We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton York to your Saves list
Hilton York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in York
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Good location, room adequate, great breakfast. All staff very friendly.After reading some of the reviews was a little concerned but everything was great. Although like others I am surprised you have to pay extra for wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Planespotter,

Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed our Hilton breakfast and central location.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    526
    384
    183
    85
See reviews for
295
684
44
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

A great location right in the centre of York very close to Museums, the Yorvik centre and York Castle. The hotel was nice with very friendly and helpful staff. We had a couple of problems but these were fixed and the hotel went out of its way to put things right for us. We enjoyed afternoon tea in the restaurant.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear R P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hilton York.

It is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am pleased that my team went out of their way to make things right for you and you enjoyed our afternoon tea in Towers restaurant. I will be sharing your comments with my team as they serve as a great motivator and I am proud of them all.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Watch for the shower pressure. It is not there. Neither is the hot water pressure Air hand dryers in the gents bathroom not working, and I mentioned this 1 year ago to the hotel staff ! Breakfast is very, very good, full selection and very friendly staff to serve. Bar is very limited and very small

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We used Tesco Clubcard vouchers to stay at the Hilton in York last week. The service I received from the staff was very good indeed - they were helpful at the front desk and getting gluten free food was no problem. The stay was spoilt by the noise we experienced in our room. We were in a room above a door that was banged open and closed all night long and there was no soundproofing between our room and the corridor. We could hear other guests chatting in the corridor in the early hours of the morning. The view from the breakfast room of Clifford Tower was lovely and the location of the hotel meant the sights were just a short walk away - however the noise caused a very disturbed night so I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We booked a Superior room and were disappointed that it was compact and looked like the interior of a Premier Inn room but far more expensive. The carpet was stained in many places, bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom very small. The room felt stuffy and hot and there was no air conditioning. The tables in the dining area, where we ate our breakfast, were very close together and overall we were left feeling disappointed. We had previously stayed in the hotel four years ago and this is why we chose

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just enjoyed a stay here, friendly staff, upgraded to room on second floor with view of the tower and received a welcome pack for little extra money, thanks. Ideal location to explore York, great breakfast, nice to be greeted by enthusiastic staff. Also parked here, would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Worth paying for upgrade if possible, overlooking the Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband booked the hotel for two nights as a surprise for our anniversary, we arrived quite late on Friday night and had been given an upgrade. The staff were warm friendly and extremely helpful in recommending a place to eat. On the second evening we ate in the elegant hotel restaurant where again we were greeted by a lovely surprise of balloons on our table and an anniversary card, the food was terrific. Over all the hotel is in a fantastic location, every member of staff from reception to bar to domestic we're friendly, happy and extremely helpful . The food at breakfast and evening time was out standing. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: One Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.