We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Middlethorpe Hall & Spa to your Saves list
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishopthorpe Rd, York YO23 2GB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shop til you drop!
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in York
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spent one night at Middlethorpe, en route the Yorkshire Dales - would love to have been there longer. The room was perfect - beautifully decorated, and comfortable in every way. All the staff were delightful, the ambiance wonderful and the food excellent (we had dinner in the lovely dining-room). Shades of modern-day life at Downton Abbey!

Room Tip: Try to be in the house itself - I was in a courtyard room, which was fine, as the weather was nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    138
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
116
493
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The room, public areas and gardens are well maintained. The staff at the reception very friendly but the restaurant staff not so. We were put off by not having any tea making facilities and to have a cup via room service would cost £3 plus £5 delivery.
The food in the restaurant is overpriced and not exceptional. My wife and I had scallops to start, £12 each for one and a half scallops and a bit of cauliflower. Main course not much better so we gave up on a pudding.
Never again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlethorpe, General Manager at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are sorry that this reviewer, on his first contribution to Tripadvisor, is reporting having had an average experience at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa. We regret that we were not made aware of these comments at the time of the visit.

Indeed, as stated in the ‘information for guests’, tea and coffee making facilities are available on request and at no extra cost.

It is although worth mentioning that:
 The prices stated in this report are not correct;
 As well as our ‘gourmet’ and ‘à-la-carte’ menus, a value for money ‘table d’hôte’ dinner offering a choice of three first-courses, three main-courses and three puddings is also available for our resident guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at Middlethorpe from the Friday to the Monday.
The room was lovely, immaculate and charming.
We had a cream tea on the Friday with champagne which was delightful.
Breakfast was fantastic and we ate Sunday lunch which was absolute quality.
The staff was helpful, polite and eager to help
Definitely recommend to anyone wishing to have a relaxing break

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I made a telephone call to reception where i spoke to a supercilious gentleman called Jose who claimed to be the assistant manager. Had it not been for the fact my stay had been a gift for me and my wife I would never have set eyes on Middlethorpe Hall. I find it hard to believe such an insolent person is employed as the assistant manager for such a highly rated establishment.

That said we throughly enjoyed our stay and found the staff attentive, helpful and customer friendly. The fare was top class and the rooms clean, neat and tidy and most comfortable. The public rooms and gardens are exactly what one requires for a quiet and relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlethorpe, General Manager at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are delighted that these guests thoroughly enjoyed their recent visit to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa. Their praises towards the team here, our historic public rooms and our award-winning gardens are very pleasing.

We of course regret the difficult conversation that took place at the time of booking:- as in most hotels, we do require a credit card to secure a hotel reservation, even when a guest is informing us that he/she will present a gift voucher to settle his/her account on departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We held our wedding and reception at Middlethorpe Hall and received excellent service. All the staff couldn't do enough for us and whilst it was a very small affair we were made to feel very special. The staff anticipated our requests and their attention to detail was excellent. Great food, great rooms and décor, great staff, great hotel!

Room Tip: As the bride and groom we had the Duke of York suite and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Wow, Wow, Wow was all my wife could say as we entered on our recent two day visit. A 2 night stay for a special birthday treat at an unknown location (as far as the wife was concerned) turned out to be a wonderful experience for us both. Afternoon tea served outside as the weather was superb in the settings of this historic house certainly started our break of in a relaxing style. But from the moment we entered on the Thursday afternoon to leaving Saturday morning the staff bar non were pleasant, polite and helpful. And that includes Martin the painter, sprucing up the external decor. We'll live off his meeting at dining events for months to come! The nitty gritty relating to room cleanliness etc, couldn't fault it. Spotless, comfortable bed, exceptional toiletries and a turn down service each evening, which was a nice welcome when returning from exploring around York during the evening. Breakfast of both continental style and/or Yorkshire cooked was available and as expected everything tip top quality. Dinner on the Friday night was an unmissable experience. From the complimentary glass of champagne to celebrate the birthday to the fine dining that followed. So well presented and cooked to perfection - I guess I must add at this point that it's not for the feint hearted on the wallet strings chaps - gulp! But was it worth it? YES. So definately a place to add to your must visit list and being so close to York you'll never be short of things to see or do. Well done to all at Middlethorpe 11/10 for you on our reckoning and thank you for making our stay so memorable. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are very good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our couple of days at Middlethorpe Hall felt special and many aspects of the hotel (beautiful grounds, historic surroundings, attentive service) helped ensure we went away pretty happy. Our room (number 12) in the main house was well equipped and had everything one would expect from a hotel at this level. A couple of minor points: some of the complimentary toiletries were a few days from their use by date and our bath lacked a hair washing shower attachment which made things rather awkward when using the bath.
The hotel did let itself down though when it came to arranging the two invoices for my mother and myself. My bill was incorrect, as we had been charged the wrong room rate and my mother's was several hundred pounds too high, as items from another room (dinner and drinks etc.) had been incorrectly added. This was eventually sorted out, but there should be a clearer system when charging to a room (perhaps showing your key or signing a chit?).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Rd, York YO23 2GB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.