We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, But Avoid Weddings!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Middlethorpe Hall & Spa to your Saves list
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishopthorpe Rd, York YO23 2GB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in York
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, But Avoid Weddings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

As a National Trust Historic House Hotel near York, Middlethorpe Hall stands up well as a quality retreat for a few days away break. Its period features blend in with modern essentials to give it that comfortable feel in albeit stately home type charisma. The garden and grounds (25 acres) are beautifully manicured and the drinks terrace at the back of the house takes full advantage of the outlook. We stayed there for a three night break, Thursday until Sunday. Our stay started well with a room upgrade to a four poster suite in the house. We had booked a room in the Courtyard originally. The room was delightful and the outlook over the gardens at the back was stunning.
We used the Spa which was functional with all the things you’d expect such as pool, sauna, steam room and exercise room.
Up until Saturday night, and more of that later, the dining experience was excellent and was very much of the fine dining variety with a price to match! However, there is an allowance in the room rate that goes towards dinner which lessons the expense a little, and encourage one to use the restaurant. One thing to note though was the menu didn’t change for all our stay and that was a bit limiting. The service at breakfast and generally was a bit inconsistent and whilst the full English was on offer the items that made up the continental breakfast were spread along the window sills which made for awkward selection. However, because of the house design it probably could not be arranged any better.
Now to cover Saturday night and this issue is a hobby horse of mine. Whilst I accept that hotels have to cater for weddings given the lucrative nature of these events, when they impact on the running of the hotel for the rest of guests then I really get annoyed. Particularly give the cost of staying at Middlethorpe. Firstly, that evening I had a perfectly good glass of Kir Royal tipped down me by the inexperienced waiter and furthermore it took the best part of 40 minutes to have a 15 minute chocolate soufflé delivered to the table. Small details but when one pays top dollar, near perfect service is expected.
That said when things run smoothly the hotel is a desirable destination, but may be avoid Saturdays

Room Tip: Rooms in the house overlooking gardens are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    139
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
117
494
37
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

From our arrival to the moment we left, very reluctantly, we felt really well looked after by the friendly and attentive staff. The whole place was so homely, comfortable and well presented that it felt as if we were VIPS who had arrived at a very smart house party, dinner was absolutely sensational. We had a courtyard room which was low ceilinged and cosy but well furnished and perfectly adequate, clean as a whistle and the bed was very comfy. We used the spa which was equally friendly and had a lovely pampering session. The gardens are superb and beautifully kept. The only thing that I could comment on in a negative way would be the noise from the A64 but there is nothing they can do about that and that breakfast was all a bit flustered and not very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We arrived at Middlethorpe Hall in pouring rain. It did not matter. The warmth of our welcome, our fabulous suite in the main house, wonderful food and a marvellous Pool & Spa made this a most wonderful stay from the moment we arrived till we left. Without exception, every member of staff whom we encountered had the right mix of professionalism and friendliness. Being a National Trust Hotel, we fully appreciated the efforts taken to fit-out this lovely hotel in keeping with its time...and yet no comfort is spared. It sort of felt like Jane Austen with mod cons!!! A most gorgeous place. Well done to the whole team. I must also mention how glorious the gardens are. Thanks a million.

Room Tip: We loved the main house; it felt lovely to come down that wonderful stairs in the morning! But, I m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed for a short visit with a friend. It was delightful - the hotel and gardens are beautiful. My room was in a pretty annexe, very comfortable. The food was delicious. We received a warm welcome and the whole experience was excellent. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 6th wedding anniversary. We stayed in one of the four poster bedrooms in the main house, I loved every minute of it, and recommend it highly. The pool was a great addition to our trip. Breakfast was delicious and presented very well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strensall, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having married here 16 years ago, we returned for a special Anniversary celebration. We were lucky to get a last minute table reservation despite York Race week..... And we were not disappointed.

Greeted at the door and taken through to the beautiful Drawing Room for drinks and canapés.....a taste of what was to come. We began with scallops served with seaweed and then a good robust portion of Yorkshire Lamb. I don't recall exactly the cut or how it was cooked however the presentation, the sauce and the overall flavour .......how to describe that feeling that you never want it to end! All washed down with a fantastic Rufus Stone - Heathcote Shiraz as recommended by knowledgeable manager Adam. Our only regret was that we were not able to stay that night! Keep it up, you all do it so very well. Thank you. Jackie Crawford

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Rd, York YO23 2GB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.