We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but tired hotel, more like a holiday inn.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton York to your Saves list
Hilton York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in York
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location but tired hotel, more like a holiday inn.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great central location but it is really overpriced for what it offers. The rooms are quite basic for £239 a night, the bathroom was tiny and the wardrobe just a shelf. The bed was fairly comfy but only a queen size so not really big enough for two. The hotel's only amenities are the restaurant and bar which is quite cold and not very cosy or welcoming. If you are looking for a more luxury or glamorous weekend break for the money I would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear welovetotravel09,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Please be assured that all your comments have been noted.

I am pleased you that you enjoyed our great location and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    489
    345
    165
    78
See reviews for
270
615
40
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is fairly close to the heart of the city so was ideally located for a short break stay. The price of the room including breakfast was reasonable given what you can pay to stay in York City centre. Breakfast was of a really good standard with lots of choice and the staff were very helpful. The bar however was seriously expensive which resulted in us only having 1 round of drinks in our stay. Its a shame they price themselves out of the market but there are too many other nice places in York to grab a drink without feeling ripped off.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Susan S,

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay.

I am delighted to learn that you had a lovely stay and found the location ideal for a short city break.

I am pleased you enjoyed our Hilton breakfast and enjoyed the various choices on offer.

Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton York.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The whole experience was excellent. Checking in the receptionist was lovely. The room was on the 3rd & top floor, I asked for a quiet room & upgrade. I got both & our room overlooked Cliffords Tower. The room was excellent, the only comment would be that the window was on the small side. Bed was comfortable & huge. We had a drink in the bar after the show & as usual as expected was on the expensive side. Breakfast was excellent & better than other Hilton Hotels we have stayed in.
Overall this hotel is one of the better Hilton Hotels we have stayed.

Room Tip: We were on the top 3rd floor and seemed to be very quiet. When booking request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear jenkodonny,

Thank you for your positive comments on this website.

I appreciate your kind comments relating to the Hilton York and I am very pleased you had an excellent experience. I am very proud of my team and will be sharing your feed back with them all as it serves as a great motivator.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortson, GA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I recently stayed several times at this hotel. The location is very central, the food in the restaurant is good and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, the housekeeping wasn't very good (they actually left used face clothes draped over the sink)' the front desk seldom answers the phone, and the noise from the streets was quite loud and woke me up a few times. If you get a good rate and need someplace central, it will work. Otherwise there are better places to stay in York. One highlight was the chef at breakfast...she was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear tarajd,

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback online.

I am sorry to read of your disappointment and that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. All your feedback has been shared with the relevant Heads of Department and the various issues will be addressed.

Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel is in great location. Close to town and other attractions. Small underground car park so You have to leave the key at the reception. lounge very small. Service very good. Especially in the Outside bar/restaurant. Great food also. Breakfast also very good. Room very clean and very comfortable. Perfect hote for relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Jarorado,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

Delighted to read you had a great trip and found our hotel perfect for relaxing and received very good customer service from my team. It is a pleasure to receive such great feedback and I will be sharing your comments with them all as they serve as a great motivator.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Hilton in York is located opposite Clifford's Tower, one of the remnants of York's historic castle. If like me you get a room at the front of the hotel, you are in for a treat. If not, however, you are still very centrally located to explore all that this fantastic city has to offer.

I stayed whilst traveling for work over two nights. The room and bathroom weren't spacious as such, but neither was it cramped. The bed was huge and the room was clean. The menu, breakfast and extras were as you would expect at any Hilton. We had a drink in the bar in the evening but for a proper York experience I'd venture out to one of the city's many pubs where you'll get a much better atmosphere.

A couple of colleagues ventured out to the nearby gym in the morning and were pleasantly surprised. It's not part of the hotel, but allows access to guests.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear DanJamesMc,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this website.

I am pleased that you found our central location great for exploring York, it is a lovley city.

Delighted to read your comments regarding your room and your colleagues enjoyed their time at the local gym.

Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I spent one night there with my husband this weekend. The location of the hotel is perfect.
We upgraded our room which has a view of Cliffords Tower. We did not benefit from any of the other complementary services. There was no bottled water, wine, dressing gowns etc. However i spoke to thr receptionist on check out who was very apologetic about our lack of service and gave us a half bottle of wine to take home. Thank You.
The room (119) had a double bed and a single bed. The double bed was not as comfortable as other Hilton hotel beds i have slept in and there was no choice regarding pillows. This made the room very small with little room to walk around. I think this is more of a family room. It certainly did not have a hint of luxuary as you would expect for an upgrade. The bathroom is small and the shower poor.
The breakfast is of the usual standard of a the Hilton chain with a good choice of foods. We had a 2 course evening meal included which was very nice.
All the staff are helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Joe28750,

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent stay at the Hilton York.

Thank you for your detailed feedback, which has all been noted and I am sorry to read of your disappointment regarding the lack of service. I was pleased to learn that my team were apologetic and helpfu and will be sharing your feedback with them all.

Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: One Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.