We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation in lovely surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Middlethorpe Hall & Spa to your Saves list
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishopthorpe Rd, York YO23 2GB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in York
South Yorksihre
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Total relaxation in lovely surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

This is the second tie we have stayed at Middlethorpe Hall and once again it didnt disapoint. The rooms are tastfully decorated for the period and is spotlessly clean. The food is delicious and always of a very high standard. I didnt try the spa so cant comment . In my opinion the major plus for this hotel is the staff - service is second to non, staff are always polite and very helpful and do everything with a SMILE, which to me is a huge bonus. This hotel is perfect if you are visiting York Racecourse as it is just over the road. We will definately be going back in the near future and wouldnt hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    139
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
117
494
37
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We had an excellent visit to Middlethorpe this week. Our accommodation was absolutely perfect and could not have been more comfortable.Our room was tastefully furnished with antique furniture and was immaculately clean. We certainly enjoyed walking in the beautiful gardens and admired the flowers which have been tended with care. The Spa is restful with first class staff. We shall definitely return to Middlethorpe .
M & N

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Although this hotel is a couple of miles outside of the Walls of York, it is a great place to stay while visiting the city. It is "old school" all the way, and you really feel like you have stepped back into a more graceful time. Everyone seems happy to be working there, and therefore the service is excellent. The dining room is a little pricey for dinner, but it really is outstanding. There are acres of gardens to enjoy, and a very good spa on site.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

It is a refreshing and relaxing 'step back in time' to come to an Historic House Hotel. (I say the same about its sister hotel Hartwell House & Spa near Aylesbury, but I cannot comment on the third hotel in the group, Bodysgallen Hall & Spa, North Wales, as I have not visited recently).

The pace of life slowed and we were cocooned in beautiful surroundings - authentic restored decorations and antiques inside and varied gardens with rolling parkland outside - as befits a National Trust property.

The staff were discreet, pleasant and helpful, the food delicious and the Spa with swimming pool enticing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

I stayed here only for one night in a Single Room (with very comfortable double bed) in the Courtyard and really enjoyed my stay. I thought it was great value for money as I had the special deal of £125 which included the evening meal and breakfast as well as the use of the spa. My experience from booking the room to being greeted on arrival was very good and the room was quite small but fine for what I needed for one night. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room as well as a large complimentary bottle of water.

One slight niggle was the fact I had to phone up and pay for internet usage as I was there on business, but once given the code, the access was fast and reliable with no hitches.

I did use the swimming pool, sauna, steamroom etc... across the road and had the place to myself which was perfect for unwinding after a busy day in meetings.

Dinner was fabulous though I have to say was very 'pretty' without there being too much on the plate as many expensive restaurants are. Could have done with a bit more on the plate as it was so tasty! The food is very expensive if purchased outside of the deal but was delicious so worth it for a special occasion.

I do agree with a couple of other reviews that mentioned the dining room lacking a bit of atmosphere - a little bit of classical music in the background would have been perfect rather than absolute silent and other diners whispering to each other across the tables. Perhaps I noticed this more as I was dining alone but if people spoke at normal volume, the whole restaurant seemed to hear!

The staff I spoke with were all extremely courteous and seemed happy to be working there. Breakfast was lovely and there was a good selection for the 'continental' choice and although the full English was extra, it did look very tasty.

All in all, I really enjoyed the stay and would love to go back again - particularly to stay for one of the entertainment nights they host on the terrace.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Just back from a 3 night stay as a small group of ( German and very critical ) friends.
Our overall impression was that it was a very classy place - good service - peace and tranquility abound - a place to relax and unwind. We slept in the superior rooms in the courtyard which overlook and enjoy the scents from the beautiful gardens. Comfortable with good beds, slightly lacking in cupboard space.
The huge lawn at the back of the very impressive main house is a wonderfully sleepy place - like stepping into a Bronty novel or the 18th century - a perfect setting to have one´s afternoon tea.
The spa ( 10 short steps across the road) was very fine - an excellent pool, very clean, at a perfect temperature and very accomodating opening hours. I have been annoyed at many such establishments not opening until 9.00 - here it was 7.30 and ideal for a swim before breakfast.
The "continental" breakfast was somewhat sparse. Having lived and traveeled on the continent for 25 years I am qualified to say that mere cereals, fresh fruit salad, toast and jams out of a jar do not quantify a continental breakfast. This needs improvement. However the dinner was very good, if somewhat pricey.
I was slightly surprised to see no dress requirements for dinner in such imposing surroundings. I for one am all in favour of such and hope the old ways are not dying out.
Give the place a try - you should love it !!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We were recently at Middlethorpe Hall for a two-day break to get away from our busy lives in London. We could not have chosen a better place for doing exactly that. The hotel is beautiful; elegant, but unpretentious. Our four-poster bedroom overlooking the stunning grounds was exquisite. We made full use of the hotel; I had a facial and manicure and my boyfriend, who loves his treatments (!) had a massage and a facial. We used to the gym, which is small but perfectly formed, and the swimming pool. As we are both in training for a triathlon, we were grateful that the pool was a childfree area at certain times of the day! We had breakfast in bed (what is a break without breakfast in bed!) and lunch at the hotel, which was very good quality, but we didn’t have dinner at the hotel, as we preferred to sample the restaurants in York. The staff at Middlethorpe are all very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend Middlethorpe wholeheartedly; we had such a relaxing time. We will definitely be back when we need to ‘get away from it all’ again; I have a feeling that will be sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Rd, York YO23 2GB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.