convenient & quiet location and exceptionally helpful staff, it boasts a well-equiped gym, an indoor swimming pool and a steam room! Their rates are a bargain considering the services they offer and the good WiFi connection throughout the premises was amazing for someone who was 10 days away from office.. :) Thanks Chris!

Room Tip: The room was spotless and comfortable with everything I could ask for (the coffee and biscuits too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the friendly greeting when we arrived and being shown to our room not just told where it find it to great breakfasts and lovely dinners what more could we want. Everybody was really pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. A little dated in decorations but it suits the hotel. Noisy fan in the bathroom could do with replacing. So much nicer than the impersonal chains.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

All staff very helpful & pleasant to talk to.
Rooms whilst smaller than most chains are what makes it special to stay in. Decor tasteful & not too kitch. Breakfast was really good, with good choices available.
The downsides, the pool was ok not too warm so ideal for a swim, but the steam room needs repair or updating. A sauna would be better. Please get staff who listen to customers at breakfast. I asked for another pot of tea not a bowl of cereal!
Would i stay again, a big yes. Nice touch to put spare tea coffee sugar & milk out overnight, especially as i do not drink alcohol.

Room Tip: Go with a friend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed at the Kilima hotel many times on business trips and always found staff to be very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. This is not a modern 'chain' style hotel, but I much prefer the personal touch of this privately run hotel. All rooms are comfortable, my only criticism being showers could be better and would prefer a larger tv in room. Menus are good and they are willing to make changes to dishes to your personal preferences. Breakfasts are also very good with plenty to choose from. They also have their own free car park with plenty spaces, which is not the norm for York! Their swimming pool and small fitness room is quite impressive for a hotel of this size. All in, a good hotel, I always look to stay here when in York.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

There must have been different staff during our stay, because I don't recognise the ultra-helpful people in the other reviews. Our room was small, so was the bed, and the bathroom was tiny. The carpet looked grubby. As we were there to celebrate my 50th birthday, it was especially disappointing to be somewhere less than ideal. It's also a fairly long walk from the centre, about 15 minutes, so once you're out, you stay out. We didn't try the restaurant, but the breakfast was excellent (except the scrambled eggs, which are powdered and not nice.) The free car park and wifi are bonuses you don't get many other places. We didn't try the pool/sauna. The place has an air of neglect, from the stale smell to the worn carpets. We love York, and I had hoped that the Kilima would become our base for future trips, but the search for an affordable, comfortable convenient hotel in York goes on.

Room Tip: We had no street noise at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel

Address: 129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BESTWESTERN Kilima hotel is a privately run family feel hotel with 26 bedrooms. Located on the west side of the historic city of York we are a 10-15 minute walk to the bar walls and a further 5-10 to the city centre. We are on two bus routes and busses go every 10-15 minutes. Taxis are around £5.00. We have our own car park as well as an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room. All rooms are en-suite and all have flat screen TV and free coffee and tea making facilities. We pride ourselves on our friendly relaxed approach as well as our drive to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.