We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but not a four star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Middlethorpe Hall & Spa to your Saves list
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishopthorpe Rd, York YO23 2GB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Interesting but not a four star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Enjoyed the pool. The garden is pretty, the staff pleasant, but the courtyard room was cramped and cluttered, decor tired and fussy, and the floor above squeaked badly. Linens were clean but the good big bed was spoiled by heavy blankets and coverlet. Television had very limited selection of channels, while internet connection had to be requested. The tiny bathroom offered a nice selection of toiletries. Breakfast in the restaurant was disappointing, with chilled yoghurts, chopped fruit, cereals, juices and milk laid out on windowsills directly above hot radiators. Dinner at night was good but grossly overpriced. Middlethorpe is historically interesting but lacking the ambience and amenities of a proper four star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    148
    42
    11
    9
See reviews for
133
534
38
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Middlethorpe Hall & Spa was the venue for our daughter’s wedding on Sunday 10 April 2011. We could not imagine another venue that could match the wonderful experience we had there.

Our daughter had her dream wedding thanks to the high quality venue and the unbelievable staff at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa. Julia was fantastic, Mr Chatard was the genial host, Gwënaël was superb and all of the staff we encountered were a credit to their profession. It was customer service of the very highest order from everyone.

From the drinks reception on the lawns to the rear of the property and the wedding ceremony in the Barlow Room, to the sublime food and wine we consumed in copious amounts, everything was fantastic.

When considering the whole setting, be it the backdrop of the beautiful grounds or the high quality of the accommodation on offer, there was absolutely nothing to be critical of – it was perfect.

We would encourage anyone considering an intimate wedding experience to consider Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, as, in our opinion, it is simply unbeatable.

We would like to put on record our thanks to all at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa for the incredible experience you created for our daughter’s big day. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We got married in Middlethorpe hall september 2010.Would recomend venue for small weddings,it was just 4 adults,and our daughter,it would be big enough for 15 gest i think.Staff was very helpful,friendly,provide everything we needed.We stayed in cottage,had private parking,2bed rooms and sitting room.Very peasful location,beautiful gardens.Wedding breaktfast was exelent,hight quality.Main hall have beautiful rooms,causy library,big sitting area.Its well worth the money.We definetly come back.Its about 10min drive to York center,close to horse raising.

Room Tip: would recomend stay in cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

The hotel looks exquisite and is the perfect place to stay for both cith and countryside breaks, if you really want to you can walk into the centre of York, but relaxing in the lounge of the hotel with the fabulous afternoon tea after a morning spent destressing in the spa proved to be the winning option for us! We also chose to dine in the hotel, which was a great decision as the food was heavenly, the venison was perfection and the fish devine. Breakfast was equally good the next morning and the staff friendly and helpful throughout. We loved it and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

A fantastic and seamless stay from start to finish. Exquisite food. Nothing too much trouble. Wonderful place for a break. Would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We have just returned from a fabulous 2 night stay at Middlethorpe Hall. What a marvellous experience! The staff were absolutely superb, friendly, helpful and accomodating. The hotel itself is very impressive, it definitely has the WOW factor. When you go there you step back in time to a time when REAL service mattered. We stayed in a junior suite in the courtyard. We had dinner in the hotel on our first night.... absolutely wonderful, so many fantatstic taste sensations...the apple crumble souffle was heavenly. We spent some time in the spa...total relaxation ! We will most definitely be back and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

What a wonderful hotel Middlethorpe Hall is and it appears that we are not the only ones who think so! We were very surprised and indeed delighted to see that HRH Princess Anne was at a nearby table at breakfast on Wednesday morning.
Even without the presence of royalty I must say that our stay was most enjoyable. This National Trust property 5 minutes from York Minster is simply stunning and has a delightful spa in a cottage across the lane as well as beautiful gardens. Our room in the courtyard was cosy and comfortable, the food delicious and the service excellent.
We plan to visit again soon, who knows who we will see next time!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Rd, York YO23 2GB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.