We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Maurices Road | Monk Bar, York YO31 7JA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in York
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed here on the Valentines Weekend offer. The hotel has a very good location with easy parking. Our room was spacious, individual and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent, with a very friendly and well organised staff with strong leadership. The same could not be said about the evening staff. The service was VERY slow and eventually non-existent..........we are still waiting for the coffee! The evening dinner to be fair was very good and well presented. Overall, we would stay here again because it is a good hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrySmedley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thank you so much for letting us know that you enjoyed your Valentine's Weekend with us - glad that all went well, although disappointed that you had poor service with dinner - the coffee and home made fudge were worth waiting for I'm told! Many apologies. Glad to see that you will come back and stay again - there is always so much to see and do in York! Come back soon - Best wishes - June Nelsey, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    322
    173
    97
    40
See reviews for
132
448
28
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Stayed for two nights in February as part of a two day package with three course dinner and wine on the first night. For 200 quid in York we thought it great value - compared to a Travelodge where you would't get breakfast and free parking thrown in.
The check in was excellent - very polite cheerful staff. We were able to checkin early then collect our keys later when the room was ready. The room was a nice size, clean and comfortable. I think our two complaints would be that the the room was too warm - even with the radiators turned off and the window open. Also, the floors seemed very creeky. So much so that we heard our upstairs neighbours arrive home late one night and i'm not usually a light sleeper. That said, I did sleep well and it was a very comfortable bed.
The food in the hotel restaurant was very good. I'll be honest and say that I was cautious about booking a package deal with meal in. But I'd recommend it - nice restaurant, nice staff and really nice food.
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrySmedley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
I wqas delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay on our Winter in the City Deal - the older part of the hotel does have creaking floorboards - I always say that it adds character! Do come back for a Spring in the City break - I see that the daffodils are popping up around the city walls - it's one of the prettiest times of the year! Look forward to welcoming you back - and thanks so much for the review, Regards June Nelsey - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

A great hotel for a short break. Carparking no problem, a plus for York. really handy for the centre of town. Very pleasant staff, nice breakfast and large bedroom. If I were to be picky I would say that perhaps a bit has to be invested in the product.
But a great best Western and we will return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I have stayed in many best western hotels and can honestly say that the staff,both in receptin and domestic are the friendliest and most helpful of them all which gives the hotel a very pleasant and comfortable atmosphere. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and certainly intend staying again because it has of course a fantastic location being situated in the heart of York!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STOKE ON TRENT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

A Great Hotel in a good location. If you’re looking for a good location, hotel, food, rooms and friendly staff this hotel ticks all the boxes. We stayed here over Christmas and had a very good stay. All the staff were very friendly and wanted to please you. There are quite places within the hotel to sit and relax including a secluded court yard to unwind in. You will come away from here feeling good and wanting to return. Try it and see.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrySmedley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Many thanks for your review and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit here at Christmas - my team and I really enjoyed Christmas too - welcoming old friends and making new ones. So glad that you had a good time - come back soon! Kind regards - June Nelsey and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times. The first time we stayed the room was immaculate, could not fault hence the reason we booked again, but with each time we attend (5th time so far over the last 2yrs) we find the room offered is not up-to standard of the price they charge. Last room booked was a 4 poster bed (£125) without a bath (just a shower) The room was on the corner over the dining area (R25) with a busy main road with plenty of noise. The fan would not go off in the bathroom. The room was also very shabby and in need of immediate refurbishment. We now have no intentions of attending this hotel again until there is news it has been refurbished,

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrySmedley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
| was disappointed to learn that your stay in one of our Four Posters wasn't up to scratch and I have checked the room myself today. Our Four Posters were redecorated only last year - and they each have a double shower - we changed from a bath with shower over as we got lots of requests for shower not bath. I am sorry if you felt that the hotel was looking tired - we work hard to ensure that cleanliness is very high, facilities work, and the team give a great quality of service. Next time you want to stay do send me an email - I'll make sure you're not disappointed in your room and will upgrade you from a standard room to the best one available. Thank you so much for your honest review - but please come back! Kind regards - June Nelsey and the Monkbar team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

This was a second visit at Monkbar Hotel in York, for our Christmas shopping trip.
We arrived to be greeted by friendly staff. We booked on a Autumn in the City deal.
We were directed to our room to find that we had been upgraded to a suite.
It was Fab!!!
Great rooms, great food, great staff.
Give it a try.... already looking forward to our next visit.
Well done.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

Address: St. Maurices Road | Monk Bar, York YO31 7JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in York
#13 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monkbar Hotel is at the very heart of the historic and vibrant city of York. Ninety-nine double/twin rooms individually designed and decorated, some overlooking our Courtyard garden, others overlooking the City Walls. There are three training suites each with integral break-out rooms and with the facilities to meet the Best Western Executive Standard. The Courtyard Garden is ideal for summer barbecues and relaxing coffee breaks, together with plenty of elegant lounges. Our welcoming bar has a range of draught beers and the restaurant, offering chef's menu and a choice of a la carte options. We are one of the few hotels in York to have been awarded Investors in People, in recognition of the quality of service and care you will receive during your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.